We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous kids playground!”

Alice Springs: Araluen Cultural Precinct
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Araluen Cultural Precinct is home to some of the most significant artistic, cultural and historical experiences in Alice Springs and provides a unique visitor experience, encompassing Central Australia’s key cultural institutions and collections. In its four galleries and 500 seat theatre, the Araluen Arts Centre presents an annual program of exhibitions, theatre, and film. The Araluen Galleries showcase the beginning and continuing development of the contemporary Aboriginal art movement, particularly of the Central and Western Desert. The Araluen Art Collection includes significant original watercolours by Albert Namatjira in his artistic response to the Central Australian landscape. A “keeping place of stories”, the Araluen Cultural Precinct offers a rich experience set amongst important Arrernte sites significant to the local Arltyerre (Dreaming) including yaye (Big sister hill), yaye akweke (Little sister hill) and a sacred 300-year-old corkwood tree.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Brisbane
Level Contributor
543 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Fabulous kids playground!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our kids spent over half an hour in the shaded kids playground. They would have been happy to stay longer if we didn't have to move on.

We specifically visited to see the shop of local crafts and particularly the hand painted silk. We each came away with some beautiful items at very reasonable prices.

The very clean bathrooms in the foyer of the performing arts area were an added bonus.

Make sure you look up when you arrive as the building roof is covered in solar panels. Great to see green energy in action.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mssell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    39
    13
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Museum, Gallery, Aviation History....”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We enjoyed everything we did here - the aviation museum initially appears a little tired but it is interesting and some of the displays show a great sense of humour. The audio tour at the museum added extra enjoyment (I didn't listen to EVERY tape....) and I gleaned new information about places we had already visited. The Art Gallery gave us much to think about...and your ticket allows you to revisit again at no extra cost!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Museum was great, didn't see the rest”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I loved the museum! It was individualised and quirky and I spent about 3 hours there. Lots of information on people who shaped central Australia which was great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brissooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Closes early, don't be late”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our all too brief visit to the art gallery and the aircraft museum in this centre. Wish we had more time to spend there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HDStripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Do not miss this superb regional gallery highlighting western desert indigenous artists and a lovely craft shop selling wares by”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

This was a "must do" item during our time in Alice. The staff in the art gallery were friendly. Loved the exhibitions, and the ticket price enables you to come back multiple times over a number of days, which is necessary as there are lots of things to see!

The craft shop also had a small but impressive exhibition, as well as lots of quality handmade items made by local (non indigenous) artisans. Well worth a visit.

Not sure about the comments about it being closed. We were there on both a Sat and Sun afternoon.

There is also a superb outdoor indigenous mural that makes for some great photo ops.

If your tired feet need a break, watching the free video about the life of Geoff Barden just inside the lobby of the art centre is well worth it. Fascinating history of the development of the modern indigenous movement in the western desert in the 1970's.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tamaletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice Springs: Araluen Cultural Precinct also viewed

 

Been to Alice Springs: Araluen Cultural Precinct? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing