We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alice Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alice Springs Heritage Caravan and Tourist Park
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Wow not sure about all these other reviews they seem to be a few years old.
There are new owners now and the place is looking fantastic. We stayed a few years ago and the park was no where near the standard that it is now, the grounds are looking great and well maintained, also the have a great new state of the art dog wash there which is amazing my pooch wasnt to happy about it though. I think the new owners are doing a great job and are extremaly and friendly the manager even helped us set up our van. They have only been there a year but have done such a great job.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    14
    5
    15
See reviews for
13
32
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
darwin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

Will never stay again. From the moment we checked in the lady was rude, the toilet block was filthy, it was a hostile and grubby place. Most expensive we have stayed at $36.00 for nothing. NEVER AGAIN.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank darwin12368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjamesn, Owner at Alice Springs Heritage Caravan and Tourist Park, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Wow, Sorry you had a bad experience with the park, we have just bought it off the old owners and will be tuning it around, the park has a good feel to it but yes it was run down and needs some changes, we have started and have some new staff in place. If you are travelling our way again in the future please do come and checkout our progress with a free stay.

The Newman Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Sad to disagree with the review above, I have found both the owner AND all staff to be unpleasant, without any level of courtesy, Unhelpful is a mild word for most staff, but one was bordering on the psychotic. The latter hurled abuse at me, but it was not just me - I spoke to several fellow "greys" who had had similar experience; one friend from the NSW South coast had a wife in tears as a result. I cannot under any circumstances recommend this site. And it is not cheap at $38 per night. They even charged a bond for the dog! On the plus side, "she who must be obeyed" tells me the laundry is good; however, this morning I had to walk through a urine flood to get to the urinal. The sites are small, very small. We could have forgiven them anything in return for a pleasant nature, a smile, and accurate information; what I received was decided mixed advise re: issues like mail. I will not be back; nor will my friends. I have heard along the grapevine that the site is for sale; is anyone surprised?

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank stw573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idilic, Owner at Alice Springs Heritage Caravan and Tourist Park, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
I am sorry to hear that you have had such a bad experience I find it difficult to understand that all the staff and myself were not friendly towards you. I am now aware of one staff member who had been very rude and abused my clients and told them that he was the manager he is no longer employed here and will never get another position here ever. There has been a small number of persons causing confict and upset within the park they also have been removed.
We do take a security deposit on pets for safety reasons which states conditions for the pets entry to our park.and a copy is issued to the client. We do not wish to see animals injured or fellow travelers or staff injured, We have had a good track record over the past 18 years until just recently one of our staff was attacked by a dog and has had several months off work and numerous operations and suffering. In this particular case the owners of the dog were not overly concerned as to the welfare of our staff member. The owners of the animal did not comply with our conditions. WE HAVE A DUTY OF CARE TOWARDS OUR GUEST AND STAFF
Our site rate has never been $38.00 Per Night.
Unfortunately the Urinal did overflow due to some person placing cigarette butts in it however it was attended to promptly. We request guest not to smoke in our amentities. There have been a few inconsiderate people causing damage, which we attend to as soon as possible.
Re the contradiction of mail information given to you, which has been related to us by fellow travelers we cannot fathom out why mail arrives quickly some days and not others. Perhaps these questions should be directed to the Post Office.
Our sites are acceptable by AAA standards and are by no means very small in size
We are pleased to hear that the laundry was satisfactory and met your wife’s approval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syndey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

Heritage van park Alice Springs, staff are ok but the owner is argumentative and vindictive. Has a no unleashed dog rule except for her dog which is allowed to roam free. Pees and poos wherever he likes. She claims the dog is never out of her sight. The lesson, keep your dog tied up and shoo hers away, but don't get caught, her tongue has lashes.

Helpful?
4 Thank tomcoulcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageCP, Owner at Alice Springs Heritage Caravan and Tourist Park, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Sorry you had a bad experience from the previous owners of the park. The Newman family now runs the park and you will find things different, yes we do have dogs but you wont find them running around loose.

If you are passing through please drop in and see the changes.

cheers
Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alice in the Territory
Alice in the Territory
#11 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Swagmans Rest Apartments
The Swagmans Rest Apartments
#13 of 28 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alice On Todd Apartments
Alice On Todd Apartments
#5 of 28 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kathys Place Bed and Breakfast
Kathys Place Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Springs Heritage Caravan and Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Springs Heritage Caravan and Tourist Park

Property: Alice Springs Heritage Caravan and Tourist Park
Address: 40 Ragonesi Road, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Caravan Park is nestled at the base of the majestic MacDonnell Ranges. Situated 5km south of the Alice Springs town centre, the park is a great base to explore the amazing landscapes, history and culture of Central Australia. We offer 1 and 2 bedroom cabins, grassy powered and unpowered sites as well as bush camping amongst the lemon scented gums. We are also a dog friendly park offering dog wash, off leash run area, dog minding and cabins with dog yards attached. all us today to book your stay at the Heritage Caravan Park, Alice Springs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing