We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alice in the Territory
Nearby Hotels
Diplomat Alice Springs(Alice Springs)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Alice Springs Resort(Alice Springs)(Great Value!)
$99
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aurora Alice Springs(Alice Springs)
$75
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters(Alice Springs)(Great Value!)
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elkira Court Motel(Alice Springs)
$88
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alice Motor Inn(Alice Springs)(Great Value!)
$56
$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Alice Springs(Alice Springs)(Great Value!)
$140
$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs(Alice Springs)(Great Value!)
$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveler rating
39
81
59
25
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
81
59
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel consistsmoulded plasticmacdonnell rangesbbq areapool areacasino hotelfree wifilate checkminute walk into townroom was spaciousayers rockstayed one nightaliceprefabconventionfiberglasscbd
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 221 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Agree with reviewer from Victor Harbour, April 2013. The bathrooms are old and in very poor condition. The girl at the reception desk said herself, "we have trouble with the plumbing here because it's so old." That's for sure! I reported a very unpleasant, septic odour in my room immediately I checked in, and was told it was the bore water and would go away once I'd had a shower. It was much worse than a 'bore water smell' and it did not go away, and after two days I was moved to another room. The toilet in the new room did not flush properly from the start and the following day it blocked. When I reported this, they said the maintenance guy would be there the next morning, and I was left with a blocked toilet all night, from 6.00pm until 11.00am.
At that stage, it was semi-fixed but not fully, and they left it at that. I could not be bothered moving rooms again, with one day to go, so used the toilet near the restaurant when possible rather than risk re-blocking the one in the room.

Ridiculously, there are no opening windows in the rooms, so despite being in the lovely wide open spaces of central Aust you are forced either to have a stuffy room or to use air-con, even when the outside temp and the breeze are perfect and the room is smelly.

The guest info in the room says the restaurant is open for dining 7 days a week, but when I planned an evening around a quick meal there, I arrived to find it closed. Instead of an apology for the inconvenience it had caused me (and it had), the girl gave me a long spiel about how they only had one chef during the off-season. Maybe so, and maybe fair enough, but how about informing the guests of actual days of opening, both peak season and off, instead of advertising "open 7 days" and then justifying why it's closed?

The staff have no idea of customer service, the rooms are old and musty, and it seems the whole place is tired and in need of attention. It's a long way out of town, yet you can't get lunch there at all, and on some occasions you can't get dinner either. I would suggest you avoid; there are many better places in Alice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melb-girl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicent, Manager at Alice in the Territory, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Hi Melb-girl13
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
In response to your complaint about our hotel we would like to again clarify our reply
Alice in the Territory is a 3 ½ star property built in 1983 it has just been renovated in 2010 with over 2 mil spent in the restaurant, pool and room renovations. All of our 138 rooms have the same bathroom and are somewhat unique. As for your reported smell this is due to the town water supply it comes from the artesian basin and can from time to time have a sulphur smell depending on recent rain falls. In my 3 years I have only moved 2 clients’ rooms for this complaint and can only apologise, as it is out of our control. As for your septic view, we are on town sewage and do not have any septics. As for your blocked toilet a maintenance man was sent to your room the next morning after we received your issue. Only to return with his finding of no blockage and had tested it several times. We are unsure as to your motives on this and have since used this room on multiple occasions. I can only apologise for your experience in this matter.
Your complaint about our restaurant not trading 7 days. We can only apologise for trading only 6 days. As stated we do experience staffing issues here in Alice Springs and made a decision to inform people of our closure on Sunday nights by way of signs in the entrance to our restaurant this was to avoid printing 138 new compendiums only to print again when the position is filled. Sorry for the inconvenience. As informed by reception there are three restaurants within 100meters of our hotel located in the casino just across the road. Given the trouble you have experienced we would like to thank you for still staying with us for 5 nights despite your advice to others to avoid.
Kind Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our main issue with this hostel is that when we arrived they told us that the price they had given us when we booked was wrong and we needed to pay almost double the original price. After we argued for some time, they agreed to honour the original price. The room itself was ok, though we got several bug bites from something in the carpet. It is quite a walk from the Alice Springs centre and though there is a local bus, it is very infrequent. There is no free transfer bus (we had not expected one) and we feel that it would be better to stay in a more expensive and more central hostel, preferably one with an airport transfer bus. Another review quotes $150-200 for the airport transfer, we paid nowhere near this. A taxi from the airport was $35 and from memory, the airport bus from Alice Springs was around $40 for a family ticket. I think it was about $15 for a single adult.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicent, Manager at Alice in the Territory, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Hi Jenny R
Thanks for taking the time to write a review
In reference to your price quibbles you have neglected to inform your follow trip advisor's, we at Alice in the territory have a policy that kids stay free in our family room which can be a huge saving for families. But you chose to book your young children into share accommodation (backpacker). For some reason our system allowed children to be booked into this style of accommodation. This caused some confusion at our reception, as they did not want to put small children in with other adults. In the end we decided to allow both you and your children stay in one room, and had that room blocked off so that no other adults could be accommodated in the same room for the duration of your stay. And yes the children stayed free. We apologise again for the misunderstanding. Kind regards Alice in the Territory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

very enjoyable stays; staff were great; restaraunt always seemed to be closed; very comfortable in one unit but varied quality in the other two units; stayed there on three occasions during one week period; useful guest laundry

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viccarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

stopped here one night on route to Ayres Rock room OK clean and tidy nice meal and drinks in the hotel.
After reading reviews before booking this i was under the impression that there was a free transfer from the Airport, this was not the case $200 out $150 back so make sure you budget for this.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazza46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent three nights in early April, upon entry to our room we noticed a mouldy smell, we found the toilet leaking from the back, although working ok it was broken from the floor. The bathroom fittings were covered in blue & white corrosion, very dirty. In the unit the a/c rattled loudly & things were dirty, like stained sheets. the television was an old 14 inch analogue thing. Our deal included continental breakfast which was delivered the previous day, frozen croissant which was stale by the next morning. Outside our window in the car park was a rolled over 4 wd & a semi truck parked their for two days. I complained to reception & asked for another room but to no avail, I should have walked out but had pre paid so it was difficult, Your hard earnt cash should not be spent on this place which is located in such a beautiful city There are many really nice places to stay in Alice , seek them out.

Room Tip: Ask to inspect the room first
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mazgazl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews