We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic for the price and the restaurant is terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chifley Alice Springs Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alice Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very basic for the price and the restaurant is terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2008

We booked a Deluxe River Gum for 2 nights, but it was very basic. The best thing about the accommodation over all was the automatic icemaker in the hallway!

The restaurant was pretty bad overall. Slow service, freezing room with no atmosphere and poor food.

We also tried an aboriginal concert nearby for dinner the next night, the food was pretty basic but ok. the concert not up to much at all. (go to one in Queensland if you have the option).

Alice springs overall is a very basic town, not easy to get good food, its easier to self cater for lunches etc and get out and explore. The walk up the hill in Alice springs is nice, good views.

The main reason we went there was to do the balloon trip. It was amazing, great people, wonderful stars, beautiful views and great if unusual breakfast. Worth getting up at 4am.

I would stay here again as there are not many other options, but never, never eat here.

  • Liked — Easy to get to and great ice maker
  • Disliked — food and service in restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lulypockets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    476
    214
    56
    30
See reviews for
144
521
89
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2008

We only stayed at this hotel for 1 night but thought it was pleasant enough but not the most luxurious place ever. I didn't think it was too expensive though so all was good. The room was large, clean and functional. We really liked the swimming pool area and the restaurant where we had a lovely meal. The location was a short walk form the town centre but we quite enjoyed the walk. We didn't go out into the town centre at night time though. I'm not sure what other accommodation is available in Alice Springs but I would probably stay here again.

  • Liked — the food
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLDGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

My husband and I stayed here over xmas 2007 for 4 nights. There was a mix up with the room when we first checked in to the hotel, but staff were apologetic and quickly fixed the problem. Pool bar was closed and I don't actually think that it ever opens- but staff walk around so it was easy enough to order drinks and have them delivered poolside.
The restaurant staff were efficient and friendly but the food was terrible.
We thought the first bad meals were just the chef having a bad night and went another night which proved to be a big mistake. Overpriced- overcooked and undercooked- my suggestion is to eat elsewhere. Overall this is an expensive hotel for what it is - accommodation meals and drinks.

  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tf1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2007

We stayed in the River Gum Court Deluxe Rooms as the Tripadvisor reviews on the other hotels in Alice Springs and the other rooms at Alice Springs Resort had such bad reviews on tripadvisor.

The room was clean but nothing special and over-priced.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ABritAbroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildfiord
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2007

We had a Palm Court room which was a good size, clean, well equipped and comfortable. The pool is very pleasant and eating dinner outside overlooking it is a nice experience. The restaurant food was good but the service must be the slowest and most disorganised anywhere. 40 minutes for two drinks and two soups. No service in bar until went and ordered drinks direct and then only one arrived. 20 minutes to be noticed at dinner and a lifetime before anything appeared - a pity because the hotel is pretty good otherwise even though a bit expensive for what you get.. Its a short 5 minute walk in to the main shopping centre

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank GuildfiordTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

We (family of 4) spent two separate nights in this resort either side of a 5 day red centre tour. Compared with all the other accommodation we stayed at in Australia over the course of 6 weeks it was grossly overpriced - booked through Trailfinders and way above their brochure price which misleadingly quotes a 'from' price of about £69, we were charged £101 for one room for each night - and this was supposed to be an upgrade from the basic Fountain Court room. It was a Palm court Room but there is no evidence of any Palm Court, it overlooks the main road. My husband said it had the 'feel of a penitentiary' which accurately describes it. Dismal painted breeze block corridors.
Bathrom had not been cleaned on our second night there - dirty toilet. The pool swim up bar was closed when we were there which disappointed the kids. After reading reviews I expected something much better than we got. There was barely room to move in our room with two double beds and 4 of us in.
But the main complaint remains the price - by Australian standards this cost at least double what it was worth. We didn't eat there so cannot comment on food. Mixed experience with staff - some were very helpful, others a bit off hand.

  • Liked — convenient location close to town centre
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank condaleeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

Did not have a choice where we stayed as this was part of a tour of the big red centre. Good location as close enough to walk into the couple of main streets which are the small town of Alice.

We were in a large enough room which was clean and tidy - outside rooms could do with some work as it was very plain and bare. We were a group of three adults and one of us slept on a fold away bed which had the thiness matress I have experienced, it was only one night so did not complain - every spring could be felt! Not good. Did opt for breakfast but this was not included and was very expensive for what you got - few staff around (left New Year's Eve) in restaurant and they were disinterested to say the least. However, had a very mixed response in our party from reception staff from incredibly helpful phoning round to locate an open chemist we could obtain medication from through to be completely ignored and the person behind being dealt with first! Overall, passable - cannot understand why it has been so highly rated?

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillygeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
0.9 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#8 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diplomat Alice Springs
Diplomat Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley Alice Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Alice Springs Resort

Property: Chifley Alice Springs Resort
Address: 34 Stott Terrace, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chifley Alice Springs Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chifley Alice Springs Resort combines efficient and friendly outback service with modern, comfortable facilities. Low rise architecture and lush green lawns contribute to the relaxed atmosphere of this award-winning resort, situated on the banks of the famous Todd River with its magnificent river red gums. Guests can relax in the stylish surroundings and enjoy a sumptuous full buffet breakfast, a la carte lunches, and contemporary cuisine dinners at the Barra on Todd Restaurant. Located adjacent to the restaurant, the Barra Bar offers guests the opportunity to surf the Internet while enjoying a drink from the fine selection of beers, wines, and cocktails. The 4.5 Star resort has 139 guest rooms and hotels facilities include 24 hour reception, FREE WiFi resort-wide, swimming pool, cardio room, free town shuttle, guest laundry, restaurant, bar and complimentary onsite parking. The hotel is only a five minute walk away from the town's bustling cultural, shopping and business centre. It is a convenient pick up point for the many local sightseeing tours available in and around Alice Springs, making Chifley Alice Springs Resort the perfect base for exploring the Outback attractions in and around the town. Chifley Alice Springs Resort is the perfect venue with well equipped with modern conference and meeting facilities for business events, functions, conferences, launches, weddings & cocktail parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chifley Alice Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Alice Springs Hotel Alice Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing