We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great every time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I travel to Alice Springs a number of times a year and can say that the Chifley always provides friendly, good service and is a very clean and well maintained resort. The food is excellent and rooms are very comfortable. I have stayed at the resort 5 times over the last year and find this consistently to be the case (rare for this part of the world...). Their location is quiet and also convenient for shopping and sight seeing.

Room Tip: Go for a 'Superior room' - it is worth the few extra dollars (more roomy and better location...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Alice Springs Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

Positives: Cleanliness of rooms- fantastic and should be commended.
Negatives: Hotel offers 'in room wi-fi', sounds good, need to have PC with you (yes was discussed and not clarified). Available computer in hotel is archaic, no usb ports, $2 per 15 mins, and dont inform you no usb port before throwing coin into slot - really 41/2 star?? athe internet service is same as roadhouses to Uluru?? Where is a media hub for guests?
Stayed 1 night, left for tour 1 night, and back in again. Sole women with child - want a ground floor room. SIMPLE. And not activating card after 24 hr train, 2 day bush and back down stairs to activate card - not funny Polly!
Second night stayed after tour - waited 1hr on waitlist for dinner - told 1/2hour - that happens, sometimes people eat slowly. Wasnt allowed to take kids dessert to room - A 6 year old has got up at 5.20 am walked 7.5km around Olgas without complaint, spent 41/2 hours on a bus, waited an hour for dinner, and cant take a bowl of icecream to bed? Dont think so!
Day leaving - Though tonightt was first sleep in until 8am, for 4 days, woken up by fire alarm at 6 am, vacated room, waited near reception, went for coffee in restuarant - needed to explain to waitress, only coffee and juice , all guests chatting and connecting (not complaining) came back for buffett brekki to be informed not part of room booking - ok, I was unaware thought had booked brevkie both days, didnt do first day because tour picked us up at 6am, second day if no fire alarm no problem if at 8 am informed was not intitled. But, really after waking us, walking though sprinklers and standing in the cold for half an hour, cant provide breakfast? Are you mad? What has this publicitly cost you??

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel was expensive but very clean with friendly staff and an amazingly good restaurant. It was a very pleasant place to relax after all the trekking around the outback we had done.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jodie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChifleyASP, Sales and Marketing Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Jodie V,
Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us! We're so pleased that you found the Chifley Alice Springs a relaxing and welcome respite from your outback travels.

We look forward to having you with us again when you are next in Alice Springs, and meanwhile wish you safe and happy travels!

Warm records,
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I was given an upgrade (without asking!) to a room with stunning views of the MacDonnell Ranges - it was like waking up in a Namatjira painting each morning.

My room was clean and spacious. It contained everything I could need for a short business trip. Temperatures during my stay went down down to minus two degrees celcius, but I was warm and comfortable.

Check-in was quietly courteous and efficient; room service was very prompt. The room service menu was a little limited, but well priced. I had lunch at the Barra on Todd, the hotel's restaurant, where the barramundi (a specialty) was very good .

The hotel is a short walk across the Todd River to town, over the bridge where much of the movie Samson and Delilah was filmed.

Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica6536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChifleyASP, Sales and Marketing Manager at Mercure Alice Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Erica6536,
We so greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback and the time you’ve taken to share it! It’s particularly pleasing for us to know that we are living up to our high standards of service and hospitality for our guests.

I’m delighted to know that you enjoyed our local favourite, Barra on Todd – we pride ourselves on our outstanding selection of barramundi dishes and distinctive array of cuisines.

We look forward to welcoming you here again soon, for business or leisure, and wish you all the best in your travels.

Warm regards,
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My daughter and I spent two nights at the Crowne Plaza before our recent trip to Uluru etc, and then two nights at the Chifley afterwards so I feel I can give a good comparison. In every way, the Chifley was far better. Reception was perhaps less imposing, but lighter, brighter and more welcoming. Our room and bathroom were far larger, cleaner and more modern. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was free wi-fi in the room for the whole stay - even for three separate devices all at once, and it was fast and worked like a dream. And as for breakfast, the Chifley was far superior. Hot food was actually hot, the eggs were not made out of a packet mix. There was plenty of parking and the restaurant was great for dinner. There is a bar for a pre-dinner drink or coffee during the day.Although the Crowne Plaza will include a cappuccino for free with brekfast, the Chifley made me a great coffee and I was saving so much on the room rate I didn't mind paying for it. And don't forget that it takes 15 minues to walk from CP to town but only 5 mins from the Chifley. I will never stay at the Crowne Plaza in Alice Springs again after finding this gem of a hotel!

Room Tip: As for the wing closest to the bridge into town - I think it was Gum Tree wing
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KThang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear KThang,
We are so pleased that you had such a fantastic experience with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback – it’s great for us to know that we are exceeding guests’ expectations, as we always strive to do.

Our free WiFi is terrific and I’m so glad you put it to good use! I agree that our location is indeed excellent – we have the best of both worlds, as we’re far enough from town to provide peace and quiet but close enough to walk there in just five minutes! Our Rivergum Court offers a lovely outlook to the Todd River and bridge, as well.

From your lovely comments it looks like we’ll see you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Wishing you safe and happy travels.

Warm regards,
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

After staying at a different Alice Springs motel for a single night, we were rapt with the Chifley. The rooms were better and the price was lower.
Just across the river from town, we were in a first floor river view room which was clean and spacious. The bed was huge and the bathroom was terrific including a bath as well as a separate shower.
Although we didn't visit the restaurant during our stay, we did make use of the guest laundry which was very convenient after hiking around Central Australia for much of the previous week.
I will book there again on future visits to the Alice.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djw3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear djw3355,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback – we’re just as rapt that you enjoyed your stay with us! It looks like the bath provided a welcome soak after your hiking adventures, and we’re always happy to provide that bit of luxury. I’m glad you put our guest laundry to good use, as well...not only is it handy, it also offers lovely views of our Gumtree Lawns.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Chifley when you’re next in the beautiful Alice...and please put a visit to our wonderful Barra on Todd Restaurant on your must-do list! It’s a favourite for locals as well as guests.

Happy travels!

Warm regards,
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We spent four nights at the Chifley Alice Springs. We booked it online after checking a number of alternatives. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was an excellent size with probably the biggest, and certainly most comfortable, bed I've slept in in quite some time. The room was well-maintained and good quality. The split-system aircon helped us stay as warm as toast on the very cold nights.
Had dinner one night at the restaurant. Great service with the food well prepared and delicious. Also did breakfast which was fairly standard hotel breakfast fare.
The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Amazing how many of the staff were there for the short-term, but their professionalism was never in question.
All up, quite happy with our choice. I'd certainly recommend the Chifley as a great place to stay in the Alice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaylorTheTerror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Dear TaylorTheTerror,
We so greatly appreciate your wonderful feedback and are delighted that you were so happy with your stay! We do pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient service, and I’ll be sure to share your kind words with our hard-working reception team.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We wish you all the best on your next adventure, and look forward to welcoming you at the Chifley again when you next visit Alice Springs.

Warm regards,
Mel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Alice Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Alice Springs Resort

Address: 34 Stott Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range: $88 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mercure Alice Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Alice Springs Resort combines efficient and friendly outback service with modern, comfortable facilities. Low rise architecture and lush native landscaping contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this Resort situated on the Todd River, five minutes from the town centre. The 4.5 star Mercure Alice Springs Resort has 139 guest rooms and hotel facilities include 24 hour reception, free WiFi, three multi purpose function rooms, guest laundry, restaurant, bar and complimentary onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Alice Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing