We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interseting”

Royal Flying Doctor Service Tourist Facility
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$80.89*
and up
Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 18 Museums in Alice Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winner of the 2012 Brolga Northern Territory Tourism Award for Best New Tourism Development. Since 1928 the Royal Flying Doctor Service (RFDS) has provided 24-hour emergency medical services to those who live, work and travel throughout Australia. Today, the RFDS provides the finest care to more than 275,000 Australians each year – that’s one person every two minutes. Visit the original Alice Springs working base operating since 1939 to learn more about this unique service. The theatre allows the visitor to watch in comfort the life size hologram of John Flynn telling the story of the Royal Flying Doctor Service, a truly amazing experience! The Royal Flying Doctor Service is a non profit organization, with 100% of all profits made from tours, purchases in the cafe and from our online store going straight to the replenishment of medical equipment.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
341 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Very interseting”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A very informative center, admission was $8, we got a group rate as there was 8 of us I believe the normal rate is $12. I never realized that there is 61 planes flying around. Plan for about 1.5hrs.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ERDFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    315
    106
    27
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting but poor value for money”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The museum is well worth seeing but the film of the flying doctor service was very disappointing. Would have liked more information to be given about the origins of the service and its founder. Not good value for money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Swords_Surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Touristy”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I remeber the TV series in the 1950/60's and looked forward to this - the history is interesting, but the visitor centre is rather commercialised. It is just a tourist facility now - niot a working site.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael T, General Manager at Royal Flying Doctor Service Tourist Facility, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give some feedback on our new Tourist Facility. Indeed we are a Tourist Attraction which generates needed funds to help keep our vital remote and regional aeromedical and primary health care operations flying. Within the Facility we have tried to give the visitor as much history and information on our current operations including the life scale replica of our current aircraft fleet the Pilatus PC 12. Unfortunately due to regulatory restrictions the general public are not able to view our operations airside. Thank you for visiting our Facility and helping to keep the Doctor Flying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, CA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour of a Wonderful Service”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We recently visited the RFDS on the last day of our trip to Australia for its total solar eclipse. We were so glad we did! The building itself is quite interesting, and the multimedia presentation about the program was very professional. Additionally, there is a small gift shop which sells items to benefit the service. Housed there is a mock up of the planes which are used for their emergency runs, and it was amazing to see all of the equipment inside of such a small space. You can feel good that the fee they charge is going for a good cause as well.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank canncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Well presented giving a good understanding of the service. We spent a good hour or more here and it was the best of the in town places we visited. The cafe was good too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank hattiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Flying Doctor Service Tourist Facility also viewed

 

Been to Royal Flying Doctor Service Tourist Facility? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing