We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at the Chifley in November, 2013 for one night. The facility is a little dated, but it was very clean and the service staff was excellent. Our room was a little small and it had an odd "window wall" as the only entry and exit into the room. Odd, but not objectionable. The room was clean and pretty well appointed and we had adequate room. It did take a while to figure where the light switches were.


We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but we did have drinks from the bar. The restaurant and bar area is very nice and adjoins the pool.

The hotel provides free wifi, but we didn't have reception in our room and had to log on in the hotel lobby.

The hotel is well-situated and as we had a car, we had no problem getting around town.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChifleyASP, Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Roger W,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Chifley Alice Springs.

I am glad you found the room clean and received excellent service from the staff - I have passed your comments on to everyone.

We are constantly reviewing our wifi offering and I have asked our service provider to look into the issue you have raised.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Scott Healey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our Australia tour.

The pool area is nice and there is a good restaurant on site. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice.

Wifi was free both in the reception area and in the rooms.

The Chifley is located a little way out of the town centre, which is probably a good thing. It can be easily reached on foot, though.

It was really cold in the corridors leading to the rooms thanks to air conditioning on overdrive!

The rooms themselves were clean, comfortable and plenty big enough for us. I'd have no problem recommending this hotel if you're visiting Alice Springs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vigo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChifleyASP, Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Vigo63,

Thank you for your review and I hope you are enjoying your Australian tour.

I am pleased to read your positive comments about your stay. We have had some hot weather of late so the cool corridors are a welcome relief for people returning after a long day of tours or sightseeing.

Once again, thank you for your review and safe travels for the rest of your trip.

Kind regards,
Scott Healey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed there for four nights and found the accommodation comfortable and quiet. As other reviewers have said the housekeeping could be improved upon but other than that the staff were really lovely...especially on reception. Plenty to eat for breakfast but restaurant fairly expensive and service was very slow. Pool area for snax lovely. Convenient for all the nearby attractions. Would happily stay there again,but can't imagine taking too many trips to Alice...bit of a once in a lifetime place to go. Loved the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissiemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChifleyASP, Front Office Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Chrissiemel,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your once in a lifetime trip. Your comments have been reviewed by the Housekeeping and Food & Beverage teams and we will endeavour to ensure that we are constantly improving.

Kind regards,

Kirsten Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The rooms in our wing - at the front - were comfortable and everything worked well. The meals were fine and you could ask to be beside the pool, instead of in the dining room and we enjoyed that. Signing up for breakfast on arrival is a bit of a trick unless you are certain you want the full cooked breakfast every day. There are cheaper options if a "continental+ breakfast will do. I could not get the free wi-fi connection to work in our room and it seems that is a frequent problem.The other system in the lobby worked better - for some. The staff were helpful and courteous - and from a range of countries.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the front wing would seem to be the best option.. No special outlook but bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussietraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChifleyASP, Front Office Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Aussietraveller36,

We are always happy to hear when our guests have had a great stay with us. Thank you very much for leaving feedback. I am also glad you enjoyed your dinner poolside, it is a beautiful atmosphere.

The breakfast deal we offer at the moment on check in is definitely not a trick, but a $10 discount on the cost of full buffet breakfast. This makes it cheaper than continental breakfast and you can have your choice of all the delicious food on offer.

You will be pleased to hear that the free Wi-Fi problem has been solved! We transitioned from having individual codes to one code for the whole resort. This has made things much simpler, but like all things technical, there were some kinks that needed to be ironed out.
We hope you are able to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,
Kirsten Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel seems to be suffering from a lack of consistency in the housekeeping department. Our room was not ready for check-in at 2:00 and when we did get our room we were missing towels, clean bed linens and the floor had not been vacuumed. On return from our outback tour and a later check in it seems housekeeping still couldn't manage to ready a room properly missing towels and bathroom amenities. The front desk staff seem to do their best but "sorry, we are busy" became a repetitive phrase.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank exploringduo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChifleyASP, Front Office Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Exploringduo J

Thank you for your feedback again. I was the manager who spoke with you in length on your departure. I am very sorry that you had this experience. We do our very best to have all rooms ready for guests’ arrival at 2pm, however we are at the mercy of all guests leaving by the departure time of 10am and this often does not happen.

The housekeeping manager and I have had a long discussion about your experience and how we can improve both our departments and ensure that this does not occur again. So thank you for your feedback, it keeps us dynamic and constantly striving to improve our services.
I hope you have the chance to come back and see the positive changes we have implemented.

Kind regards,
Kirsten Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We recently stayed here twice in four days. The standard of room differed greatly on both occasions and they were both located in annexes to the main hotel which made the free Wi-Fi a bit splashy. Both rooms were large but there locations made you feel a bit of an outcast. we found a dirty towel hanging behind the bathroom door in one of the rooms - ugh! The pool is very nicely laid out and full of atmosphere. Breakfast is expensive but good, we took a 10 minute walk into town for our other meals. The staff are very obliging, confirming our further travel arrangements quickly.

Room Tip: I didn't see a lift so if you have mobility problems it would be best to request a room downstai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChifleyASP, Front Office Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Golfman2
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback from your recent stay. Your comfort and experience at our resort is so important to us. The housekeeping manager has reviewed your comments and will use this to improve our room serving standards.
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere around the poolside, it is a great place to be in summer.
Our resort is very spacious and all of the rooms are set in garden areas away from the main reception / restaurant area.
I hope you are able to come back and visit us again and try our restaurant for lunch or dinner. Our signature barramundi dishes are to die for!
Kind regards,
Kirsten Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I can recommend this hotel in Alice Springs. Yes it may seem pricey to a European, but everything is imported here.
My family of 4 really enjoyed our overnight stay. This has friendly, well managed and attentive staff, who keep the hotel clean; with an immaculate pool and really great dining.
We did have a problem with our room a/c, which was promptly sorted out by switching to another room. The modern bathroom had a separate shower cubicle, rather than over-the-bath, with a mixer head (often it is 2 separate taps).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lydgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChifleyASP, Front Office Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear lydgett,

Thank you so much for recommending the Chifley Alice Springs Resort. Your comfort is our main priority, so I am very pleased that any issues were resolved promptly.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back when you are next in Central Australia.

Kind regards,

Kirsten Clarke
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,040 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Alice Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Alice Springs Resort

Address: 34 Stott Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range: $80 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Alice Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Alice Springs Resort combines efficient and friendly outback service with modern, comfortable facilities. Low rise architecture and lush native landscaping contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this Resort situated on the Todd River, five minutes from the town centre. The 4.5 star Mercure Alice Springs Resort has 139 guest rooms and hotel facilities include 24 hour reception, free WiFi, three multi purpose function rooms, guest laundry, restaurant, bar and complimentary onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Alice Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing