We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pokey caravan sites”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alice Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alice Springs Tourist Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Despite telling the receptionist during the telephone booking and again on arrival that we had a large van, we were allocated a site that we barely squeezed into. Many vehicles have to be parked on the roadway in front of the vans and then moved in the morning to allow other vans to leave. The roadways are gravel which generates dust each time a car drives past. There are no pathways between van to get to the amenities block, you literally walk under someone's window and hope you don't trip over leads, hoses etc. A cumbersome check in process consisting of keys, hooks, handwritten receipts, a handwritten ledger and key deposit (allow 15 minutes!). Shop sells $3.80 bread each day which has been frozen and was not very fresh once thawed. On the plus side, the amenities were clean and the water hot. There is also a large playground opposite if you have kids. Also lots of shade, but this is what then caused the pokey sites. We stayed 2 nights and moved to another caravan park.

Room Tip: Walk in and check which site you have been allocated before driving in.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redredwineOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartccp A, Manager at Alice Springs Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

We apologise for the booking system which we agree is outdated. We are now in the process of installing a faster and more convenient computerised reservation and check in system which will make waiting time for guests shorter.

Our bread comes to us fresh and is put in the freezer the moment it hits our Park. Stock dates are regularly checked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Alice Springs Tourist Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 79 of 79 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2012

Asked for a nice grassed area for our swags etc. Got a stoney poorly grassed site. Went to light the BBQ to cook tea and was invaded by cockroaches that came out of the BBQ. Toilet block wasn't clean as spider webs and spiders in the shower cubicles. No way will we stay there again.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartccp A, Manager at Alice Springs Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We are sorry about your experience with us. We do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the Park facilities and surrounds. Our amenities blocks are thoroughly cleaned each morning. The bbqs are cleaned each morning also. Sometimes we have more grassed sites than others, depending on the season weather. We maintain our grass sites with water as much as possible during peak season. Other sites available are mulched sites and gravel sites. The mulched sites are fine for a tent. The gravel ones are restricted to Vans and Motorhomes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. The site is clean & the facilites are good. there is a shop on the site which isn't always open and when you go in its very impersonal. The TV room was locked when the shop is closed and this sort of took away from the excellent facilities..

Room Tip: Bring plenty of provisions with you
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamDregish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuartccp A, Manager at Alice Springs Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Our shop hours are the same as Reception hours. During the peak season, we are open 8.00 a.m. to 8.00 p.m. Tea, Coffee and Milk is provided in your cabin to welcome you. We also stock extra in our shop for your convenience. Our TV room is always open for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
Thank petitcriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papero83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.5 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
421 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
307 reviews
2.0 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
367 reviews
2.3 mi away
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Springs Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Springs Tourist Park

Address: Larapinta Drive | PO Box 870, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia (Formerly Stuart Caravan Cabin Tourist Park)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alice Springs Tourist Park (previously Stuart Caravan and Cabin Park) is the closest park to the Alice Springs town centre. Catering for all needs, the park offers self-contained deluxe cabins to shady sites for tents and caravans. The friendly staff at the park are available to help with your needs including booking tours to experience the many attractions Central Australia has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing