We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mary River Wilderness Retreat & Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I spent 2 nights in a pool bungalow at Mary River and what can I say. It was really delightful.

The staff were friendly and really polite. The pool bungalows were tidy and modern and perfect in size for 2 people. If you choose a pool bungalow, you have access to a private pool so it was really great on our second day because we spent the entire day swimming in this beautiful pool with beautiful garden surrounds.

The grounds are immaculate and the option for camping looked promising with a well equipped outdoor camp kitchen.

Lots of space, and lots of peace and quiet. I would recommend this to everyone. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 234 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

This caravan and camping park offered good value for money, the staff were very helpful. Facilities were clean and alll sites were close to the amenities which were well maintained. This park is ideally located to explore the Mary River. A quiet and nice littel retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spent seven days at the park and thoroughly enjoyed every day. There is as much or as little to do as you wish. We hired a boat and went fishing and sightseeing on the Mary river, drove to Kakadu for the day, cruised on the Corroboree Billabong, went bird watching around the park, went bird watching at Bird Billabong, went to the Wetlands Centre and Fog Dam and relaxed at the park. Extremely impressed with the staff who were always friendly and helpful. The cabins were clean and comfortable and the restaurant had good affordable meals. The camp kitchen was very useful on one night when we decided to cook our own meal. Highly recommended for a peaceful stay in a very well run park. Loved the wildlife and the lovely sunsets. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cousens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed for a night at this caravan park recently after doing a boat cruise on the Corroborree Billabong which is nearby and we could highly recommend. After staying in a hot and crowded caravan park in Darwin for the last 2 weeks, it was so great to be in a shady, spacious caravan park. We have two small children and they both loved the wallabies that came around the campsite of an evening. The amenities were clean and tidy. It was disapointing that a fellow caravanner felt the need to run their air conditioner all night which did detract from the sounds of nature, but this is certianly not the fault of the management of the park. We would highly recommend staying at this park.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mewett_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had my sister in laws wedding here and stayed for 4 nights. The service was unbelievably good, nothing was ever a problem no matter what the request! The location was perfect and Darwin Party Hire's marque, bar and decorations helped transform the beautiful gardens into a beautiful wedding venue. Thank you team for a wonderful experience. We will be back and will definitely rev commend you to anyone looking for a function venue or just a nice spot to stay in the NT.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Livestockalliance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Spent two nights of last weekend here in one of the 'Pool Bungalows'. Very clean and comfortable relatively new cabins, with high ceilings and timber floors. Only 'services' in the cabin are a fridge and kettle. A communal microwave is available in the camping area if you wish to bring pre-cooked meals. No TV or wi fi in the rooms to interfere with the relaxing 'back to nature' bush setting, only 100 metres from the Mary River. Very helpful and accommodating staff. The restaurant was clean, but frankly, fairly ordinary menu and food. Maybe it was a limited off-season menu. Though the continental breaky for $8 was good value. But recommend bringing something to heat up or cook on the bar-b-que for evenings - or head to the Bark Hart Inn 2-kmts up the road.

Loads of wildlife around the park and the sunset river cruise, if you don't have a boat, is a must. Crocs, rare birds, wallabies, you'll get the whole territory wildlife experience on that lovely two hour cruise. Good quiet place to relax for a day or two, and I'd go back again for that.

Room Tip: They are presently building new smaller 'Bush' cabins away from the pool. In the high (Dry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank VinceDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The cabin was so cute and nicely set next to a swimming pool. As the sun began to set a small herd of wallabies hopped through the open field next to the the cabin - really lovely. The bath was new and the entire property was tidy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kruegemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mary River Wilderness Retreat & Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary River Wilderness Retreat & Caravan Park

Address: Mary River Crossing Arnhem Hwy | Annaburroo, Via Humpty Doo, Northern Territory 0836, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 182 Specialty Lodging in Northern Territory
Price Range: $91 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mary River Wilderness Retreat & Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary River Wilderness Retreat is located halfway between Darwin and Jabiru in Kakadu National Park. This family owned and operated eco-tourism property offers an ideal venue for large groups through to couples and families for events and conferences to weekend getaways or a top end holiday. A range of air conditioned bungalows with ensuites are available from one night to a week or more. Caravan and Camping sites, Restaurant / Bar, Campers Kitchen, Bush Walks, Boat Buggy and Bike hire, River Cruises and many more facilities are on offer. Majestically set on 900 acres with sweeping views of Australia's Bush land and the world renowned Mary River which is home to twice as many saltwater Crocodiles as any other river in the world. Making Mary River Wilderness Retreat a must see location for them in their natural habitat. Mary River Wilderness Retreat is the perfect location to host an event or use as a base camp for a truly remarkable outback getaway. Immaculately manicured lawns and gardens filled with beautiful palms and gums create the feeling of paradise within the top end. Our accommodation comprises of twenty six fully air-conditioned private bungalows and our location allows easy access for self drive day tours to Mary River, Litchfield and Kakadu National Park and is very accessible to Darwin City. Only 35 kilometers to the gateway to Kakadu National Park we are the ideal location to fish and explore the Mary River, Hardies Lagoon, Shady Camp or the South Alligator. It is also a great stop over on Natures Way which takes in Kakadu and a range of other Top End attractions. We are set outside of the park so that the gate entry fee does not apply and there are plenty of close wetland experiences, wildlife, bird life and crocodile spotting for those with limited time who still want the top end experience. The property is an ideal venue to host any event from a cocktail style reception, to a fully sit-down dinner or for the corporate market, a business meeting catered in our dedicated conference room. Otherwise take advantage of the wonderful setting and choose an elegant marquee set amongst our majestic grounds for a dream wedding location there are endless options. Our catering can be tailored to personalise any given event, along with our array of activities for colleagues, delegates, friends and family all set amongst our unspoiled wilderness mean there is no place better suited to create perfect memories or to capture the attention of your group. Our tropically designed restaurant licensed for up to 300 guests boasts modern alfresco dining areas perfect for gazing over the abundant wildlife. So do you want to relax and have the most perfect private destination holiday or event imaginable? Stay at Mary River Wilderness Retreat you will be pleasantly amazed at the experience you have and will want to keep coming back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mary River Wilderness Retreat & Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary River Wilderness Retreat & Caravan Park Australia/Northern Territory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing