We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chifley Alice Springs Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A very good experience”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was a very good hotel .It was well priced,very close to the town centre.The staff were friendly and the rooms were clean with comfortable beds. I did'nt get a chance to try the restauraunt, but the menu looked very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzer58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    498
    218
    56
    30
See reviews for
149
545
93
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sale
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We just had 2 nights at the Chifley. One in a superior room and came back a week later and stayed in a delux room. We had the best nights sleep here. The beds are so comfortable - especially the delux room. We are light sleepers, so quiet rooms are bliss for us. Everything was just fantastic. It was like an oasis in the desert. The surrounding gardens were lovely and green. Palms were great. The restaurant Barra on the Todd was lovely. The food was excellent. Service was great. We got in late the 2nd night we stayed and the restaurant was full. They took down our room number and called us in our room when a table was free. Great service. We had the best experience and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The delux rooms are fantastic. They have a bigger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Traveling to Broome from Sydney we thought we would treat ourselves to some comfortable accommodation after a couple of long days on the road. Our requirements were a king bed, good shower and decent food; we were not disappointed.

Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Bathroom products were of a good quality and very welcome, so too was the high pressure shower.

The swimming pool with swim up pool looked sooo inviting but unfortunately we arrived a little too late to use. Instead we had drinks beside the pool and then enjoyed a quality meal at the restaurant where variety of choice was not an issue and prices not too steep. Special acknowledgment to the lady maitre d, French female and male wait staff (both far haired). Their service was flawless on two very busy nights.

Our stay was a welcome couple of days out of the car and I would have rated them better if it were not for the second rate check in service we received and some front office staff not acknowledging guests when they walked through the door. Even a smile would have helped rather than the top of their heads. In saying this though the young girl who checked us out on the Friday night was fantastic.

If we ever travel back to East Coast via Alice Springs we will be sure to stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Chiffley a few times in Alice springs, the rooms are always lovely and clean and all you need.

However on a recent stay I paid for buffet breakfast being $24 it was so understaffed we went in at 7:45 and there was not one clean table to sit on and not very busy, we had to clear our own table from dirty plates and it wasn't wiped down, and had to set our table, I expect to have a clean set table when paying for breakfast and at a resort, my mum asked for poached eggs when she got then she could not eat them as they still had water in them, the food is NOT up to scratch and worth the money. They need
To pick up there game.

Working in resort industry I would ussually go to a manager or
Supervisor to pass on my feedback however being so under staffed this was not possible.

However this is the only bad experience I have ever had, I had a
Wonderful girl called Tara check me
In who has a lovely positive personality and was professional.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isitsohard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed here for one night in August prior to walking the Larapinta Trail.

I didn't choose the Chifley - it was the hotel I was booked into as part of my Larapinta Trail package. In fact when I looked in Trip Advisor for a place to stay another night at the end of the Larapinta I chose the Crowne Plaza based on reviews. In hindsight I was happier with the Chifley than Crowne Plaza.

The room I had contained two double beds, it was clean and spacious. It had a small verandah but there was no view as such.

The service at reception was friendly, prompt and courteous. There was an issue with my initial room - a fuse seemed to have blown and power points and a light seemed not to be working. No problem, I was immediately and courteously given another room rather than wait for someone to fix the fault.

The general layout of the grounds was pleasant and tody.

Food in the restaurant in the evening was fine and with a good wine list. Not overly exciting food but fine. Breakfast was a bit above average in terms of its offerrings.

A BIG bonus with this hotel over places like the Crowne and the Casion is its proximity to town. It really is an easy 5 minute walk. To get to town from the Crowne or Casino is a stiff 15 minute walk (and I am a long distance walker) or abouyt a $7-8 cab ride.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyPaul99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at the Chifley on 2 separate nights and were very happy with both the rooms, restaurant and service. We requested a quiet room and were given a complimentary upgrade to the deluxe room which was just lovely - clean , spacious and comfortable, with a balcony overlooking the river. The hotel restaurant (Barra on Todd), whilst obviously not the cheapest in town, was very good . The food was excellent and the portions very generous - even for us hungry hikers! I'd recommend the barramundi, it comes prepared in a dozen different ways and doesn't have the " watery" taste that barra can sometimes have.
The ladies on recepion ( Tara and Ange) were also very helpful with any enquiries we made.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the highway, it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlidums1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChifleyASP, Sales and Marketing Manager at Chifley Alice Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear mlidums1,
Thank you so much for your feedback! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Chifley Alice Springs Resort, and are so pleased that it was such a positive one.

The signature barramundi dishes at our Barra on Todd Restaurant are always popular with guests and locals alike, and we’re delighted that you enjoyed your selection!

We look forward to having you with us again when you are next in Alice Springs, and wish you safe and happy travels.

Best regards,
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yulara, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a few times as I come into Alice every now and then,I was greeted by Tara upon arrival at the Hotel very professional and an asset to this establishment.
I have stayed in the superior rooms previously which are fantastic huge rooms and kings beds but this time I decided to treat myself and stay in the deluxe room instead, the rooms are massive,king beds, balcony overlooking the Todd river & a bath as well.
That night we had dinner at the "Barra on Todd" restaurant which is part of the Hotel the barramundi was just incredible try the "Mustard Parmesan Barra" it has so much flavour and a credit to the chef.Hanna provided beautiful service while dining there.
Out of all the places I have stayed in Alice this is the best and most affordable the staff are incredible and welcoming and it is close to all facilities and town.
The Manager of the hotel must very proud to be running a hotel like this and with the staff they have employed here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grara34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChifleyASP, Sales and Marketing Manager at Chifley Alice Springs Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear grara34,
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback – and such wonderful feedback, at that! We are truly delighted that you have enjoyed so many aspects of your experience with us.

We highly value our excellent staff, who are committed to providing a high standard of service and hospitality for our guests... I have shared your generous comments with those you have mentioned, as well. Our chefs are delighted to know how much you enjoyed one of their signature barramundi dishes!

We look forward to welcoming you again when you are next in Alice Springs!

Warmest regards,
Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
922 reviews
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley Alice Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Alice Springs Resort

Property: Chifley Alice Springs Resort
Address: 34 Stott Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chifley Alice Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chifley Alice Springs Resort combines efficient and friendly outback service with modern, comfortable facilities. Low rise architecture and lush green lawns contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this award-winning resort, situated on the banks of the famous Todd River with its magnificent river red gums. Guests can relax in the stylish surroundings and enjoy a sumptuous full buffet breakfast, a la carte lunches, and contemporary cuisine dinners at the Barra on Todd Restaurant. Located adjacent to the restaurant, the Barra Bar offers guests the opportunity to surf the Internet while enjoying a drink from the fine selection of beers, wines, and cocktails. The 4.5 Star resort has 139 guest rooms and hotels facilities include 24 hour reception, FREE WiFi resort-wide, swimming pool, cardio room, free town shuttle, guest laundry, restaurant, bar and complimentary onsite parking. The hotel is only a five minute walk away from the town's bustling cultural, shopping and business centre. It is a convenient pick up point for the many local sightseeing tours available in and around Alice Springs, making Chifley Alice Springs Resort the perfect base for exploring the Outback attractions in and around the town. Chifley Alice Springs Resort is the perfect venue with well equipped with modern conference and meeting facilities for business events, functions, conferences, launches, weddings & cocktail parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chifley Alice Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing