We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alice in the Territory
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Warsaw
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, but...”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed in AIT for 3 nights in September 2011, right after my trip to Uluru. To put it honestly, I enjoyed the location of this hotel - it allows a rest from the rather unpleasant Alice Springs city centre. The hostel was a quiet and relaxed place with great swimming pool and amazing wievs of the hills straight outta my room window. The only thing, the staff was unpleasant and unhelpful. When I was leaving, I asked them to allow me to stay in my room for 3 hours longer as my plane was leaving in the afternoon and hotel check-out time was 10:00. First they agreed, but then when I was leaving they changed their mind and charged me 20$ for late check-out. That sucked. Especially because the hotel was rather empty at that time and so they easily could let me stay a few hours longer. Also, the prices of bike hire are too high and the rooms are never cleaned. But overall, I'd stay there again for the sake of quietness and the pool:-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    79
    55
    22
    17
See reviews for
44
80
26
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Alice in the Territory is a motel on the edge of Alice Springs. We have just returned from a two day trip to see Alice Springs and Uluru. I booked our complimentary airport bus a few days previously and we were met at the airport as promised.
We arrived from Melbourne too early to check in - check in isn't permitted until 2pm. Although this was a bit of a pain the receptionist did get us a taxi to take us into twon, and we were able to leave our luggage safely in the hotel.
Once in our room we were pleasantly surprised. The room was well appointed and fairly spacious for the price. It did smell a little musty and we were a little surprised to see a huge red cockroach in the bathroom in the middle of the night.
We ate in the restaurant, which was not at all bad, and very convenient given the location of the hotel.
We used the pool and spa in the afternoon, and again this was very good for a hotel of this standard.
On our return we again used hte complimentary airport transfer bus.
The staff we met were all friendly, helpful and bright.
All in all a bery good from which to investigate Alice Springs, Uluru and many of the other attractions in the magical area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldridgewatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This motel is right on the edge of the town - fine if you don't mind a good 30 minute walk into the centre of Alice Springs. We were there on a Sunday and you should be aware that the restaurant isn't open on Sunday evenings and neither is your room serviced (although you can request this.) The picture on their website is rather misleading as it shows a picture of cocktails by the pool. There is no pool-side bar and, not unreasonably, drinks cannot be taken to the poolside area. Our room, however, was spacious, clean and comfortable.
We were a little surprised at a couple of reviews on this site which gave the motel unconditional approval, especially as they had each only submitted one review on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Youngrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The surroundings of the hotel are just beautiful, the pool area has a BBQ area and kangaroos right out the back. The hotel was very clean and welcoming, the staff were first class and very informative about attractions close by (Very helpful as we had no idea of the local area). The restaurant was the best in the area and we had in ate in quite a few on our stay here. All in all we had a very memorable holiday and experience in Alice Springs.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool area also have the backdrop of the MacDonnell Ranges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinescullion03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Located a bit out of town, bit quieter I guess. Lovely view out onto the ranges. Large rooms. Comfortable enough bed. Front reception staff friendly and helpful. Small fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. No balcony. Nice pool. Bathroom has a 'caravan' type feel about it. Decor, and the whole place feels outdated. Two floors of rooms, but no lifts. Casion accross the road. Nice enough, but could stay closer to town for the same price.

Room Tip: Two levels of rooms, no lift, so if you can not do stairs, be sure to book a down stairs room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monandben08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Our recent family trip to Alice Springs began at Alice in Territory where we were greeted by their friendly driver at the airport. It soon went downhill from there when one hour later a glass disc shaped light cover fell on my 10 year old daughter in our hotel room and two shards of glass sliced a deep gash in her heel. Room service were fantastic and rushed up with vacuums and suggested we go to the hospital for stitches. Then the Manager was called in. She took the defensive mode, making insinuations that it must have been our fault as it had never happened before,(we were standing still at the time!) said the cut was nothing and that we had a precious little princess on our hands who needed to toughen up! We were unable to explore Alice that afternoon due to the cut and had to take our daughter to the doctor for treatment the next morning (she was put on antibiotics, butterfly clipped and bandaged and told not to go in the water for ten days - very inconvenient in 35 degree heat!) . When we suggested to the Manger the next morning she may want to give our 10 year old a complimentary breakfast (all of $10) she proceeded to call us "pushy" and told our daughter again to "toughen up princess!". If you plan to stay at this hotel, be warned that it is a long way from anywhere (except the shabby casino across the road) the facilities are adequate and room service delightful but beware the appalling, mean natured Manager (oh and the falling disc light covers).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clements11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alice Springs hotels

Manitoba
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I booked online and arranged to have the complimentary hotel shuttle pick us up at the airport. He was there are promised, and we got to the hotel and check in was a breeze. Hotel is ok, nothing fancy, and rooms are clean. Bathrooms and clean, but bizarre. Everything in the bathroom is one solid piece. Like the shower, walls, floor, sink, ceiling etc.. were all made in one PVC mould. So very unusual. Towels are large and of good quality and the A/C unit works very well. I only wish you could leave it running while you are out of your room. That way when you get in to your room, it's the desired temperature. Cleaning staff didn't do a very good job. They pretty much just came in and made the bed. Bathroom wasn't cleaned, and towels weren't re-hung nicely or anything. There is a fridge in the room, and beverage/snack machines were in the lobby area. A serious limitation of this hotel is location. It is the furthest hotel from town, and it is a solid 30 min walk to the Todd St Mall area. Not a huge problem in the spring/fall when outside temperatures are comfortabe, but in the summer it would be way too hot. It's a 70 min walk to the School of the Air. The hotel does offer free shuttles in to town and back, but not at very good times. The last shuttle back to the hotel is at 1:30 in the afternoon. Way too early. It's also not a very safe walk after dark. Alice Springs has some 'social issues' with drug and alcohol problems and people loitering/sleeping in the bushes. There is a restaurant at the hotel. We never went. Prices were average, which means they were expensive. The tap water is safe to drink, but it tastes pretty bad and is very cloudy, so we bought bottles of water at the grocery store in town for $1. Front desk is closed overnight, which is a pain. So you can't get a bottle of water from a vending machine or anything overnight, unless you walk across the street to the casino. This is also a problem if you're getting a tour to pick you up before the reception opens. You'll have to wait outside. Pool looked nice and clean, we never went in as it never got hot while we were there. I would have given this a 4 star if it had a 'normal' bathroom and vending machines available overnight.

Room Tip: Furthest away from reception on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AC_A340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.5 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
479 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
965 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice in the Territory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice in the Territory

Property: Alice in the Territory
Address: 46 Stephens Road, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Outback Alice Springs)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alice in the Territory 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the magnificent MacDonnell Ranges, experience the rugged beauty of the Australian Outback while close to shopping and sightseeing. This beautiful landscaped property offers good sized, comfortable accommodation, resort style swimming pool and onsite dining at our signature restaurant. With 120 rooms we offer a range of accommodation including disabled rooms, family rooms, bunk rooms and interconnecting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alice in the Territory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice In The Territory Hotel Alice Springs
Comfort Inn Alice Springs
Alice Springs Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing