We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Absolutely excellent

As a Territorian I’ve seen heaps of Kangaroos, but this tour was excellent. Brolga had lots of... read more

Reviewed March 20, 2024
Rhiannon K
via mobile
Just go you won’t tegret it

The best outback original experience you can imagine. Chris goes out of his way to make this a... read more

Reviewed March 15, 2024
DirckZadeh
,
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
via mobile
Read all 549 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Alice Springs
from $238.61
More Info
from $60.46
More Info
from $236.62
More Info
from $26.53
More Info
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveler rating
523
19
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
523
19
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baby kangaroo pillow cases his passion highlight of our trip the bus natural environment roger joeys roos orphans rescued cuddle rescuing release mob alice series
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 549 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2019

It's almost redundant to join the hundreds of other reviewers to say how much we enjoyed this experience - but we loved it. We've been to Australia many times, we've seen countless kangaroos - this was the best. Chris gives a fascinating and informative conservation message about kangaroos, including the importance of searching a road-kill kangaroo pouch to see if there is a joey inside. One woman, when handed a little joey (and everyone gets to hold one), said it was the best day of her life. We liked Alice Springs and the area, but the Kangaroo Sanctuary was the highlight.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank Lyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 30, 2019

This was our 3rd visit and it was just as awesome as the first. Brolga's passion and genuine care for all animals is heartwarming. This is a brilliant experience and I would highly recommend it to everyone who visits Alice Springs.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brolga-and-Tahnee, Owner at The Kangaroo Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Wow thank you for visiting three times! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience.

Take care
Tahnee & Brolga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2019

A visit to the Kangaroo Sanctuary is great for the soul. To see the caring, compassionate, and wonderful environment these beautiful creatures are in will melt your heart. Brolga has the heart of a saint and the kindness he has for all living beings is one that everyone should strive to achieve. Thank you for being such a great representation of all of the animal advocates out there and spreading the message that everything matters. Truly an inspiration!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank klturner38
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 17, 2019 via mobile

The Kangaroo Sanctuary was the highlight of our month long trip. Chris demonstrates incredible passion for his kangaroos and teaches how you can help orphaned kangaroos in an informative and entertaining way. You get to hold baby kangaroos for 5 minute intervals while walking through the sanctuary and you have a couple of chances to do so. On the walk you can pet the roos and some people even get the chance to bottle feed a few of them. The walk back to the entrance while the sun is setting is amazing on its own. This was one of the best tours our family has ever done.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 16, 2019 via mobile

During winter, the Outback was cool and arid. Many of us from temperate or tropical climate regions would take a glance at the desert and see…dirt…a never-ending sea of dirt. There is some truth to this. However, the Australian Outback is anything but deserted, particularly between sunset and sunrise when many of the native animals become active. While in Alice, a must-do is to visit the local Kangaroo Sanctuary. The Kangaroo Dundee, Brolga, is a giant Aussie at nearly 6’7” but with a heart of gold! As a former zoo keeper and tour guide, Brolga quit his job as a tour guide to take in orphaned Joey’s whose mothers had been hit by a vehicle on the long stretches of desert road. He raises the Joey’s as their mother and then releases them back to the wild in mobs when they are ready. However, if any roo’s are too friendly with people, or would otherwise not survive on their own, he has established a large sanctuary outside of Alice where they are safe from Dingoes and other predators. While visiting, Brolga explains his passion for caring for the roo’s and will even let you walk amongst roo’s in the sanctuary carrying a Joey in a “pouch.”

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank expeditionnxt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews