We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of Alice Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diplomat Alice Springs
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Location is excellent, friendly staff, they kept our luggage for free while we were on a multi-day tour. hotel is pretty good too, although they could make an effort on the cleanliness of the rooms which was ok but not excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Den H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Den H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Diplomat Motel. We are glad you chose to stay with us!

We certainly pride ourselves on great customer service, a fantastic location and are always more than happy to hang on to luggage for our guests while they explore the divine red centre!

I have passed your feedback onto our Housekeeping Department. Thank you for letting us know.

We hope to welcome you back to The Diplomat again soon, all the best with the rest of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
There are newer reviews for Diplomat Alice Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 307 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

Prior to this stay we had stayed in several Alice Springs hotel/motels and at this stage was a good judge at what you could get for your money in the area. We were looking forward to staying here as we had already driven by and checked the online pics and thought staying in town would be good. Looks were very deceiving.
We checked in to a standard room which looked nothing like their pictures, drab, small and a view of the lane way. Stairwell was dirty and the room resembled a prison cell. We complained and asked for a room which could access the outside not an internal corridor. We moved into another room with no light in the bathroom working. This was unable to be fixed so we got moved to another room only after about 40 minutes with the aircon running it started leaking water all over the phone and splashing on the bed. By this time we were fuming these rooms were not worth the money and were not clean, had unresolved maintenance issues. They also had no motel info card or fire evacuation plans.
After complaining again was moved to a superior room. This was much nicer but still had issues. We thought that one of the trucks parked outside was running as there was a loud vibration inside but discovered it was the aircon unit outside the door vibrating against the wall.
Checked the aircon filters and they were filthy thick with dust. The vent in the bathroom was thick with dust.
The wine glasses were covered in greasy finger prints and needed washing. We have read most of these reviews of this place and management seem to say it will all be fixed but that isn't happening as the standard of hygiene is pretty poor. Do not go into a standard room they are just disgusting. Based on the poor reviews of the restaurant we did not dine in. We wished we had not stayed here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Martin,

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Diplomat. I can confirm that you had actually booked to stay in a Double Budget Room for $90 per night.

As per our webpage: (Budget Room) “For the price conscious traveller, our budget rooms are located around our swimming pool on the first floor. These are smaller rooms with ensuite offering the basic room requirements.”

Our web page also includes pictures of the budget room so our guests are aware of the room type prior to booking.

I am also able to confirm that all of the maintenance issues and housekeeping issues were quickly rectified after you reported them to us. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention.

All of our rooms have Motel Information cards located by the television. The fire evacuation plans are on display by the door, as per the fire regulations.

I am sorry to hear that you did not dine in Stumps Restaurant. A new Head Chef, new service team and a brand new menu has proven to be a popular choice for in-house guests and locals alike.

Thank you for your feedback and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed a week at the diplomat and were very pleased with the location and facilities. We ate at the onsite restaurant several times; the food was tasty and reasonably priced. The staff in all parts of the hotel and restaurant were great...friendly, helpful and efficient. The central location of the hotel meant that we could walk to everything in town and we were directly across from the shopping center.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruzin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The staff at Diplomat were amazingly friendly and superb. From the ladies in reception and the guy, to the Tavern staff. The tall guy was quite knowlegeable behind the bar.I think his name is Darren. The staff in the Tavern were busy but they still had a smile on their faces. The rooms weren't the best but who needs the best? It would have been nice to have an elevator but hey whats a couple of stairs?
Thanks to the staff for making my visit great

Room Tip: Choose a superior room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abitalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here because a standard room was booked for me by the company I was travelling with, stayed a night before flying out and a night after flying back in. Needless to say if I had my own choice I would not stay here again. It looks great on the outside but the interior is really deceiving!!! We didnt eat at the restaurant so cant comment there. Here is my experience as a whole:

Pros:
Reception staff friendly
Pool is awesome (so big and really refreshing)

Cons:
-Entry into most rooms is via sliding glass doors. If you want to impress your guests you should CLEAN the dirty marks and finger prints off the doors. Also clean the marks off the curtains too! It was gross, and happened on both nights I stayed.
-Only had a dodgy old box tv. What are they going to do when the analogue signal is turned off in alice on December 10??
- rooms were really dated and daggy looking, stained carpets and the bathrooms were from the 80's I swear.
-There was no rubbish bin in the bathrooms! Also mirrors were dirty in the bathroom and no shower caps or other items were provided. The bathrooms were really dark in both rooms I stayed in. One room we stayed in had leaking pipes under the sink so whenever you turned the tap on you would get wet feet from dripping water.
- rooms have a desk but no desk chair. In fact no chairs at all. Go figure?
- tv remotes don't have backs on them so batteries were held in with sticky tape. It looked so dirty.
- we had a car, there was no information given to us about when the gates are shut/locked and there was no info about this in the hotel info folder. We went out to come back at 11pm and find all the gates to enter the property were shut/locked! Not happy about that.
- it is right in town. Yes this is convenient but there are a lot of drunks in Alice and boy it feels unsettling at night, especially when your room faces onto the street!

Needless to say I am glad I didn't pay to stay here and when we return to Alice we know where to avoid.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LouiseMaxiMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diplomat_GM, General Manager at Diplomat Alice Springs, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. We are glad you found our onsite pool enjoyable and our staff friendly.

I am happy to report back to you that all of our Motel rooms will be equipped with flat screen TV’s by the 10th December, 2013.

Motel Reception is manned 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and we are committed to ensuring that our guests are comfortable and happy with our amenities. We welcome any feedback to ensure that our guest needs are met.

Security is also of the utmost importance to us, therefore our car park is locked of a night time, however, with the property being manned 24 hours a day, we are always available to unlock and open the gates when required. We do apologise that this was an inconvenience to you.

We are concerned that you did not report any issues you had with your room during your stays, however please rest assured that I have spoken with our Housekeeping and Maintenance Managers and ensured these issues noted have been rectified.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Anjelka Bazdaric

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is right in the heart of Alice Springs, not like the town is so big that you can't be far from much. There are no lifts, but the desk clerk was more than obliging in assisting me with my heavy bag upstairs. There are two restaurants on site. The rooms were clean and spacious. There is a pool. AC only operates with the plastic portion of the room key. I detached the actual key from the plastic in order to keep the AC on whilst I was out and about in the heat.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navidad_not
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Diplomat hotel was recommended to us by our Tour Guide George who stays there when in Alice Springs. To my surprise it was a great value for money at $25 a night. It is a hotel room that has 4 beds (not bunk ;-), as well as a bar fridge, TV (with sports and movie channels), towels and an on-suit shower and toilet, as well as free wifi. It also has a nice swimming pool. Although there is no communal kitchen like a normal backpackers hostel, there is a bbq area, and there is a bar and restaurant downstairs, which we had a great end of tour dinner. A Rump Steak for $10 ... you cant beat that. Its great place to stay before and after your tour. Its in the middle of town and the supermarkets are across the road and the mall 100 meters away. I would definately stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.2 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
736 reviews
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Alice Springs

Address: 20 Gregory Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range: $67 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Diplomat Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the centre of town, the Diplomat Alice Motel Springs provides the perfect place to relax and unwind with 81 rooms and fantastic facilities. Only minutes walk from the heart of the Todd Mall the property is close to shops, restaurants, cafes and many of the local attractions Alice Springs has to offer. The Diplomat Alice Springs offers a range of accommodation options, meeting venues and facilities operated by friendly, professional staff. All accommodation features air-conditioning, a flat-screen LCD TV, ensuite bathrooms, tea & coffee, refrigerators and complimentary WiFi access. After a busy day of sightseeing, touring or business meetings relax by the pool and enjoy a casual meal and ice cold beer in the fully licensed Uncle's Tavern, situated onsite within The Diplomat Alice Springs complex, or meet with friends in Stumps Restaurant for a delicious meal and delightful get-together. Other on-site facilities include an outdoor swimming pool and lounge, guest laundry, Tour Desk and conference facilities. The Diplomat is an ideal base to explore the spectacular rugged beauty of central Australia and the outback. Take the heritage walk to explore some of the attractions and the unique Aboriginal Art galleries, full of stunning artworks produced by Aboriginal artists both locally and from the surrounding Aboriginal communities. The Diplomat Alice Springs is centrally located for all transfers to the airport, the Ghan train station and for all tour operators departing or returning to Alice Springs. We look forward to welcoming you to the Diplomat Motel Alice Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Diplomat Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs
All Seasons Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing