We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tight With Their Free Wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Spent 3 nights here with our friends. We were delighted to see that free wifi was on offer to guests. Upon enquiring were told that it was free for 1 hour for the duration of your stay - uh??? That means that one nights stay equals 1 hr free, 3 nights equals 1 hr free - bit unfair!

Despite this our stay was pleasant, our room was clean - nothing special. We used the Guest Laundry to catch up with 3 weeks of washing which was very handy, as was the iron and ironing board in the room.

We didn't eat at the Red Ochre attached to the hotel which offered discount to guests seated before 7 pm with prior booking before 6 pm. We tried to book early but were told first available table was 8pm (outside offer zone). This was rubbish as we looked down into the restaurant frequently during the evening to see empty tables. Subsequent nights we bought a cooked chicken and salad from Woolworths and sat outside the room on the bench/tables provided. Two very pleasant evenings were spent this way.

The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. Location good, right on Todd Mall and surrounding shops. Secure undercover parking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandmafrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

"Not sure if we made you SMILE overall or not""

I am not sure what response you expect? In one breath you praise us (which I thank you for) and the next you whinge about something that is FREE, what the?

We offer 1 Free hour use of the internet per stay in good faith but we take on board your comments and may have to withdraw this Free offer as you found this a bit unfair even though all other guests appreciate the Free offer.

The Red Ochre restaurant is licensed to seat 266 patrons but we do not seat all these in one sitting. During your stay it was so busy with bookings and groups booked inside and we have been consistently catering for over 100 patrons between 6pm & 8pm so we spread out the bookings in an effort to provide the service expected from guests. We are not in the business of declining bookings but we do reserve the right to make a suitable time that suits the smooth operation of our kitchen and staff service.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Australia.

Kind regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (986)
There are newer reviews for Aurora Alice Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 986 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The location was great. My room was mostly clean. The carpet could have used a bit of a vacuum. It was very close to the main shops and Todd river (dry river bed....most of the time). It was next door to a hostel and you could rent a bike there. For me that was very convenient. It is an older hotel but not bad for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4375sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

“We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review, glad you enjoyed yourself. I think I was the one that directed you to where you found the bike hire.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had 2 nights at Aurora, then a 3 day tour, followed by 3 nights at Aurora. A big plus was the secure complimentary under cover parking for our car while on tour. We couldn't believe our first room @ $99 per night - space and luxury, right next to the BBQ area which we put to good use. Back to earth on our second stint, a much smaller ground floor unit. We then discovered that we'd been lucky enough to obtain a complimentary upgrade on our first visit. Reception staff were most helpful. The Red Ochre Grill is right next door, a great place to eat. We'll be back to Aurora on our next visit to Alice Springs.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 207 (or an adjacent room) if you want easy access to the BBQ.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for advising us that you enjoyed both your stay and The Red Ochre Restaurant, much appreciated.

I am sure if you smooth talk the ladies at reception, drop my name they may be able to allot room 207 to you again if available.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here on two separate nights with a trip to Ayers Rock in between. On the first night we had a lovely room and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel then looked after our luggage while we went to Ayers Rock which is a real bonus so you don't have to take everything with you. Our second bedroom was on the ground floor and wasn't as nice and the bed was awful! We had paid the same rate for both rooms.

Room Tip: It seems the ground floor rooms aren't as nice as those on the upper floors, but the prices appe...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jac102012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review and sorry to hear that your bed on the second stay was not comfortable.

If you didn't notify our reception of this please notify me direct with the details of your stay as we do make the beds but not lie on them we rely on guest feed back as we replace beds and mattresses immediately when notified but when we receive a unanimous complainant via TripAdvisor it doesn't help us rectify the problem.

Kind regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is centrally located which is very handy if you don't have a car.
Upon check-in, I was given my room key, however unfortunately, the room hadn't been serviced. This was immediately rectified and my room was upgraded, which was appreciated (although there was no stocked mini bar, only long life milk in the fridge)

Whilst a little dated (mainly the bathroom), the room was clean and ideal for my two night stay. Unfortunately, despite leaving the 'please make up my room' sign on my door, my room was not serviced. When I arrived back early evening and advised reception staff, I was advised, 'housekeeping has left for the day' and there was no offer to bring up fresh towels etc. Upon request however, fresh towels etc were delivered to my room.

The 6.15 am fire alarm and evacuation was unfortunate and whilst guests moved from their rooms, there did not appear to be any staff (fire wardens) ensuring that guests were evacuating from their rooms, nor was they any communication to guests about the fire or what was happening etc.

Overall though, staff were friendly and helpful most of the time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

“We are glad we made you SMILE”

My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with your room and thank you for advising me that the staff did rectify your problems.

In regards to the fire alarm going off at 6.15am we did have two fire wardens on duty, the night audit officer and the restaurant supervisor. One of these wardens would have prioritised that checking the source of the activated alarm before the fire brigade arrived just in case they had to save a guest from a potential fire or danger was more important ensuring that guests were evacuating from their rooms at that stage. There are clear instructions in all rooms with directions on how to vacate to the assemble areas when the fire alarm is activated but it astounds me the amount of guests that choose to totally ignore these instructions. The alarms in all rooms are designed with an uncomfortable loud pitch that makes it impossible to sleep through or stay in the room but I still see guests trying to hide in their rooms, WHY? Once the fire brigade arrive and check the reason for the fire alarm been activated they turn it off if no fire or danger is present and most guests understand that it is then safe to return to their rooms without an explanation. We do not announce the reason for the alarm been activated but believe me if there was a danger to guests an evacuation siren and announcement would be broadcast throughout the property.

PS. I travel frequently and the first thing I do when checking into my room is read the evacuation instructions and familiarise myself where the exit to an assembly area is.

Kind regards

Ron Thynne – General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived early, but there no problem booking us in. Didn't like our first room, and again there was no problem changing to another. Clean and comfortable rooms - although as others have mentioned, a little dated - but well serviced. Great location in the town centre. Staff were very friendly and helpful with local info - and always had a smile. There is a free allowance for WiFi in room, but further time very reasonably priced. If you are having breakfast at the restaurant, as it is a buffet, it tends to get colder the later to eat!

Room Tip: Family rooms were very quiet, and on the less sunny side, so didn't get too hot.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harris1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE.

Thank you for complimenting the staff, must appreciated. The location, clean rooms is a winning together with the great friendly outback hospitality.

I have said many times that we do not have all the bells and whistles but what we do have is unique.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A clean room in the very heart of the Alice Springs township. The rooms are starting to get a little tired but the bed was fine and everything worked. Friendly front desk staff. Remember that rooms starting with a "4" are on the third floor. At around $100 per night per room, good value so close to town as you walk straight out onto the Todd St mall or cross the road to the Todd River pathways where you can go for an early morning walk and up to the top of ANZAC Hill.
The small swimming pool is fairly enclosed so it was quite cool however after a day out in 40c NT heat, that's not a great drama is it?
Recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are non-smoking.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IDHAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the comprehensive review and kind comment regarding my friendly staff. The Central location is a bonus as you found out with close proximity to restaurants, shops and attractions.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
307 reviews
1.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
422 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: $84 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing