We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secure & Serene”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vatu Sanctuary & Homestead
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Secure & Serene”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Having been contracted to work in Alice Springs for 3 months I needed fully self-contained accommodation for the duration. The choice of fully self-contained apartments for less than 6 months was slim pickings until I found Vatu Sanctuary. It was home away from home for 3 months with absolutely everything needed to make my stay most comfortable. Vatu Sanctuary apartments are set in a secure location with beautiful secluded, relaxing gardens, with a pool. The proprietor, Ros, has thought of everything, and I mean everything! I would highly recommend Vatu Sanctuary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatu S, Manager at Vatu Sanctuary & Homestead, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Heather, on behalf of Ros and myself, we would like to thank you for your review. We love to help accommodate professionals like yourself looking for short term accommodation and strive to make everything as simple and relaxing as possible. Your comments let us know that we are doing everything right. Colin L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Vatu sanctuary is a cheerful and welcoming place to stay when visiting Alice or bringing guests to town. The selection of local art and the decor and landscaping is pitch perfect. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to get behind the tourist face of Alice, but also wants to be comfortable and relaxed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatu S, Manager at Vatu Sanctuary & Homestead, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi Alex, on behalf of Ros and myself, thank you for your wonderful review. We strive to provide a place where anyone could be comfortable, from professionals, to the creatively inclined. In surrounding ourselves with art in a relaxed environment and supporting local artists and artisans, we hope all that leave us are rested, recharged and inspired. All the best and hope to see you again. Colin L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We travel to Alice regularly and Vartu is our home away from home. Careful attention to detail and the herbs grown for our use are appreciated.
There is nothing you could want that is not provided with style.

Room Tip: All are of equal standard. All have good beds and linen. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatu S, Manager at Vatu Sanctuary & Homestead, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Jane, from Ros and myself, we appreciate your review. Vatu Sanctuary and Homestead love our returning visitors such as yourselves. We especially cater for the professionals who are looking for that 'something more than home away from home', where they can just put down their bags and get straight into work. It is even exciting that we get visitors who bring their families, knowing they can do their own thing whilst they are off to work. We especially like that you appreciate our herbs, as we strive to add those extra touches... keep an eye out as we expand the herbs we are growing just for you, our lovely visitors... we look forward to your next visit, Colin L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oz
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed in Vatu Sanctuary apartment - Homestead - for 16 weeks whilst working in Alice Springs. Beautifully appointed with personal touches, rose gardens and very private bird attracting outdoor areas. Being in Alice alone, I valued the 100% security and the close proximity to shops and the town - on the bus route. I felt that the apartment and gardens were a Sanctuary and I loved coming home each night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmumpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatu S, Manager at Vatu Sanctuary & Homestead, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi jmumpt, from Ros and myself we thank you for your review. We especially like that you 'loved coming home each night', as we want your stay to feel safe, secure and comfortable. We have many professional visitors who just love 'The Homestead', being very popular for those wanting to stay for months at a time, without having to worry about looking after the apartment, the garden or the pool. Keep your eyes peel as we will soon be introducing herbs into the garden for use in the kitchen... kind regards Colin L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I have stayed at two of the Vatu Sanctuary properties now and will be staying at a third this coming week. This is a place to visit and meet with others or to spend time alone and replenish, surrounded by beautiful artwork. Lovely areas inside and outside.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatu S, Manager at Vatu Sanctuary & Homestead, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi Judy, on behalf of Ros and myself, we thank you for your review and love that you have stayed in different apartments. You are a treasured visitor to our 'homes'. We do look forward to your returning to stay with us and seeing how much more attention we are putting into Vatu Sanctuary and Homestead. Different times of the year will show the garden in different light, our herb garden is established in our main property and to be introduced into our sister property. Kind regards, Colin L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Amazed this place does not have lots of reviews from others!

A great house with lots of nice nooks and spaces. Great artwork and nice style.

We stayed as a group while filming in Alice and booked out the whole place - the house was fantastic with lots of private spaces with great communal areas.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlieC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatu S, Manager at Vatu Sanctuary & Homestead, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Hi CharlieC53, on behalf of Ros and myself, thank you for being the first to review Vatu Sanctuary on TripAdvisor. We love that you booked the whole property. It has become popular with group bookings, especially since we also have our sister property 'The Homestead' just minutes walk down the street. We had a wedding function here, hosted many an anniversary, as well as accommodating many creative people that come to Central Australia or live in Alice Springs. Professional people such as yourselves have found it the perfect place to stay. Whilst our "hidden gem" is becoming better know, increasingly popular, it will always remain that somewhere special you can stay... regards Colin L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
2.1 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
Ibis Styles Alice Springs Oasis
#13 of 13 in Alice Springs
724 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Alice Springs Resort
Mercure Alice Springs Resort
#3 of 13 in Alice Springs
1,134 reviews
3.5 mi away
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vatu Sanctuary & Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vatu Sanctuary & Homestead

Property: Vatu Sanctuary & Homestead
Address: P18 Knuckey Ave, 12 Harvey Street, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vatu Sanctuary & Homestead 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self-catering apartments in the heart of Alice Springs, Central Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vatu Sanctuary & Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing