We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vege Burgers”
Review of Watertank Cafe

Watertank Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: An industrial, upcycled coffee hub/cafe specialising in award winning coffee, breakfast and Lunch with fresh juices, smoothies and frappes. Catering for Vegetarians, Vegans and Gluten Free also
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Vege Burgers”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Watertank Cafe is situated in a gardening centre about 1km from the CBD. The food is always great quality especially if you are looking for interesting vegetarian fare. The vege burger is absolutely the best I have had anywhere. Coffee is good quality. You do have to wait a while but it's worth it and the outdoor shady setting is lovely. They have a fenced in children's play area!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank _iJane_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn W, Owner at Watertank Cafe, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thanks Jane
We try consistently to improve our customers experience and the vege burger is one of our favourites. At present we are changing our menu all the time to give our customers even more variety and we hope to give Alice Springs cafe goers some unique and worldly experiences.
We are moving more and more to free range and organic produce which is becoming a world must have in cafe dining. We are also consistently trying to improve our wait times for meals on the run for workers with short lunchtimes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    50
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
oz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Watertank Cafe”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This cafe is a little tucked away but is worth finding out where it is. I grabbed lunch there and the food was good and the setting is lovely amongst the gardens.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmumpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn W, Owner at Watertank Cafe, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We are very glad you found us and enjoyed your meal. We look forward to seeing you back. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sit in the sun”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Its a nice setting to be around the nursery and have lovely food. sit in the sun. :) its not crowded and the food is great

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BriannaJ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn W, Owner at Watertank Cafe, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your meal and above all your experience at the cafe and nursery. We love the atmosphere and it's great to hear that our customers do also. With such beautiful weather on the way we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Scenic setting”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The tank garden cafe leads a double life - it also a plant nursery.
The lunches are healthy and interesting; cakes excellent when fresh and coffee by far the best in town - never bitter.
However - this cafe should do itself a favor and seek to generate more income by hiring competent waiting staff. Staff are a bit hippy and seem uninterested in giving good prompt service. Pity.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwriter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“decent cafe fare”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is a cafe attached to a garden centre. The food is a little more adventurous than paedestrian and executed well, but one pays a little more than normally would in a cafe such as this. I had a halloumi slald which was tastey and good. But my pot of tea was overpriced.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anni63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watertank Cafe also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Watertank Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing