We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”
Review of Alice Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alice Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We arrived and were booked in to a room on the first floor, unfortunately there was a problem with the toilet not flushing. We reported this to the duty manager who came had a look and then moved us to a different room on the ground floor as it was not possible to fix that day.
The rooms were clean and fully furnished, breakfast was provided in the community kitchen every morning from 4 am this was to ensure those undertaking trips to the 'Rock' could get breakfast before leaving. There was always plenty of bread for toast as well as cereals and milk.
The pool was kept clean and looked inviting although it was cold despite the 40 degree air temperature.
No complaints would of rated higher if the furnishings had been more modern, good value for money and approachable and friendly manager.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are good and we were never disturbed by noise from the rooms above all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank holiday-view23-7-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 369 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Alice Motor Inn is a nice place in Alice Springs. It is a little bit old but still in good condition and clean. They have a kitchen which can be used 24/7 by everyone and a BBQ grill. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Probably the best price/value ratio for any traveller in the outback when you do not search for a 5 star hotel.
Special thanks to Gee for his support and information.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elschakal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Incredibly friendly and helpful owners. We had a large room with absolutely everything we needed for our family - lots of water in a clean bathroom (bath with shower above - decent pressure), big clean comfy beds, free wifi, TV, a large fridge to chill drinks, and enough space to empty our rucksacks and repack! We didn't make use of the swimming pool (midwinter, looked just a little too cool) but enjoyed a good free breakfast after an excellent sleep - quiet location.
The owner suggested we head down the road for our evening meal to "the club": it was huge, with about 6 large sport-showing TV screens and lots of "pokies" BUT the play areas for the kids went down very well, and very reasonably priced food. A good choice for weary family!
He then booked a taxi for us to the airport ($35) and allowed us to store all our luggage with him for the morning whilst we explored Alice Springs.
Easy to book online, and an excellent choice for a family on a budget but not wanting to stay in a hostel. The only reason for my "very good" rating is that it's slightly care-worn. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
9  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

AMI is quite convenient and cosy place to stay in Alice Springs. The rooms are a bit dated and amenities are not top notch. But I found the location good and safe.

However the manager couple (Gee and his wife) are really nice and friendly. The go out of their way to make sure the stay is good. Its worthwhile talking to Gee before visiting nearby places, he gives a lot of useful info.

Wifi internet is really good too. Breakfast is quite ordinary but functional.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CaliHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceMotorInn, General Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Salil

Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed Alice Motor Inn and Central Australia. As explained we are very soon going to be refurbishing some of our deluxe rooms.

Glad you enjoyed the free Wi-Fi and breakfast.

Regards
Gee Rekhy
General Manager
info@alicemotorinn.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night before boarding a coach trip to Uluru. Room was very spacious and clean, and it was clear the bathroom had been partially refurbished recently. Security was good with electronic gates closed at night, with only guests able to access the site. Free wifi with no limit was an added bonus and worked well. Complimentary breakfast provided in the kitchen area was all we needed for an early morning departure to Uluru.
We were welcomed to the Alice Motor Inn by Gee, the very friendly and helpful owner. He recommended several restaurants to eat at, and places to see for the one night we were in Alice Springs, and knew the time and place we needed to be for our early morning coach departure.
Would highly recommend to anyone intending to stay in Alice Springs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LouP456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Half a mile from the city centre (15-20 minute walk to Todd Mall), owned by a very nice and friendly man with his family who makes you feel home.
Nonetheless, the rooms would need a renewal.
Free parking, free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank einai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here for a night before and a Ning after a tour to the red centre. On the first visit check in was great, and the guy on reception was exceptionally helpful pointed out all the things to visit whilst in Alice and gave us directions to town and restaurants. It has a good area to do laundry and hang your stuff out, a nice little kitchen and a pool. On our return after the trip the lady was also helpful, however reception was closed when we arrived (and desperate for a shower) for half an hour so we had to wait around before we could check in and then tried to charge me for the room when I had already paid, but that's nothing major.

The room was lovely and big and very clean. The bathroom was a nice size and had a good shower. There was a little fridge in the room and a kettle and a nice big flat screen TV. The location was very good, just a short walk into town and the airport shuttle bus drops you off and picks you up right outside. Our tour company were also fine picking us up from here.

All in all it was a great little hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Luisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
0.9 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
312 reviews
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.5 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.6 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
523 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Motor Inn

Address: 27 Undoolya Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range: $61 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alice Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alice Motor Inn - Quality budget en-suite motel rooms with great pool and barbecue area overlooking the rugged MacDonnell Mountain Ranges. Home style comfort, aircon and fan. Airport shuttle and town bus stop out front. Reception has the best tours to Uluru. 600 metres to the Town Mall; 400 metres to a supermarket/liquor store; Italian, Indian, Thai, & Chinese restaurants/takeout plus fish & chips. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Alice Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing