We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay with the kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with the kids”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have stayed at this park several times and always found it to be excellent.
The sites are large, with good shade and grass coverage.
The amenities are immaculate and you almost feel guilty using the BBQ's as they are always spotless. The facilities available for kids include jumping pillows, pools, games room, several playgrounds, pedal go-carts and basketball half courts.
Entertainment is provided during the peak season (ie. star gazing, didgeridoo, nature talks) as is their famous Sunday Pancake Breakfasts (free) - so make sure your stay includes a Sunday.
They have a well stocked store and sell fuel (cost is actually the same as in town).
This is a great park for families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    94
    14
    4
    10
See reviews for
122
136
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
294 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here twice. Reception desk service was slow both times. Kept us waiting. Plenty of sites, very well organised. Plenty of amenities close to all sites. A little more expensive than alternatives close by - but you know you can rely on the cleanliness and services. Worth the extra.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golouis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Have stayed here whilst travelling in a motorhome, and then one night in a deluxe cabin. Could not fault it either time. Van sites are all close to amenities. Busy time of year when we were there but did not have to queue once to use showers or toilets. All amenities are spotlessly clean, as was our cabin the second time we visited. It is not withing walking distance of the town centre, but that did not bother us. If you turn right out of the driveway there is a great little pub with a family bistro around the corner. Food there was delicious and reasonably priced. The park reception does get busy from about 3pm on when it seems most people arrive to check in. Both times there was only one person on reception and wait time was about half an hour. Other than that though, I can't fault the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here because we had other family staying in camper vans. It was more expensive than in town for our cabin with kitchen but no bathroom. We stayed 3 other nights in town. This campground was most definitely 5 star, everything was clean and catered for. We were there for the famous Sunday free pancake breakfast. This was an enjoyable morning, everyone was very friendly. This is a very urban holiday park but manages to feel like a campground. Well done.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We have just returned from a fortnight in Central Australia. We stayed 5 nights here and were very impressed by the Park. Clean, tidy, top facilitesand lots to do. We went to the Star Talk, the Barry Skipsey show and Peter Nunn's informative talk about the flora and Fauna. The Sunday morning pancakes were delicous. All the staff were helpful and friendly. We didn't want to leave. Great price too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Deluxe villa was excellent for our family of 4 - very clean/modern/warm with good little kitchen.

Bunk room for kids at opposite end to master king bedroom was well designed.

Shared laundry was really welcomed and not too busy.

Little mini-market on site was a bit limited - so best to get supplies at WW in Alice itself.

Try and do the free astronomy session on Tuesday nights - we saw Saturn + rings - very impressive.

Room Tip: go for a deluxe villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights and loved it. We had a large grassed/slab site with a reasonable distance to the amenities block. The showers and toilets were always clean and tidy with plenty of hot water. Reception and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. There are "free" activities available most days and the park is nice and quiet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debz6626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.5 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park

Property: BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
Address: Palm Place, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacDonnell Range Holiday Park is the most awarded park in the Northern Territory, famous for our Sunday morning pancake breakfasts! Situated at the foothills of the magnificent MacDonnell Ranges and only 4.5kms from the CBD, our park offers a quiet, relaxing holiday and an experience that only the unique centre of Australia has to offer. We offer year-round accommodation in a friendly atmosphere we guarantee you'll enjoy! Free Pancake breakfast every Sunday morning. April to September we offer free entertainment. Monday nights listen to our 4WD talk, Tuesday night view the night sky's with local astronomer, Thursday afternoon join us for biscuits and cheese. Bring a bottle of wine & watch the sun go down. Friday nights listen to Bush Ballads with a local singer/songwriter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing