We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aurora Alice Springs
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We recently stayed in the triple, it is a great hotel, room was spacious and clean, the location is perfect. Bonus of a top quality restraunt in the hotel (Red Ochre). Definitely recommend to others. Parking was handy also. Free WiFi Internet would have been appreciated, the paid option was a little expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmkiki64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2011

"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your positive review and the recommendation to others. The undercover carpark and central location has always been a popular feature of the property.

We will certainly investigate your suggestion of the Free WiFi Internet option in the not to distant future.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2011

Not expensive, neat clean and tidy rooms. Very good location right next to the mall.

Good jogging location too, 5.5km round trip down the Todd river.

One of the receptionists, Hope, has stunning eyes and is a total babe.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Studheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2011

"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your overall review, I will pass your praises onto the reception and housekeeping staff, much appreciated.
The central location of Aurora Alice Springs is certainly a feature that Tourists, Corporate & Government guests find extremely handy for all their requirements.

Kind regards
Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Have stayed here many times and it has always been good; but lately has been even better. Nice, clean, comfortable & spacious rooms (i recommend paying a bit more and staying in an executive room with a balcony). Service & customer satisfaction has recently become their top priority and it's great! The Red Ochre Bistro, attached to the hotel, has also always been good, but again the standard has lifted and I thoroughly enjoyed everything I ate and the service was fantastic. Would definitely reccomend it; I hope they maintain the standard.

Room Tip: Executive rms best; 3 consecutive nights cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explorer_nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your kind words; we have certainly been making a concerted effort in our customer service training and it's great to receive your review confirming that our efforts are increasing our guests’ satisfaction. The SMILEY badges must be working !!!!

We will certainly continue in our efforts to maintain this standard.

On behalf of all the staff, thank you and hope your next stay with us is as enjoyable.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We spent two nights at the Aurora hotel (split by 3 nights camping in the outback). The hotel is well located next to the Todd Mall, and provides a comfortable if unremarkable place to stay whilst in Alice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2011

"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for taking the time to review both Aurora Alice Springs and The Red Ochre Grill restaurant.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and as you’re mentioned the central location of the property is certainly a bonus with many tourists visiting Alice Springs.

Kind regards
Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Stayed here for one night. It is a biit of a walk from the train station (where the Ghan stops) but overall a good location in the town. Room was spacious and clean. The room we had was a bit of a trek from the front desk to the other side of the hotel - but this meant we were quite close to the mall side. Would definitely recommend the restaurant attached the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slakmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your kind review. Sorry about the walk to your room but as you mentioned our Deluxe rooms are quite close to the mall side and are assessable via our lift.
I will pass on your praises to all our Red Ochre restaurant staff.

Thank you for choosing Aurora Alice Springs

Kindest regards
Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

This hotel is well positioned between the Todd river and Todd mall and we were very happy with the deluxe room we had for two nights so much so that we booked another nights stay after a 2 night stay at Kings Canyon.On returning to the hotel for our last night in Alice we were very dissapointed in the standard of the room and contacted reception to ensure we were allocated the correct room.Ben at reception assured me it was definetely a deluxe room.I would say maybe deluxe in a 2 star hotel thats all.Our first room was on the south side of the complex and the next crappy one was on the north side overlooking some ugly buildings and a carpark.Other than that we enjoyed our stay in Alice Springs at the Aurora and enjoyed being able to walk straight out onto the mall or out the front for a stroll along the riverbank.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the southside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jOhnandjudy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2011

"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review. Sorry to read that the view of our neighbours carpark and buildings made you feel like your northern deluxe room was crappy. We do not advertise that we have views from our deluxe rooms; in fact the northern deluxe rooms are one of our most popular rooms as they are a little brighter and have larger bathrooms than our southern deluxe rooms. We do have Executive rooms that are a little pricier with private balconies that provide a view over the Todd river bed. I apologise that Ben (still in training) did not suggest the option of you paying the gap to upgrade to this style of room as you were after a view.

Once again thank you for taking the time to complete your overall review of other areas of Aurora Alice Springs and your positive recommendation to other travellers.

Thank you for choosing Aurora Alice Springs

Kindest regards
Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Booked for 2 nights through AAT Kings (did excellent day tour and then onto Uluru on their Red Centre Experience) who were very efficient. No car so appreciated the hotel being on Todd Mall. Alice Springs's 'Infestation of mice' notifcation in room but I had already been warned from this website so not a surprise and only saw one near reception. Full breakfast and dinner on both days - all meals good, particularly the tapas. Staff helpful. Would recommend and use again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJA43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Aurora Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2011

"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your favourable review of both our centrally located accommodation and the Red Ochre Restaurant. The tapas and wine deal is proving to be extremely popular. I am pleased to advise that the mice plague in Alice Springs and surrounds seems to have finished with the arrival of cooler weather.

Kind regards
Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Alice Springs NT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
322 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
578 reviews
1 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Alice Springs

Address: 11 Leichhardt Tce, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range: $69 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Award Winning Aurora Alice Springs" - Voted as THE BEST BASE TO TOUR THE REAL AUSTRALIA IN AUSTRALIA for both business and holiday travellers. Accommodation in the heart of the Todd Mall Alice Springs. This vibrant property is the only accommodation on the Todd Mall - the most centrally located accommodation in Alice Springs, Australia. The Todd Mall is the main shopping, dining and tourist precinct and offers a unique walking experience. Enjoy the Red Ochre Grill Cafe & Restaurant and savour the contemporary and native cuisine that it has to offer. The Red Ochre has one of the finest collections of Central Australian panoramic photography by Ken Duncan for you to admire. Aurora Alice Springs' location places you in a perfect position to explore both the town and surrounding Outback areas such as the spectacular MacDonnell Ranges, Standley Chasm and Simpson's Gap. You will always be welcome at our Alice Springs hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aurora Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
Aurora Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs Aurora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing