We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, clean, a pleasant stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alice Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alice Motor Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, a pleasant stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Location is close to town around 15 mins walk. Big, clean room. Equipped with a refreshing swimming pool, full kitchen facilities with self serve nice breakfast. Staff are very friendly and helpful, this place is my first choice in Alice Springs!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    164
    67
    16
    9
See reviews for
73
171
35
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Got a large room and a self service breakfast for a cheap price. Took a short walk to a nearby club that served well priced dinners and beer. Hosts welcoming and pleasant to talk to. Would strongly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

This is a long delayed review. We stayed at Alice Motor Inn in early Nov last year.

After reviewing a few traveller's comments, we chose this place because its close to town, has fully kitchen facilities and within our budget. Some comments mentioned about the noise issue, especially for the rooms near motel's exist and entrance. This place does sit on a busy road, and right next to an intersection. After made the booking, I emailed the owner to make sure a room away from the road.

However, upon our arrival, despite previous assurance from the owner, we were still given a room which is right next its exist gate. Mary had assured me the street is really quite at night. and offered an option to switch to another room. Later, after found out we have used the bathroom, she is a bit reluctant to offer the alternative room. It was an upsetting start.

After first night, I got to say. There ain't many traffic after 8pm or 9pm. (this is at the central Australia we talking about) But the noise does pick up early, about 7 or 8am. It didn't create too much trouble for us, as we need to get up early anyway. In fact, its the next door neighbour made too much noise when they were checking out, talkin on the phone or smoking outside their room (but right next to our window). Our second night stay was much better (the noisy neighbour had checked out!!)

I do need to say Mary and Rob does a terrific job in maintaining their family business. The common room kitchen has limited space, but well maintained and very clean. The pool is definitely a bonus; relax your body after a long hot day.

They offers complimentary breakfast. It's basic, but for such small business, i still surprised by the choices they offered. Even though, we bought some groceries earlier, still cereal and egg.

After all, this place offers great value!! And Mary and Rob has travelled to many places around Alice Spring. Don't forget to ask for some travel tips. Saved lot of time to do research.

Room Tip: All family room is on ground floor. Room1 next to the exist gate, Room 4 next to the shared kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amon029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Mary and Rob were such wonderful hosts, also their friends Caroline & Richard, nothing was too much trouble. We have never had such welcome as we did at the Alice Springs. The use of the kitchen was a great help. The swimming pool was well maintained and clean. Room very clean (needed a little tlc from the owners) not a complaint though. We had a tour round the town organised for us with no problems. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer130147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We found Mary and Rob were first class hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Any local information required was always forthcoming. The room was clean and tidy and we had access to the kitchen for breakfast at no extra charge. A bbq was arranged especially for us on the day before we left. We would have no hesitation in recommending The Alice Motor Inn whilst staying in Alice Springs. Many thanks for a wonderful stay. Bernard & Sue Simpson, South Wales, UK

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank V H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stopped to this motel just for 1 night but we felt at home and wanted to stay in Alice Springs more. The managers were very helpful and kind with us. They suggested us some nice things to do in the area (there are many), there is also a supermarket just nearby and a kitchen where you can cook your own things. Breakfast (included) is ok. Rooms are quite big and decent. There is a pool (quite useful here) and internet works fine if I remember correctly. Rates are honest and you could decide to stop for a few days here in A. S..
Worth certainly a visit.

PS The managers strongly recommended not to go out after 8 pm due to the aggressive attitudes of native people (aborigens). So there is a locked gate and they suggest to go out anytime with the car. They are probably too worried but we did not dare to go out in spite of their strong advises. A pity because we were really interested to real native Australian people, but we had no time to try meeting some of them. Being often in Napoli, Palermo or other cities (like NYC, Paris) where criminality is very high, I doubt that in A. S. there are serious problems... and we strongly sympathize with natives anyway. Your turn to try...

Room Tip: Check for spiders! You are in Central Australia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andreadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

The manager was so helpful and welcoming. Overall great place to stay... clean, great location, swimming pool, breakfast included etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adela_803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.5 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.9 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Motor Inn

Property: Alice Motor Inn
Address: 27 Undoolya Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alice Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alice Motor Inn - Quality budget en-suite motel rooms with great pool and barbecue area overlooking the rugged MacDonnell Mountain Ranges. Home style comfort, aircon and fan. Airport shuttle and town bus stop out front. Reception has the best tours to Uluru. 600 metres to the Town Mall; 400 metres to a supermarket/liquor store; Italian, Indian, Thai, & Chinese restaurants/takeout plus fish & chips. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alice Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice Hotel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing