We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The bar is great, hotel not”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bark Hut Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northern Territory
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bark Hut Inn
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
357 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“The bar is great, hotel not”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Just down the road from the Humpty Doo and quite the traditional caravan stop. Just before the entrance to Kakadu Park. Great bar and lots of outside seating. Good stand-alone resort units and shaded pool for avoiding the afternoon sun. From here you can hit almost all the recreational areas that aren’t in the park proper – but go with the 4WD.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nail56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    14
    7
    10
See reviews for
10
30
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I tried one of their budget rooms. It is definitely cheap (at Australian standards). It was a very small room (say 4 square meter) in a container, and it was inbearably hot. There was a very old aircon in the room, which produced a noise level almost like a truck. Opening the window is not an option during the night, as there is no moskito net in it. I have no idea how one can sleep in such a room. The only good thing was that they gave me the possibility to opt out after having seen the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redwood59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Spent one night enjoyed the old memorabilia that was around and the sunset very relaxing. Had a great brekky before we left.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buttonwillow, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We checked in during a very hot spell and went directly to our lodging to cool down.
The first room we had was in a series of trailers and a very basic room with two uncomfortable beds. Room took a long time to cool down.
You had to go outside and down quite a way to the common shower and bathroom.
As small refrigerator was in our room.
This was a very uncomfortable room.
We switched to a cabin, that was more spacious, with a deck, and included a bathroom and shower. Much cooler in these rooms, but the beds were still very bad.
They do have a good bar, but it reamins hot, during hot spells. We had dinner, which was good enough, but once again, it was hot, as it is farly open to the outside.
This is a very basic property used by fishermen who are going after the barrimundi.
Our group was all raised in the country and we got along here well enough. If you are looking for a comfortable place with a few ammenities, this is not your place.
If you are looking for a basic place to stay while going fishing and are used to the very basics, you will find the Bark Hut adequate.
I would say the staff was very helpful and there is a pay laundry facitily and pool.

Room Tip: Pay more and get a separate cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla, Australia
Level Contributor
240 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

On the way to Litchfield and Kakadu the tour bus stopped at the Bark Hut for a toilet/refreshment break. You could spend hours looking at the interesting items hanging in and around the walls.

The toilets were clean, the service was good and the prices were reasonable (considering you were in the middle of nowhere). Relaxing in the garden with a coffee, watching the wildlife was pleasant.

The bark hut has a small store/gift shop as well as bar, restaurant and accommodation. The business was busy but there were a few busses stopped at the time we were there.

All in all a nice place to break the journey.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiceoflifetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Bark Hut Inn has four different styles of accommodation.
You can camp in a tent in the camping area, which would be ok, but if you have one of the very bright street lights above your tent, sleeping could be a problem, especially if you are there when all the bugs arrive and congregate around the light and your tent . Other areas of the camp ground are nice with some friendly Wallabies to enjoy.

The cheapest room accommodation is in a tiny yellow box that is no more than a glorified dog kennel, my own small workshop/shed at home is better than one of these things, they should be trashed.

Next up the ladder is a one off, family sized cabin which has two sets of bunk beds in one area and a queen sized bed in another section. There is a lounge and a tiny dining table and a smallish television. This may sound ok but apart from the bathroom and toilet the entire building is one big room. I have stayed in this family cabin before with a bunch of people and I slept on one of the bunk beds, I believe I would have been better off placing the mattress on the floor.

Finally, there are the five new cabins.
The cabin we stayed in had a double bunk and a double bed (which was comfortable), a small kitchenette and a small table and chairs outside on the verandah. A separate bathroom/toilet was at the far end of the cabin.
The cleanliness of the furnishings was very ordinary, with dirt and mould on the curtains in some sections. The curtains could not be closed completely either.
There is no TV or radio in the cabins and definitely no internet connection should you need one.
At $180 off-peak and $210 peak season costs, this is a glaring rip-off for something that rates about $100 maximum.
Compared to accommodation in the UK, Canada and Alaska, this place would rate about 15 out of a 100.
The staff at the bar were great, the food was good and not overly priced.
The Bark Hut Inn has a great feeling about it and is worth a look, but for the money, forget their accommodation, it's a rip-off.

Room Tip: If your camping, avoid staying too close to a street light. If you want a room desperately, then fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverbarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

The historical content is still a great read. Looks like several new suites lodges added. Then grounds are in great shape. The staff friendly and efficient. A must stop to Kakadu.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelsareourlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Northern Territory hotels
15.2 mi away
Corroboree Park Tavern
Corroboree Park Tavern
#86 of 172 in Northern Territory
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
43.3 mi away
Mary River Wilderness Retreat & Caravan Park
Mary River Wilderness Retreat & ...
#12 of 172 in Northern Territory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
17.3 mi away
Wildman Wilderness Lodge
Wildman Wilderness Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mary River National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.9 mi away
Litchfield Sunset
Litchfield Sunset
#2 of 2 in Litchfield National Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bark Hut Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bark Hut Inn

Property: Bark Hut Inn
Address: Arnhem Highway | Annaburroo, Northern Territory NT 0886, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 172 Specialty Lodging in Northern Territory
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Bark Hut Hotel Northern Territory
Bark Hut Inn Australia/Northern Territory

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing