We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff who want to help, rooms clean and practice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Great place to stay and would recommend. Staff were fantastic and the hotel facilities were also good.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyles_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review, it’s great to receive such positive feedback. I also thing the staff are fantastic.

I have passed your comments onto all the staff.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

We (2 adults + 2 teenage children) thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Aurora Alice Springs. The location was great, very central and handy to many historical buildings, shops, mall etc. The room was clean and very adequate for our stay, the beds were very comfortable especially appreciated after such busy days spent sightseeing. Buffet breakie at the Red Ochre was very satisfctory and gave you a good start for the day. There is so much to see and do in and around Alice, this is the ideal spot to spend your stay.
Thank you to all the staff who were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review, very informative. I have passed your thanks onto all the staff.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manger
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Had booked a package stay with Aurora Alice Springs comprising 3 night Exec. Rm (King Bed, private balcony) inclusive of buffet brky et al. On arrival was allocated RM 7 which was not an Exec. Rm nor did it have a private balcony; the view out the window comprised a full view of the main entrance tin roof little else could be seen! Room allocation concerns were raised with reception, the person at reception advised that RM 7 was an exec. room, I disagreed and the duty manager was called. The duty manager advised that the reception person was not aware that Rm 7 was not to be allocated (lack of staff training?) and I was reallocated Rm3 which did indeed satify the package booking condition. A rough start to an otherwise good stay at the Aurora AS.

Room Tip: Print a copy of your booking entitlement(s) and present it at reception to ensure downgraded accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review advising me of your check-in problem. I have investigated the matter and as room 3 was not cleaned on your arrival one of my new staff allotted you room 7 for which I apologise. Your review has been dealt with in today’s staff training session.

I am pleased to hear that after this initial problem your stay was an enjoyable one, we hope you revisit us again on your next stay in Alice.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

First I'd like to thank Eseta the housekeeping Manager, for the immaculately kept room and for information she gave me while I was at the hotel.

I thoroughly enjoyed the buffet breakfast, and the location of the hotel was perfect with a park across the street, the Dunn Mall and lovely shops nearby.

I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you your review, I have passed on your thanks to Eseta.

Also it's pleasing to know that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast in The Red Ochre and found our location very convenient.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The hotel exterior appear quite tropical, with lush trees etc. The rooms are a bit less nice decorated, and a little outdated, a bit more motel style. However, the room was clean, and contained a fridge, which is very nice in a hot area like this, even if you just use it to keep your water cool. Internet is a little expensive, and the stability not great. In my room there was no coverage at all, in the lounge it was a bit sketchy.
The location is right in the centre of town, which is good, as some Alice hotels are a 5-10 minute drive from the city, which means a 30-60 minute walk if you do not have a car. And it's in the middle of a desert....

In all, not a bad stay, although it appeared a little pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NausicaaNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your recommendations on the location & service. I am sorry you may have found the accommodation a little pricey but may I suggest that maybe next time you search our web site and others for the great deals we have on offer.

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very good except upon arrival being told your computers were down so I couldnt book in. It was very warm and so I chose to have a drink and wait. I was charged for the drink (which although may seem trivial) just put a 'dampener' on first impressions. Perhaps you could consider having 'complimentary' drinks behind the reception desk for such instances. This is common place now in places like car dealerships where customer service is also paramount.
Apart from that I was very happy and look forward to staying in one of your executive suites (at the front over reception) on my next visit.
Thank you, Gary Simpson.

Room Tip: Rooms out the front overlooking the Todd with balcony good if you are on your own
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simo7635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you Gary for completing this review and your kind recommendations regarding our Executive rooms, they are very popular.

I have addressed the issue you raised and totally agree with your suggestion, thank you.

I look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill Restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

as others have pointed out the only hotel on the mall and that works well. It's not 5 star but as good as you will get in town and value for money - probably the best. The rooms are always clean - tiled floors (which might be unusual for some) there is double bed and single bed in each room plus a small round table. The room i had this visit looks as if it has a new double (queen) bed although my colleague did say the room she has - certainly does NOT have a new bed and she could feel the springs - but still reasoanbly comfortable. Her room has a flat screen TV although the room im in has an older style tv - a few cable stations - but not sure if you have to pay extra for that. There is a special on brekky at present $19 pp - which is standard hotel buffet
we only ate here one nite and i had the lamb shank pie which is pretty gud. in fact most of the menu looks pretty good and the desserts are worth giving up entree for.
there is free on site parking - which is one of the main reasons i consistently stay here - however be careful if you book using wotif - because there are NO refunds and i recently made a mistake with a booking and lost 4 nights - so be careful.
there are rooms on 3 floors although the lift only goes to the first floor so you need to carry your bag up the final stairs - which can be an issue for those with mobility issues

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SDDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2012

"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review and continued support. We are still in the process of changing all TV's over to LCD HD hence some rooms do have the old model but all rooms do have most TV channels as well as the free in-house movies and Austar.
All our WOTIF specials are non cancellable but you will find direct booking via our own site does not incur the same penalty.
Unfortunately our lift does not service one floor only of our standard rooms so a notation on your booking will ensure these rooms are not allotted to you or travelling companions in future.
Thank you for your comments on The Red Ochre, my staff would really appreciate if you had time to review the restaurant also in the restaurant section of Tripadvisor.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill restaurant
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
315 reviews
1 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: $69 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing