We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent one night here on our way to Ayers Rock and were satisfied with the comfort of our room.

The hotel has a very nice pool area and generally the grounds are quite attractive and well maintained.

We ate at the hotel restaurant (Barra on Todd) and our meals were very good.

One annoying issue is that the hotel's wifi system does not work with North American Apple products, like my iPad. The staff at the front desk openly admitted that the problem is with their wifi system, and not with the iPad, as my inability to connect apparently happens all the time.

I'd probably stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed one night passing through Alice. Was given an upgrade to a superior room. Lovely big room, tastefully furnished, good comfortable bed, large bathroom, very quiet. A bit of a trek from the reception desk with two large suitcases, no help offered and room on second floor with no lift. Hotel has a good sized swimming pool and an excellent restaurant. Breakfast was good, plenty of hot and cold dishes. Free wifi. Just a 10 minute walk from hotel to the centre of town and shopping area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRENTONIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssitantGMChifleyAS, Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hi JanetRob,

Thank you for your review of Chifley Alice Springs.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Australia.

Once again, thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Scott Healey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We spent one night here en route to Ayres Rock. Our room was OK. Large and clean but felt a bit dark. Loved the pool area and appreciated the free transfer into Alice so we only had a one way walk back in the heat. The restaurant was nice, food good too, but it was really busy and we had to wait ages for it. Wouldn't necessarily pick up on this as we weren't in a hurry but it got annoying as the evening went by and others who came in after us, got theirs. We hadn't ordered anything which should have taken so long and eventually chased progress on our meal with the 'rushed off his feet' waiter who immediately delivered it, albeit lukewarm so suspect it had been forgotten. Reception were helpful and very professional. Overall a nice enough hotel for our one night stopover.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodhotelsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssitantGMChifleyAS, Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Hi goodhotesonly,

Thank you for your review of Chifley Alice Springs and your feedback about your dinner in Barra on Todd.

I have passed on your comments to the Food & Beverage Manager who wished to pass on his apologies.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable overall stay with us and once again, thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Scott Healey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were booked into here by a tour company and we upgraded to a deluxe room. It was a long trek to the room, with no offer of assistance at check-in or check-out, despite our piles of luggage. the room was first class; modern, clean, well equipped, and with a balcony and nice view.
Food from room service was ordinary.
However... having requested an alarm call to support an early get away, it was a miracle that we woke up at 5.15 am, half an hour after the supposed alarm call, half an hour before the actual alarm call was received (an hour late), and with just about enough time to rush about and meet our tour only 10 mins late! This would have been annoying enough were it not coupled with the fact that the kettle in the (deluxe) room was broken and we had to leave without a cup of tea, let alone breakfast! I know what you may be thinking, and, yes, I clearly repeated the time of the call as both 4.45 and quarter to 5 am, and it just so happened that our own alarm didn't function also. Not a happy camper!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacknDad-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssitantGMChifleyAS, Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Hi JacknDad-on-tour,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at Chifley Alice Springs.

I do apologise about missing your requested wake up call. We did experience issues with the computer system that ran the wake up calls which has since been fixed. I understand the impact this would have had on your stay and we have changed some of our procedures as a result.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Australia.

Kind regards,
Scott Healey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Overall a very good option for staying in Alice Springs.
No lift to First floor Rooms - made moving luggage very hard work in very hot conditions.
Staff were very welcoming and helpful with our various requests including luggaga storage whilst taking a side trip to Ayers Rock.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank danielBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssitantGMChifleyAS, Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Hi danielBolton,

Thank you very much for your review of your time at Chifley Alice Springs.

I am pleased you enjoyed your side trip out to Ayers Rock while you were here - such a great place to visit.

We do have a luggage lift to assist with bags to the first floor and the reception staff are always able to assist also.

Once again, thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Scott Healey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

A beautiful clean and spacious room.
The front desk staff were extremely helpful and cheerful upon our arrival.
Room was clean and had everything we needed.
After a few days in a camper van it was nice to have a big shower and a big bed!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the best room, not sure of the name... extra $25 definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssitantGMChifleyAS, Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Hi Deanmanwaring001,

Thank you for your kind review of Chifley Alice Springs.

I am glad you had a relaxing stay after your camper van trip and pleased the reception team were helpful and cheerful during your stay.

Enjoy the rest of your travels and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Scott Healey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed for two night in a River Gum Room. Very nice room with good bath/shower room.
Dinner menu varied and food was good but not great.
Breakfast buffet very good though with fresh fruit and a good selection of warm food on the buffet.
Checkout time is 10am which we found unrealistic as breakfast is served up to 10am - managed to get a free extension until 11.00 am though. All staff very polite and obliging despite a minor mix up with our booking details.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justroving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AssitantGMChifleyAS, Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi Justroving,

Thank you for your review of Chifley Alice Springs and it sounds like you had a great stay with us.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Australia and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
Scott Healey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Alice Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Alice Springs Resort

Address: 34 Stott Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range: $84 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Alice Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Alice Springs Resort combines efficient and friendly outback service with modern, comfortable facilities. Low rise architecture and lush native landscaping contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this Resort situated on the Todd River, five minutes from the town centre. The 4.5 star Mercure Alice Springs Resort has 139 guest rooms and hotel facilities include 24 hour reception, free WiFi, three multi purpose function rooms, guest laundry, restaurant, bar and complimentary onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Alice Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing