We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Sale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely park”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 7 nights and loved it. We had a large grassed/slab site with a reasonable distance to the amenities block. The showers and toilets were always clean and tidy with plenty of hot water. Reception and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. There are "free" activities available most days and the park is nice and quiet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debz6626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    97
    15
    4
    11
See reviews for
126
142
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed in a deluxe villa, which was beautifully appointed with quality fitting, however, due to the desert race on that weekend, it was very noisy, and we had to endure the noise of idiots revving their motorbikes, riding around the grounds, or starting their V8 trucks at 5 in the morning with no regard or respect for their neighbours. The staff didn't seem to do anything about it, and it turned me off this place. I'm sure it would have been nicer if the race wasn't on, not everyone likes stupid motorbikes. Maybe the staff should think twice before letting these idiots stay in a " family" park. Just look at the mess they left in the desert- spoiling it for other people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
330 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed overnight and luckily we had booked ahead as the Finke Motorbike Races were due to be held and the town was a buzz! The office staff were under pressure with the number of people waiting to check in, but they were courteous and pleasant and explained all that the park had to offer. We were allocated a site and shown to it by a park employee. We were close to the amenities which were spotlessly clean, and the laundry was well equipped. There was even a baby's bathroom available. The playground was popular with the younger brigade and the pool looked inviting. We first stayed here 25 years ago and it is a credit to the owners what has been achieved in that time. We hope to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandykperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

I'm beginning to wonder if I interrupted the receptionist's day. My check-in process went promptly enough but although I smiled and said all the usual Pleases and Thank Yous, I was met with a surly expression.

The park is, indeed, a welcome sight in Alice. Spacious and well maintained. My ensuite was dated but clean. The sites are large enough for what's needed. This is the most expensive park (for site fees) that I've paid through Australia. I don't think that their facilities and services are any better or more than some other parks that I've stayed in. Unfortunately I was situated right alongside the kiddies playground and it was particularly noisy as a result. When booking an ensuite site, ask for a site further back from the playground.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gogo6gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed in a Deluxe Villa (2 bedroom cabin) for 6 nights and were so glad we chose this over a motel in town. It is in a very pretty location with the Macdonnell Ranges around it.

The cabin is new and well appointed as other reviews have mentioned. The cabin was spotlessly clean when we arrived.

The facilities in the park are excellent and very well maintained. Pools, playgrounds, lots of laundries, washing lines, camp kitchens, etc.

The pancake breakfast on the Sunday morning was a good way to start the day.

There are beautiful gardens but some shade sails are needed over the pool and playgrounds.

It is a few minutes drive into town but this makes it more peaceful. It was still close enough for us to go in and out of town to see things.

We would definitely stay here again if in Alice Springs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5fromAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed at the Park for 2 nights and absolutely loved it, wished we could have stayed longer. The staff are lovely, friendly and most helpful, nothing is too much trouble!!! The amenities are spotlessly clean, and the swimming pools are to die for!! We were lucky enough to be there for their free Sunday Pancake Breakfast, a great opportunity for all the campers to get to know each other and have brekkie together. We would highly recommend this place to all and would love to go back ourselves, for a much longer stay next time.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loopylookiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We were here for our first and last night of our trip to Uluru. Amongst all the campervan parks we've stayed at - this one has the best facilities. Plenty of warm showers, good cooking facilities, daily activities / shows, and easy access to water / power for the campervan. Good amount of space allocated to each campervan site. The site did look clean, but we did see some rats scurrying around the campervan sites, apparently this is a common problem in all of Alice Springs (?). The holiday park is also located about 5km from the town centre of Alice Springs, and we were advised that it wasn't safe to walk to town. So you'll have to take the whole campervan, or your vehicle if you're camping, if you want to head to town.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hales_bne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alice Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Alice Springs Lasseters
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
1.5 mi away
Desert Palms Alice Springs
Desert Palms Alice Springs
#5 of 13 in Alice Springs
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quest Alice Springs
Quest Alice Springs
#1 of 13 in Alice Springs
445 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alice Motor Inn
Alice Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Alice Springs
360 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aurora Alice Springs
Aurora Alice Springs
#7 of 13 in Alice Springs
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park

Property: BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
Address: Palm Place, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacDonnell Range Holiday Park is the most awarded park in the Northern Territory, famous for our Sunday morning pancake breakfasts! Situated at the foothills of the magnificent MacDonnell Ranges and only 4.5kms from the CBD, our park offers a quiet, relaxing holiday and an experience that only the unique centre of Australia has to offer. We offer year-round accommodation in a friendly atmosphere we guarantee you'll enjoy! Free Pancake breakfast every Sunday morning. April to September we offer free entertainment. Monday nights listen to our 4WD talk, Tuesday night view the night sky's with local astronomer, Thursday afternoon join us for biscuits and cheese. Bring a bottle of wine & watch the sun go down. Friday nights listen to Bush Ballads with a local singer/songwriter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing