We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a good clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Needs a good clean!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed for 8 days bathroom floor was only cleaned after we complained. No toilet paper no clean glasses carpets were dirty and not vacuumed tv didnt work on channel 10 7 and ABC aircon wasnt working waited an hour for our food in restaurant . Just not what i expected!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nvcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    511
    220
    57
    33
See reviews for
153
557
95
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My and inlaws found the Chifley clean and comfortable. Pleasant grounds and pool area. Evening meal was pricey but good quality. Breakfast was an almost endless choice. Staff need a little polish. I presented at the counter and had to wait for their non work conversation(yes, I could hear it all) to finish before I was addressed.
Biggest issue is that there is no lift from ground to 1st floor. Ok for me to carry bags but my wife (a week out of minor knee surgery) and the 80yr old in-laws, it was a challenge. Staff did not offer to carry bags for us. From a construction point of view I could see ways of installing internal lifts to the building. The Chifley is flying the flag for a big chain. They need to address this issue. Ask for a ground floor room and you should be pleased with the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a Ground floor room unless you want to carry luggage up to 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 930shanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and I was a bit hesitant after reading some of the reviews.
Yes it is a older style hotel but our room was very spacious, the staff were all helpful and friendly, even checking us in to our flights home.
We stayed in a deluxe room that was very quiet and had a lovely little balcony.
The room was very clean but the bathroom does need the shower and bath to be re-siliconed, it has seen better days.
We ate breakfast in the restaurant and had dinner in our room and couldn't fault the food.
The Hotel is an easy walk into Todd Mall and is in a nice quiet location.
Overall all the hotel is good value for money, it is in a remote location and our room was around $200 a night. Just don't expect the Grand Hyatt for the cost of the Chifley

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are worth paying extra, ours looked over the Todd River and were very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jr1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Friendly staff, nice looking palm area where we stayed, looked a little dated but is comfortable enough, no lifts so you need to lug heavy bags up and down stairs. The stair wells are quite dangerous if you are tall so watch your head coming down. The restaurant had a nice tasty menu and the buffet breakfast is your standard buffet with a range of food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanberraFoodieACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

After a few days on the road, Chifley Alice Springs was a breath of fresh air. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious, and the beds were lovely and soft. We were delighted to note that the pool was shaded, something which seemed to be lacking along our travels to that point, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandPMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

It's a bit dated but the hotel is situated in a good location close to the centre and with easy access.
The rooms are basic and a bit dated but there's nothing wrong with them. I only ate breakfast there and it was 'ok' nothing special.
Good price and reasonable value for money, I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This resort is conveniently situated only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Alice Springs. The staff were friendly and very helpful. My room was spacious with everything I needed. Room Service and Laundry Service were also available. I ate 2 dinners in the Barra on Todd Restaurant both of which were excellent, served by friendly and knowledgeable staff. Buffet breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
967 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Alice Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Alice Springs Resort

Property: Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Address: 34 Stott Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Alice Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Alice Springs Resort combines efficient and friendly outback service with modern, comfortable facilities. Low rise architecture and lush native landscaping contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this Resort situated on the Todd River, five minutes from the town centre. The 4.5 star Mercure Alice Springs Resort has 139 guest rooms and hotel facilities include 24 hour reception, free WiFi, three multi purpose function rooms, guest laundry, restaurant, bar and complimentary onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Alice Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing