We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, put the waiters on valium (we're in the Territory after all)”

Sukra Restaurant at Lasseters Hotel Casino
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, put the waiters on valium (we're in the Territory after all)”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The food is great quality. It's a combination of Thai, Indian, Chinese and Korean dishes, which is a similar menu format to Hanuman but, in my opinion, better. The service is attentive - perhaps a little too attentive (on one occasion, I was asked how the food was before I'd had a chance to eat any, and was subsequently asked by two different waiting staff). This suggests perhaps some attention to coordinating the activity of the waiting staff might be in order. You can't complain that they're not interested. The restaurant is in the bowels of the casino complex - so no windows and you can't even see the door from any of the tables. It's a cosy environment, if a little enclosed. I was comfortable there but I wouldn't take a claustrophobic friend with me. They have made considerable effort with the decor, to good effect. Prices are about right for what you get in Alice Springs - given the quality of the food, I'd say it represents good value.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    9
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thai Delight”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

If you like Indian food, then you need to try Sukra's. I didn't eat out much, but the food here was very good. It is reasonably priced too compared to some places in Alice. It is actually inside the Casino. They have a few restaurants there. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
257 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Evening”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The service was superb and the food was excellent although a little more on the plate would have been welcome, more expensive than the Juicy Rump but worth the extra money.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Very cosy little restaurant. A group of us enjoyed a lovely evening with good service and together with the varied menu items on offer it catered for all our tastes including vegetarian and vegan selections.

Bookings are essential.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RonLorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The food is delicious and the service is usually good. Sometimes when they are busy the service slips a little

Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukra Restaurant at Lasseters Hotel Casino also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing