We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the restaurant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chifley Alice Springs Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Try the restaurant!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed here for one night. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was a good size. One big negative: the bathroom floor and shower area were covered with hairs. The dinner we had at the restaurant was delicious and I highly recommend dining there but they seemed understaffed. We made a booking but had to wait 20 minutes while they cleaned and set up the table.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluesilverdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    476
    214
    56
    30
See reviews for
144
521
88
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstone, Renfewshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place was booked on a whim and we really got lucky. A big room, comfy bed and super friendly staff. We weren´t as impressed by the food as some, but the service was great and the prices reasonable. Happy families splashing in the pool, so something for everyone. A great value hotel, nice facilities and a very short walk from the centre of Alice.

Room Tip: Spread out on wings that are accommodation units with a separate reception and dining/leisure unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelalot010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My colleague and I stayed at the Chifley recently. the Staff are amazing !!!!!!!!!!! So friendly, helpful & sooooo professional especially in the restaurant. We really enjoyed the food - Dinner menu was varied, very well presented & very YUMMY !!!! Instead of having one main each, every night, we HAD to order (hahaha) 7 to 8 entrees as we wanted to enjoy all the wonderful flavours. Our rooms were great! Always lovely and clean and accessories absolutely beautiful. We had a minor problem with one member of staff in the reception area. This matter was dealt with efficiently & promptly & personally by the Manager. We were extremely impressed! We are planning to return again in a few months during Summer, so we can TRY OUT THE POOL !!!!!!!!!!! and of course the Pool Bar.
To the Staff See you all soon !!!!!!!!!!!!! Marjorie

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Second time I have stayed at the Chifley and enjoyed both times. Stayed here for the Ingkerreke MTB Race; great place to stay for an event. Staff are friendly, rooms are a good size and very clean (comfy beds) and it is well positioned with an easy walk into town. Meals are excellent and can be had out by the pool. The Foyer was being refurbished, however the Bar area is usually a great place to meet people and have a few drinks. Most of the major tour companies do pick-ups from the Chifley.

Room Tip: Front rooms are on the highway, but not too noisy. Back rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djmayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I normally don't fill these forms out however, my great stay at the Chifley in Alice promoted me to give credit where due. I was in Alice for the Ingkerreke MTB race. some of my highlights of the stay: Comfy bed, good showers, good food at reasonable pricing. I must also make a special mention of the staff; very helpful and hospitable. I am planning on attending the race next year if i can get a leave pass. I know where i will be staying again; The Chifley.

Room Tip: I had my room in Palm Grove
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

What an outstanding restaurant! Struggled to finally decide what to order because there were so many choices! There were 4 of us and every single meal was fantastic! The couple sitting at the table next to us said they had eaten there for the past 3 nights and commented that every meal had been amazing! Wow - what a gem of a restaurant!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Hoped to find a spot that sparkled just a bit. While clean and staffed by a nice team, my shoulders nonetheless dropped just a little as I walked down a 'cold' corridor to my room. It's nice though and I had no major issues.
Lovely welcome at reception, nice clean rooms with big comfy bed and a nice family restaurant (with big menu and a pretty good wine list) albeit rushed and prepared by a quick capable cook though not a chef. Tasty though.
So ... worth a stay over if you are looking for somewhere homely, comfy though not special.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tastytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley Alice Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Alice Springs Resort

Property: Chifley Alice Springs Resort
Address: 34 Stott Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chifley Alice Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chifley Alice Springs Resort combines efficient and friendly outback service with modern, comfortable facilities. Low rise architecture and lush green lawns contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this award-winning resort, situated on the banks of the famous Todd River with its magnificent river red gums. Guests can relax in the stylish surroundings and enjoy a sumptuous full buffet breakfast, a la carte lunches, and contemporary cuisine dinners at the Barra on Todd Restaurant. Located adjacent to the restaurant, the Barra Bar offers guests the opportunity to surf the Internet while enjoying a drink from the fine selection of beers, wines, and cocktails. The 4.5 Star resort has 139 guest rooms and hotels facilities include 24 hour reception, FREE WiFi resort-wide, swimming pool, cardio room, free town shuttle, guest laundry, restaurant, bar and complimentary onsite parking. The hotel is only a five minute walk away from the town's bustling cultural, shopping and business centre. It is a convenient pick up point for the many local sightseeing tours available in and around Alice Springs, making Chifley Alice Springs Resort the perfect base for exploring the Outback attractions in and around the town. Chifley Alice Springs Resort is the perfect venue with well equipped with modern conference and meeting facilities for business events, functions, conferences, launches, weddings & cocktail parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chifley Alice Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing