We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, cramped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Tiny cramped bathrooms, small sink, little countertop space, low water pressure in shower. The beds were too short. The breakfast buffet was only good. They have tried to blend in with the surrounding desert environment, which works, but the rooms need to be updated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

746 - 752 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed overnight for quick stopover when we got in late.Found the place on wotif and got a good rate. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet.We ate at the hotel restaraunt where the food and service was quite good. My son liked the great wi fi for his ipod. The pool looked great, but we didn't get time.

Room Tip: Might want to stay on the ground floor if you have heavy bags. And if road noise a problem, rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra3782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This place definitely needs a restyling. The building we were in felt like a prison with a long hallway... I can take up two heavy suitcases to the first floor, but I wonder how other (older) people manage that without an elevator. The girl at the reception was as cold as ice. We were supposed to return to Chifley after our road trip, but eventually had a much better stay at Quest.

Positive aspects: the town is just a five minute walk away. There is a small shop near the reception. WiFi is free and worked fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LCH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed here two nights - one before our Uluru tour and one after. It was great for what we needed it to be. We ate at the restaurant both nights since we couldn't be bothered to go out with early mornings looming, and the food was nice. The rooms were large and clean and comfortable. It's a good spot for a quick stopover, probably one of the nicer options in Alice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoubleAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent one night here on our way to Ayers Rock and were satisfied with the comfort of our room.

The hotel has a very nice pool area and generally the grounds are quite attractive and well maintained.

We ate at the hotel restaurant (Barra on Todd) and our meals were very good.

One annoying issue is that the hotel's wifi system does not work with North American Apple products, like my iPad. The staff at the front desk openly admitted that the problem is with their wifi system, and not with the iPad, as my inability to connect apparently happens all the time.

I'd probably stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed one night passing through Alice. Was given an upgrade to a superior room. Lovely big room, tastefully furnished, good comfortable bed, large bathroom, very quiet. A bit of a trek from the reception desk with two large suitcases, no help offered and room on second floor with no lift. Hotel has a good sized swimming pool and an excellent restaurant. Breakfast was good, plenty of hot and cold dishes. Free wifi. Just a 10 minute walk from hotel to the centre of town and shopping area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRENTONIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssitantGMChifleyAS, Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hi JanetRob,

Thank you for your review of Chifley Alice Springs.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Australia.

Once again, thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Scott Healey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We spent one night here en route to Ayres Rock. Our room was OK. Large and clean but felt a bit dark. Loved the pool area and appreciated the free transfer into Alice so we only had a one way walk back in the heat. The restaurant was nice, food good too, but it was really busy and we had to wait ages for it. Wouldn't necessarily pick up on this as we weren't in a hurry but it got annoying as the evening went by and others who came in after us, got theirs. We hadn't ordered anything which should have taken so long and eventually chased progress on our meal with the 'rushed off his feet' waiter who immediately delivered it, albeit lukewarm so suspect it had been forgotten. Reception were helpful and very professional. Overall a nice enough hotel for our one night stopover.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodhotelsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssitantGMChifleyAS, Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hi goodhotesonly,

Thank you for your review of Chifley Alice Springs and your feedback about your dinner in Barra on Todd.

I have passed on your comments to the Food & Beverage Manager who wished to pass on his apologies.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable overall stay with us and once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Scott Healey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,016 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Alice Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Alice Springs Resort

Address: 34 Stott Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range: $82 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Alice Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Alice Springs Resort combines efficient and friendly outback service with modern, comfortable facilities. Low rise architecture and lush native landscaping contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this Resort situated on the Todd River, five minutes from the town centre. The 4.5 star Mercure Alice Springs Resort has 139 guest rooms and hotel facilities include 24 hour reception, free WiFi, three multi purpose function rooms, guest laundry, restaurant, bar and complimentary onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Alice Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing