We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Recently renovated, welcoming and unpretentious. It turned out to be a much welcomed haven in the arid Alice Springs environs. Rooms and sheets were clean, A/C worked well. After being driving through the city to collect other passengers from their lodgings, we came to appreciate Aurora, for it's prime location, bang in the centre of Todd Mall, walking distances to ALL major amenities/outlets in AS.

Internet is extremely expensive though, but we found this the case across the country over our travels.

A small environmental observation - the doors of both rooms we stayed in did not close shut, thereby loosing/wasting a lot of cooling energy. In such an arid place as AS, surely something should/can be done to ensure this scarce resource (cooled air) does not seep away into the heat?

Apart from that - well located hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AwesomeThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank for your review, I have passed your comments onto my housekeeping staff "rooms and sheets were clean"

Yes, the location is certainly a winner for visitors to Alice Springs.

I am not sure what you mean by "the doors of both rooms we stayed in did not close shut" as all out doors naturally close. Please contact me direct so I can investigate this issue.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
There are newer reviews for Aurora Alice Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 986 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Hotel is very conveniently located in the centre of Alice Springs - such as it is! The hotel layout is confusing - we ended up in the covered car park on several occasions!

Room was large and clean and air con worked efficiently - temp was 42C. Breakfast was good - though expensive by English standards. It was nice to eat it outside in the courtyard though.

Only real downside was the nose from building works and road works around the hotel which started very early in the morning - presumably because of the heat in the afternoons.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review, much appreciated. Only a few northern rooms were affected by the road works and unfortunately you were in one of these.

The road works are the commenced of the beatification of the Todd Mall and the good news is that they do not work weekends.

Glad you liked our breakfast served in The Red Ochre restaurant, only $19 for an all you can eat buffet, excellent value by Australian standards.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived at Aurora on an early flight and luckily the friendly reception staff were happy to check us in early, which was a relief! It was roughly a Au$40 taxi ride from the airport.

Our second floor room was large, clean, had good air con, a fridge but no safe - they have them at reception though. You get one hour of free wifi per stay. The pool was in the shade which wasn't a bad thing in that scorching heat. We ate twice at The Red Ochre restaurant which we really enjoyed.

Although there were no problems we were aware of, we were a little surprised about the lack of security at the reception entrance when we came back after dark one night. The doors were open and we just wandered in without having to ring a bell or show our key and it appeared to be completely deserted there.

After being a bit unsure of Alice at first the town really grew on us. Sure it has it's problems but we never really felt threatened and as long as you don't go wandering around on your own late at night (common sense in any town) you should be fine too. We loved Aurora and were sad to leave, it knows it's not a five star hotel but doesn't charge five star prices.

It was a great place to use as a base for our outback adventure and the only one that can claim to be on Todd Mall, the main shopping street in Alice Springs. The location can't be beaten.

And yes you definitely made us smile.

Iain, London

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your very informative review. I am sure our sales and marketing team not only appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us but they may contact you for a position in their department.

Just to clarify the concern you had regarding the security; Aurora Alice Springs has staff on duty 24/7 and they would have observed your return through reception even though they were not at the front desk they would have been working in the back office. We have CCTV cameras covering all entries and exits to the property and the reception doors, restaurant gates are closed at 9pm; the carpark entrance gates at 11pm

Thank you once again for your review.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant.
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spend 2 nights at Aurora Alice Springs during our trip, the location is in the central of Alice Spring where it's a walking distance to the malls, eateries & supermarkets, very convenient. The reception service was good & they have the full information about Alice Springs (they also provide the town map of Alice Springs) One thing to avoid if u carry big luggages, don't stay at rooms started with no.2000 & above, they got no lift to reach that level.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dylan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review and the kind comments regarding the reception staff.

All our rooms have lift access accept as you mentioned the 2000's rooms which are stair access only. We do not allot these standard rooms unless absolutely necessary due to high occupancies which unfortunately happened during your stay.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were here for 4 nights in June. We were well aware that Alice is not a nice place after dark but still chose to stay at a central hotel rather than a better hotel on the edge of town because we wanted to visit local restaurants. What a mistake! This was the cheapest of 7 places where we stayed on this trip to OZ and so I didn't expect it to be great, especially as it included breakfast for 2 adults each day whereas the others didn't. Nevertheless it fell well short of my low expectations. We were in room 403. It had no view and no balcony.... well, we could look down on a courtyard from a common passageway which provided access to 8 or 10 rooms. We were very unhappy with the security as the door and lock were really flimsy and the door was off an external corridor ( see common passageway above). Add to this that entrance to the hotel would be easy for anyone at all from the front where reception could be bypassed easily and from the back through the Red Ochre restaurant where anyone could walk through. Remember this is in the centre of a town where tourists are warned about crime after dark, are warned not to cross the 'river' after dark and where 2 police men stand outside every off-licence.. We felt very uneasy throughout our stay. Other difficulties were the poor level of room cleanliness, the poor state of the decoration...really rubbish paintwork and the unsafe bathroom lightswitch (it sparked and rocked a bit). The unsafe lightswitch had been reported by a previous guest in a feedback form which had not been picked up by cleaning staff. We left it in a prominent position but, no surprise, it still didn't get picked up. Reception staff weren't much good. I tried twice to get the miserly allocation of free wi-fi and failed. Reception told me how to do it but it still didn't work so I just gave up. I also tried to request an extra hour on checkout but was told ' we don't do weekend checkouts' which momentarily confused me as we were leaving on a Sunday. Anyway she was just being lazy with the language and she meant that they don't do late checkouts at weekends.
The Red Ochre restaurant was something else. It was fine for our included (i.e. pre-paid) breakfast but at night the menu was outrageously expensive, the service poor and the atmosphere rubbish. I would have selected Baramundi but not at $36 when I had had excellent Baramundi in central Sydney for $15 only 16 months earlier. I settled for fish and chips at the outrageous price of $28 and it was OK but nothing like as good as the fish and chips I had in Noosaville 2 weeks later for about $8.

Room Tip: The only redeeming feature was the included breakfast which brought the value for money up to a 2. S...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hattiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Aurora Alice Springs has a 24 hour security company, security cameras, gates locked at night both front and back, a night audit staff member & manager living on site and does not have a problem with guests’ security.

Just because we beat you in the Rugby there is no need to get nasty.

As your stay was last June we have already addressed the issues you raised and moved on.

Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This Hotel was terrible!
We arrived in our room, where the balcony was standing full of Bins, supermarket carriers filled with cartonage and irons! The cleaning staff was walking along our balcony, because there was no separation between the rooms. The "view" was in a backyard of a supermarket or something like this. The pool was in kind of a garage, so after lunchtime already more than the half in the shade. Also there were only two sun beds for all the guests - way to less! And only place for one person to lie on the plastic grass in the sun (until 4 pm, then the sun was fully gone and everything in the shade!)
The women on the reception were really unfriendly when we asked if we could have a room with a tidy and clean balcony.
They told us we should be thankful, we could also have a room where we're looking on a wall!!
Luckily our agency could book us another hotel where we switched to.
Never going back to Aurora, it's not worth the money you have to pay there and the staff is not friendly or even wiling to make your stay more comfortable!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

"My Apologies"

I am sorry to read that your request for another room was not taken seriously by my staff at reception.

From your description you were allotted a room near our laundry as we were near full capacity on the day of your stay but be rest assured I will investigate your compliant to see why you were not moved to another room as you requested.

We have photos of our pool & spa area are on this and other web sites and suggest that if guests choose to stay with us to swim laps or sunbake all day that they choose another accommodation establishment in Alice Springs that would satisfy your requirements.

Once again, my apologies for your unfortunate experience.

Regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The hotel is very central and opens onto Todd mall. It was 40 degrees when we were there and so the airconditioner was great, along with the pool. The rooms are basic but neat and tidy. We stayed in room 309 which was quiet and overlooked a BBQ area (not used while we were there). It has access via stairs or a slow elevator, but on holidays who is in a hurry? The bed was the best Ive slept in with a great selection of hard or soft pillows, great as I am very fussy.The staff were friendly, polite and helpful.
We dined at the restaurant which has a great selection of local dishes such as camel, barramundi and kangaroo but also steak for the less adventurous. The food was nice but a little on the expensive side . We planned to have the buffet breakfast the next day but the scambled eggs looked watery so we walked down the mall to a local cafe. Overall I would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had room 309 and were very happy.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaide_girl_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your overall review of both the accommodation and restaurant. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and your recommendation that you would return again, much appreciated.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: $84 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing