We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed for two nights in a deluxe room. After reading the reviews about cleanliness of rooms I was a bit disappointed.
I don't like finding hairs in the bath tub or mould on the grout in the shower. I was easily able to wipe some of the mould off with a tissue so some proper cleaning would have taken care of that issue. Lifting up the cushions on the couch I found a used tissue... but it was also clear that no one vacuums under the cushions very often!
The clock/radio had the incorrect time for the 2 days we were there...the time couldn't be set so if you had needed to set the alarm it was impossible.
Had one dinner at the Barra on Todd restaurant...it was expensive and the food average. As someone else mentioned, not many waiting staff. The restaurant was full and only two staff serving so it was impossible to order a second drink without going directly to the bar.
Would probably stay elsewhere next time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sajay52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    511
    221
    57
    33
See reviews for
153
558
95
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night. We had a room on the ground floor with floor to ceiling windows that overlooked the garden. The room was quiet, large and the king size bed very comfortable. The air-conditioner was fairly quiet and worked well. The bathroom was small and not to the standard you would expect at a Chifley.

Unfortunately, although the room was clean there was an extremely unpleasant odor outside in the corridor.

The breakfast buffet was fairly average.

We would possibly consider staying here again for a night if the price was reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silver999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed two nights here on a good package that we found on the hotel's own web site (rather than via all the Trip Advisor pop up suggestions). It's literally a few minutes walk from the town centre across the Todd River that was dry when we were there. The room was large and the restaurant offered good priced food that we took advantage of. Breakfast was included in our package.

As a bonus the hotel offered free WiFi - a concept that Australia still seems to be getting its mind around!

Alice has many attractions in and around town that you really should see such as the Classroom of the Air, The Flying Doctor Museum, the Ghan Museum. Nearby is the amazing Alice Springs Desert Park and a short drive away are the MacDonnell Ranges and Simpson's Gap that is close. If you don't have a car then it's worth a 24 hour hire to get to see all these in one 'hit'. Thrifty has a centre in town and you should be able to get something reasonable for around £60 incl - cheaper than taxis.

Room Tip: First floor is better but be aware that there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiggerAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I arrived a bit early and my room wasn't ready. I was able to check-in then go off exploring for a while. So far so good. I got back and they couldn't find my reservation, then they said they'd given my room to someone else, then they said i was booked in for a week hence. This all took some time and it still wasn't sorted so i said I'd go and sit down while they fixed. They didn't do a thing until I went back to the desk. A bit more faffing around and I was given a room - an upgrade for the hassle. I think the cheaper rooms are in the centre of the complex. The room was very large, much larger than I needed .... and very noisy from passing traffic.
When I went to check out, they couldn't find my booking! More faffing around. I was asked if I was with a tour group - no, so paying myself, although I was waiting to start a tour. Here I made "my" mistake - I'd forgotten thet I'd pre-paid (most places not charging beforehand, just taking your creditcard details). They said they'd reduce the rate because of the hassles.
Later when I realised i'd paid twice and got home from the terrific tour I went on (3 cheers for Outback Spirit) I contacted Chifley - three emails before i got a response. I asked for a refund because I'd paid twice, told them the story of all the hassles I'd had, and suggested they should refund the original $184 rather than the $121 I'd paid on the spot. They refunded the $121. So I paid top dollar, got 'upgraded' to a noisy room, didn't get the reduction offered and had way too much hassle.
The pool looked good but i didn't use it.
I had dinner there. food was OK, nothing out of the ordinary, not cheap.
Breakfast was OK but I have seen better selections, especially for the cost of the place.
When staying in Alice, you'd have to be better off on the city side of the Todd.

Room Tip: Another location, on the other side of the Todd. At the Chifley, "not" fronting Stott Terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MobileEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is only five minutes walk from the centre of the town. Everything was spot on from the reception and check in to the room and restaurant. Like most Aussie hotels we experienced the communal areas did not do justice to the rooms so do not be put off by the hallways etc. Recommend the restaurant - great food and service

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigalEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramallah, Palestinian Territories
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This motel has nice colourful rooms and wonderful service. All the staff I met were really friendly and helpful. The restaurant was fantastic and even though some staff were inexperienced, they were very nice about it. I liked the inviting pool and the quiet location just a short walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabby b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I booked over the phone to stay here 20/11/12 for one night. The lady I spoke on the fun was just fantastic. I told her last time I stayed here breakfast was inlcuded. She informed me that this deal had finished and as a result I was given an upgrade from a superior room to a deluxe. This is my second stay here and once again it was pleasant and the staff here are friendly and helpful. They make check in/out very easy and quick. The only issue I had was the Air Con seemed to take a long time to cool the room down. Not 100% sure if it was a mechnical or just due to the fact it was a very hot day and room had been closed up for a while. But apart from that it was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisMick7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
973 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Alice Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Alice Springs Resort

Property: Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Address: 34 Stott Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Alice Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Alice Springs Resort combines efficient and friendly outback service with modern, comfortable facilities. Low rise architecture and lush native landscaping contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this Resort situated on the Todd River, five minutes from the town centre. The 4.5 star Mercure Alice Springs Resort has 139 guest rooms and hotel facilities include 24 hour reception, free WiFi, three multi purpose function rooms, guest laundry, restaurant, bar and complimentary onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Alice Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing