We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Alice Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alice Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Springfield, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here a couple nights in June before moving on to Darwin. Like others have said, Gee, the manager, is fantastic! He was so helpful with directions, talking about the locals ( and the security issue ) and always has a smile on his face. The room was plenty big for 3 of us. We did not have a car, and walked to town several times, even at night. The hotel has a fence around it that is locked at night, so we never felt unsecure. I would recommend staying at this hotel if your looking for a clean, comfortable stay, and affordable price while in Alice Springs! Thanks Gee!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a bigger room for free, so you might ask if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 734DavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    167
    67
    16
    10
See reviews for
74
176
35
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ariel
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My adult daughter and I stayed here before and after a 3 day Emu Run trip to Uluru (which I also recommend). The innkeeper, Gee, is fantastic! The rooms are large, clean, comfortable, and in good working order. The kitchen was great and we used the laundry facilities with no problems at all. If you are looking for reasonably priced accommodations in Alice Springs, and you have a car, this is a no brainer! Stay here! If you don't have a car (we didn't), it is a short walk to the main part of town(which means it is fairly quiet for sleeping). Walking around late at night is not recommended in Alice Springs, so when we came back late, we took a taxi for about $10-$12 (even people we met who were staying in town were advised to take a taxi when going to the other side of town, and it costs $5 just to get in a taxi). In my opinion, even without a car, this is the place to stay.We felt safe and comfortable, and I don't think that you can find a better host than Gee.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room the first night and a family room the second. The deluxe room is a typical mote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lakehead77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
1,208 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 589 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in the budget room, which was pretty good. Big space, an extra bed, TV, A/C, minibar, coffee/tea facilities, free wi-fi. Not brand new, but very good.

Bathroom was good enough. Shower curtains. Toiletries provided.

Great manager, helped us with everything! All staff was great indeed!

Place is not in downtown, but it's an easy walk from/to there (we were not driving). Overall I say it's a very good budget choice in Alice Springs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mconstantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I used to live in Alice Springs and am aware of the issue that every one has with security. bringing down a trailer with two dirt bikes and a whole lot of camping gear for 10 days could have been an issue. There is plenty of space for parking and no issue with secure die to the large gate // fence at the location. Has a decent kitchenette with complimentary breakfast (toast - jams, vegemite // cereal - weetbix, muesli, cornflakes)
Rooms are good size and give 3 boofy blokes enough space.
Has separate laundry with washing machine and dryer.
Pool at locaiton as well, but at 10*c, i aint going near it.
Close to town with the staff being easy and approachable.
Rooms are a little basic and could do with a good scrub, but for the price it is spot on.

:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Very big rooms situated a little bit out of the centre of Alice. But only a small ride by car.the pool seems very nice and clean too but we did not make use of it as it is not really hot this time of the year the pool is not too small. The free wifi is really a good extra. The free breakfast toast and cereals is ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mechelaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

After reading the positive reviews we just had to stay here on our trip to the Alice. My sister and I booked into the 'family room' on arrival, just for one night - but quickly extended it to four. ($110 a night for the two of us). Very spacious room with kitchen and bathroom. Nice firm beds (one double, a single and a king single). Kitchen with all appliances and cooking needs. Digital TV with all channels available (after I tuned it!). Free WiFi any time of day and night. Free breakfast in the guest kitchen (yummy free range eggs). Very friendly, helpful and chatty hosts. Security gates locked at night with guests only access codes. O.K. the place is a bit dated and a few things are less than perfect, but this is a budget motel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magdalena50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

After spending three nights in Tennant Creek (for the eclipse) in very cramped conditions (apparently it doesn't matter where you stay there, they are all the same), we took the advice of other Tripadvisor reviews and booked at the Alice Motor Inn.

At prices $10 cheaper than Tennant Creek for a massive family sized room (compared to the dog-boxes we had been staying in), a clean pool, and free breakfast we couldn't pass it up. Such value!

What we found was a clean, friendly and very quiet motel. It's not as big as most chains, which is a huge bonus. With less rooms and secure parking, you don't have to worry so much about other guest noise or cars driving past all night. It was in a quiet area of Alice too.

Our small team of chasers was extremely tired after the eclipse, and the Alice Motor Inn let us relax and unwind after a successful chase. If we are ever in Alice again we will definitely be staying there.

Note for the owners: Please include honey in you breakfast selection. It would have been nice on the free breakfast you provide. Thanks!

Room Tip: Go for the family sized room. A double (queen) and two single beds, a couch, dining table, breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starfield77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.8 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
301 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
479 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Motor Inn

Property: Alice Motor Inn
Address: 27 Undoolya Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alice Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alice Motor Inn - Quality budget en-suite motel rooms with great pool and barbecue area overlooking the rugged MacDonnell Mountain Ranges. Home style comfort, aircon and fan. Airport shuttle and town bus stop out front. Reception has the best tours to Uluru. 600 metres to the Town Mall; 400 metres to a supermarket/liquor store; Italian, Indian, Thai, & Chinese restaurants/takeout plus fish & chips. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Alice Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing