We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun salon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rock Bar

The Rock Bar
Ranked #12 of 92 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun salon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Set like a salon from Mad Max, many things to view and a skeleton on a motorcycle behind a plate glass window. Food was VERY good and there was plenty of it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    70
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tuesday night was rocking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The receptionnist at Toddy's Backpackers told me I should go there to grab a bite and a few drinks for dinner.
I finally didn't go for dinner but went for drinks arond 9 p.m. on a tuesday night in febuary. When I got ther the place was pack. You see groups of tourist who visit Ayer's Rock during the day with the ROCK TOUR come here for dinner and drinks afterward.
They spend the whole day together visiting Ayer's Rock and then by night time they can look at all the funky pictures that where taken during the day.
Obviously dinner is taken with a few drinks, the music gets louder, then people start dancing, then somme people start cruising and to top it off you have a singer that comes in and plays live sets during the evening.
WOW I wish I would have gone on taht ROCK TOUR with these guys. I'm sure you can get information if you contact the restaurant directly.
Now, I know you must be saying to yourself, he works for these guys.
But let me assure you, I'm French Canadian, I only spent one night in Alice Springs and I really think you have to spend one evening at the ROCK BAR, if you want to enjoy Alice Springs.
If you like your evenings a little bit quieter you should know there's an outside courtward in back of the restaurant wich is more quiet and you can still look at all the pictures that were taken during the day on the giant screen ! Is's a must, the rest of the town looks pretty quiet on a tuesday night !!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cocotte19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The Rock Bar - Good Food & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Rock Bar Located in Main Street. Friendly, helpful staff with good range of cold beer's on tap. Large, front inside room with bar and large back, open area section. We ate out the back and watched the large screen video clips until the guitarist started. The Rock Burger and chips was very tasty, but would have enjoyed some more chips. Partner had a roasted vegetable salad, which was excellent. You know the kitchen is hygenic, because yiu can watch then oreoaring the meal through the large windows! Prices are very reasonable. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“good feed good prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Took the family to this restaurant and was pleased with the service, the prices of the meals, and the taste was fine. Would not have a problem eating here again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pauly75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great food, reasonable prices.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Ate here after a tour of Uluru, had the stuffed chicken breast and Greek salad. Both were excellent. Cost around about the same as you would pay in any Australian city and was the best I've had in a long time. Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetravellingroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock Bar also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to The Rock Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing