We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, terrible service!”
Review of Flavours of India

Flavours of India
Ranked #65 of 92 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible service!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Service was terrible & slow; we waited 45 minutes for poppadums, the glass of red wine was practically mulled it was served so warm, the waiters didn't seem to care. That said the food was pretty good! Byo wine is possible.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KNorms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    30
    17
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Entry - No one welcomed. Stood there for 10 mins.
seated - No one visted for 15 mins.
Ordered - Servers didn't had any knowledge of food or menu. Had to spell the words of dishes to staff
Food - Took 20 mins for Entree and 30mins for Mains. Food cold and looked as left over of few days.
Staff - Very unprofessional, unhygenic, big mouths and were very interested in talking about their boss(Satnam Dhingra - owner) culprits acts. like tax evasion, him being behind bars etc.
All together I wasted my money and ofcourse my valuable time.
Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasmine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Garlic nan,tandoori chicken and lamb beriyani tasted alright :)) took quite long to cook lol definitely will go there again...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmexyAya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food but shocking service”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The food is great although the portions are slightly on the small size however the service is abysmal. Service is slow and the servers are either rude or don't talk at all - no manners. Eat here only if you are hanging out for Indian food and don't care how long you wait for it. All the locals including the Indian taxi drivers said the same thing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cad307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Very good food, joyless service”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We ate here with two small kids. With no booking we were early enough to get a table, and by the time we left the place was full and very busy. It's a converted house and seating includes an outdoor co reed area with small kids play ground. Inside decor is very dark, could do with some brighter paint! Prices very reasonable in Australia and comparable to the rest of Oz, 16/17 AUD for a main size portion. A kids menu as well, but pretty limited. The food was great, we had a shared mixed entree only 13 aud which includes some of the spicest samosas we've ever had. Portion sizes were good. We couldn't eat everything and they offered immediately to pack up leftovers, many places don't anymore. Wine list overpriced (30 a bottle) although there is a takeaway outlet opposite (3 per head 'corkage' though).

Whole cost 80 aud for entree, two curries, rice,breads, two kids meals and two kids desserts, good value. The only thing that detracted from the experience was how sad the staff seemed! Quiet and withdrawn, I don't expect to make friends with restaurant staff or for them to entertain me, but this was really noticeable. They were clearly run off their feet, good sign that locals pack the place out but maybe hire some more help and the girls might smile once in a while!

Helpful?
1 Thank rachaelOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavours of India also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Flavours of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing