We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mary River Wilderness Retreat & Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cordalba, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My sister in law, brother and myself stayed here for over a week and had an awesome time. Quiet, relaxing with a spot of excitement thrown in.We spotted plenty of crocs, and caught a 75+ cm. barramundi. Fantastic.The friendliness, help and support given by the staff was second to none, and I am already trying to plan my next visit just one month after getting home. Congratulations guys.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyG18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    93
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
48
113
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights last week and really loved it. We stayed in a bush bungalow which whilst relatively basic was perfectly adequate for our needs and the very reasonable price. They had ample space, great air con and a relaxing feel. They also had a fridge which was handy for storing food to take on picnics to the national parks. Perfect location being 1.5 hours from both Litchfield and Kakadu (and even less time to Darwin). The staff were wonderful especially Megan who was a wonderful host and was full of information about the property and its wildlife. I also left something behind at the resort and she got it to Darwin for me so thank you very much :)
There was so much to see at the retreat itself including wallabies and many bird species (including some rare owls!). They also have walks you can go on. The dinners were also great and breakfast was just what we needed! They have free wifi in their reception area for those who can't be without the internet but to be honest the peace and quiet without it was lovely.

My only suggestion would be to have a small amount of housekeeping for guests staying more than a night, perhaps just emptying the bins as the rooms get very hot when the air con is off so bins start to smell and also replacing the long life milk, tea, coffee etc.

If you are going from Mary River to Litchfield in a 4WD we highly recommend using the Marrakai Track. Its a 41km dirt road but the wildlife along the way is fabulous. There are two billabongs with many birds and possibly crocs (though we didn't see the crocs!) which were great to drive through.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poshw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Wow we loved this caravan park clean amenities and bush land outlook. The restaurant's grilled barramundi was wonderful and the cappacinoes we good for outback restaurant. We also hired a boat early in morning and had the best wildlife experience on the river. Nearly caught a barramundi too. There is a pool which is refreshing to cool off on and in the caravan park there is a bush shower to also keep cool during the day. Lots of shade and grassed areas . Very helpful friendly staff too nothing too much bother. We will come again. Bird life is great as is the 8km walk around the property early in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lib54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our first Australia camping spot on our road trip from Darwin to Perth. Lovely! You can camp down by the river under the trees or on grass patches nearer to the camp kitchen. We saw Kangaroos on our first day, some lovely birds and even a baby croc in a tank by reception! Nice toilet and shower block, very friendly staff and an overall enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend the chicken parmigiana - fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louio26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was a great place to stay to break up the journey into Kakadu. The surrounds are lovely and tropical and there are walks on the actual property. The rooms are simple but clean. The rooms also have no eating or cooking facilities therefore you have use the restaurant for all meals including breakfast which was a bit of a nuisance but saying that there is nowhere close to buy any supplies anyway. The pools are small but at least there are 2 of them and it's enough to cool off. Staff/owners were helpful and friendly. Great stop over and could have stayed longer....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaryNess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We only had one night here but thought it was very good. Our Pool Bungalow was very clean, comfortable, light and not cramped. The bathroom was fairly basic but OK. The pool for pool bungalow users is small but attractive and we were actually the only ones in it when we swam so big enough!

Lovely gardens throughout and outdoor/indoor eating area a short stroll away. We had a nice meal of barramundi the night we stayed and a good burger at lunch.

At dusk the mosquitoes were ferocious so we didn't spend ages in the pool and had to escape to the sanctity of our room! Make sure you bring repellent with you!

We hired a boat and travelled along the river which was lovely but only saw one or two crocs. Thought we'd see plenty? Lots of birds about - very peaceful and enjoyable on the river.

Staff were pleasant and helpful - we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tembomamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We arrived after sunset looking for a place to stay overnight and were offered a very good price for a family chalet. It was clean and comfortable and the whole place seemed really nice. A shame we had to get up early and take off the next morning - it looked like a lovely place to stay a few nights. Got some great advice about the croc jumping tours also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northern Territory hotels
40.1 mi away
Wildman Wilderness Lodge
Wildman Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mary River National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
28.3 mi away
Corroboree Park Tavern
Corroboree Park Tavern
#64 of 174 in Northern Territory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.1 mi away
Litchfield Sunset
Litchfield Sunset
#2 of 2 in Litchfield National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Mary River Wilderness Retreat & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary River Wilderness Retreat & Caravan Park

Property: Mary River Wilderness Retreat & Caravan Park
Address: Mary River Crossing Arnhem Hwy | Annaburroo, Via Humpty Doo, Northern Territory 0836, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Northern Territory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mary River Wilderness Retreat & Caravan Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary River Wilderness Retreat is located halfway between Darwin and Jabiru in Kakadu National Park. This family owned and operated eco-tourism property offers an ideal venue for large groups through to couples and families for events and conferences to weekend getaways or a top end holiday. A range of air conditioned bungalows with ensuites are available from one night to a week or more. Caravan and Camping sites, Restaurant / Bar, Campers Kitchen, Bush Walks, Boat Buggy and Bike hire, River Cruises and many more facilities are on offer. Majestically set on 900 acres with sweeping views of Australia's Bush land and the world renowned Mary River which is home to twice as many saltwater Crocodiles as any other river in the world. Making Mary River Wilderness Retreat a must see location for them in their natural habitat. Mary River Wilderness Retreat is the perfect location to host an event or use as a base camp for a truly remarkable outback getaway. Immaculately manicured lawns and gardens filled with beautiful palms and gums create the feeling of paradise within the top end. Our accommodation comprises of twenty six fully air-conditioned private bungalows and our location allows easy access for self drive day tours to Mary River, Litchfield and Kakadu National Park and is very accessible to Darwin City. Only 35 kilometers to the gateway to Kakadu National Park we are the ideal location to fish and explore the Mary River, Hardies Lagoon, Shady Camp or the South Alligator. It is also a great stop over on Natures Way which takes in Kakadu and a range of other Top End attractions. We are set outside of the park so that the gate entry fee does not apply and there are plenty of close wetland experiences, wildlife, bird life and crocodile spotting for those with limited time who still want the top end experience. The property is an ideal venue to host any event from a cocktail style reception, to a fully sit-down dinner or for the corporate market, a business meeting catered in our dedicated conference room. Otherwise take advantage of the wonderful setting and choose an elegant marquee set amongst our majestic grounds for a dream wedding location there are endless options. Our catering can be tailored to personalise any given event, along with our array of activities for colleagues, delegates, friends and family all set amongst our unspoiled wilderness mean there is no place better suited to create perfect memories or to capture the attention of your group. Our tropically designed restaurant licensed for up to 300 guests boasts modern alfresco dining areas perfect for gazing over the abundant wildlife. So do you want to relax and have the most perfect private destination holiday or event imaginable? Stay at Mary River Wilderness Retreat you will be pleasantly amazed at the experience you have and will want to keep coming back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mary River Wilderness Retreat & Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary River Wilderness Retreat & Caravan Park Australia/Northern Territory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing