We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alice Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Positives:
Location, In the Mall
Rooms neat and tidy
Red Ochre Restaurant downstairs; great meals

Negatives:
Rooms could be cleaner; some grime around the taps
Lights over one of the beds did not work
We ran out of handwash; dispensers should be checked

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for your review,

Our location is one of our best selling points and the Red Ochre Grill is another and as you say serves great meals.

Your comments regarding the dispenser, cleanliness and maintenance issues are duly noted and will be used for staff training purposes.

Kind regards
Cliff Grendon
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

605 - 611 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here as part of a tour. Had low expectations after reading other Trip Advisor reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. It is not, and does not pretend to be, a five star hotel. Simple, clean, comfortable, with all the amenities a traveller, trying to cram as much as possible during my time in Australia, could want. One hour complimentary wi-fi was welcome, as it allowed access to e-mail without getting too tangled up with the goings-on back home. I am on hols after all!
Had supper twice in the Red Ochre grill. Excellent on both occasions, helpful chatty staff. I would particularly commend the tapas, dips and free bottle of wine meal. Tapas can leave you hungry. This did not! It was excellent and very tasty. I barely had room for the chocolate tiramisu, which would have been a pity to miss.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Davmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review.

Your comments are spot on regarding other people's review as you cannot please all the people all the time but I am glad to see that you were pleasantly surprised and we surpassed your expectations and you enjoyed our restaurant the Red Ochre Grill in particular our popular tapas meal & wine deal.

Kind regards
Cliff Grendon
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed a wonderful 3 nights in a deluxe room on the 3rd floor. Rooms were clean and well presented with a comfy bed and no 'noisy' motel sheets. :) Bathroom was large and in a clean state with a really good shower. Staff were friendly and helpful. Air conditoning worked well during a week of hot weather and was much appreciated. Overall, a pleasing and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinecreekSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your kind review,

I am really glad that you had a great stay with us and everything was to your satisfaction.

We take pride in our SMILEY customer service and it is encouraging to hear that you did receive this from our staff. I will pass on your comments to all.

Kind regards
Cliff Grendon
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

First stay was in a room 2005-one flight of stairs to take luggage-reception did not mention this. A week later 309 - better position, but the room smelled of bleach. In 2005 the week before I left a blue mohair rug - on my return tried to explain at reception & enquired if it had been handed in- due to language barrier was unable to explain what had been left behind & the receptionist wandered off after a couple of explanations. Restaurant staff stressed (staffing issues) one evening & would benefit from advice on how to look after patrons when things are difficult. It is always easy to remember the things that didn't go so well. On the plus side the hotel is in a great location, & quiet, the Breakfast staff were friendly & cheerful.CW.

Room Tip: Any number about 309 will give stair exit close by to the restaurant or the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for your review.

Unfortunately the mohair rug was not found from your first room and when the receptionist wandered off she was checking with housekeeping whether they had found your rug and on return to reception you had already left so could not advise you that the rug was not at the hotel hence the reply via email to you.

As a lot of our restaurant patrons (especially not from within the hotel) do not pre-book we are sometimes caught out with not enough staff as we simply don't know how many patrons will turn up for dinner which can & does cause stress for the staff that are rostered on as you experienced.

I will pass on to our lovely breakfast girls your kind comments (they will be pleased with the recognition).

Kind regards
Cliff Grendon
Assistant Manager
Aurora Alice Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed for business just recently. Functional, clean, tidy and friendly staff....so no complaints.

Rooms are not swanky...but that are clean,airy and quiet.

Given its proximity to mall it is very good value.

Would stay here again if the standards are maintained.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Fitzy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review, solid performer just like Melbourne Cup Winners.

Aurora Alice Springs, while not having all the bells and whistles of some other properties prides itself on its clean rooms and SMILEY Alice Outback Hospitality.

We look forward to your next visit and I hope the tradition of my sometimes unusual replies read by many readers continues in my absence.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed in the 'deluxe' (total misnomer) room. The room smelt like mould, the shower oscillated between hot and cold - with a few nice burning blasts for good measure. Tag & test on the hairdryer expired 2009. Weird decorative leaves left around the place that were wilted and, well, kind of pointless. Mostly the staff were very friendly and helpful except for the lady who checked me in who was very brusque - honey, I know you were busy, but considering the Ghan gets in at the same time every Wednesday/Sunday, I'd have thought it wouldn't be all that surprising... Had breakfast at the Red Ochre grill which was pretty darn good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmylou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

“We are glad we made you SMILE HONEY”

Thank you for your kind words regarding The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant.

It’s extremely helpful to receive such descriptive reviews like yours to be used in our staff training.

Regards

Ron Thynne – General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Having stayed in nearly all the Alice motels, I think the Aurora is the best. Certainly the best located - right on Todd Mall, the best rooms and yes they have blankets in the cupboard so you can avoid using the aircon/heater in winter.

My room was sunny and quiet.

The staff are friendly. The cleaners leave your room alone if you tell them to (why do I need new sheets and towels everyday - I don't).

The hotel is situated right off Todd Mall and the Todd riverbed. Close to the 'cafe end' of the Mall - try Page 27 or Cafe 0870 for a good coffee.

You can opt in for the buffet breakfast - which was the usual bog standard 'hotel food - toast, jams, cereal, a bain marie filled with bacon, scrambled eggs, hash browns, mushrooms, etc as well as an array of canned apricots and prunes. There is filtered coffee and tea, or the staff can make you a proper coffee. If you want to eat in house the hotel breakfast is all right.

However for $20 you would be much better to forgo the in house breakfast and go out to the nearby cafes - Page 27 off Todd Mall, cafe 0870, Red Dog. My favourite is the funky Page 27 - where you can get much nicer breakfast - scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and pancakes with maple syrup etc etc....

The hotel has an attached restaurant (same place as where breakfast is served - Red Ochre Grill. We had dinner there one night - once again, not particularly good value or good food. If you're a foodie like me try Casa Nostra (Italian, just a hop, skip and jump across the riverbed) or drive over to Hanuman's - other side of the riverbed and to the south - a top Thai and Indian restaurant and definitely Alice's best nosh.

For drinkies try Monte's (a couple of blocks away) or the Rock Bar (close by too).

One last thing - check Wotif etc before you go - you can get good deals for the Aurora - we got rooms for $99 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazeltrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your kind review of Aurora Alice Springs.

Not sure about your restaurant comments though, I am sure my Chefs are not over excited about you calling their food bog.

I suggest readers read our 163 restaurant reviews of The Red Ochre and have a look at our extensive menus via the Tripadvisor listing and if you are looking for Italian or Thai food you will not find it at the Red Ochre as is known for its creative Native Australian cuisine.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - general manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.0 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
523 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: $77 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing