We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean and spacious rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lawson Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lawson Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very clean and spacious rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The motel was in a quiet location set back from the main streets but only a short walk to restaurants (maybe 10 mins). Close to the river for nice walks. The motel was very clean, the room was comfortable and spacious with a small kitchenette also included. Free wifi which worked at a good speed. We stayed for 2 nights and would recommend. We had an upstairs room.

Room Tip: We were in the main block, upstairs from reception but still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhewlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear linds76

Thanks very much for your review which all of our staff appreciate very much.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    86
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
136
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cooma, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Very happy with The Lawson Motor Inn. Exceptionally clean, quiet, great staff and so close to town shops, cafes, restaurants and attractions. Access from the back gate of the hotel to the Murrumbidgee walking track was a bonus for an evening or early morning walk . No restaurant or pool on-site.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekkinTrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks TrekkinTrace for your review and for your ratings.

We hope that you can stay with us again and our staff very much appreciate your comments on the results of their good work.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and I were competing in the Australian Trapshooting Championships in Wagga-Wagga from the 5th - 13th April and decided to book into the Lawson Motor Inn, our stay was wonderful, very friendly welcoming staff, very clean tidy and comfortable room.
Both my wife and I have travelled all over Australia and over-seas with our chosen sport and found the Lawson Motor Inn to be up with the best we have been fortunate to have stayed with.
Would not hesitate to recommend and we will definitely stay there again next time in town.

Room Tip: We had ground floor room backing onto the river, it had a nice courtyard to sit out and have afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks very much for your review, Gary K.

We and all of our staff appreciate your staying with us and your strong ratings.

We all hope that we can serve your needs when you are next in Wagga for the trap shooting or on other business or pleasure.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyleakin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

My family have stayed here before so on their recommendation we made a last minute booking.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms are immaculate and have everything you need for a night or a week long stay. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks for your review Bec P,

It was nice to have your feedback that we were able to also look after your section of your family in a similar manner to their recommendation to you.

Next time you stay we will do our best to make all of your ratings as 5's.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed 1 night while in town for work.

Set in a nice well maintained block, i was in the front section where the room was well equipped and clean with modern fittings.

The only improvement would be a restaurant on site but otherwise no complaints

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cchcch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks cchcch.

Our terrific team of management & staff really appreciate such a review and we all hope to be able to satisfy your accommodation needs when you pass through Wagga again.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallensbaek Strand, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Recommended here on T.A. I made a reservation in advance as I knew I would be driving through Wagga. Good thing I did - it turned out to be a popular place and the no-vacancy sign was out in the evening.

Got the room above the reception (no. 1). Very big for just me - and very clean, quiet and with a great bed. Perfect wifi connection. So things were excellent. A warm day in Wagga and I could have used a pool. But - besides that - I must admit I can't say much except that I enjoyed it and will both recommend others and stay again myself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaldivstgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thanks for your review kongcarlos, and thanks for staying with us.

All of our team appreciate your comments and we hope that we can make your next stay even better.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We travel quite regularly to Wagga and as a result, we have tried most hotels in town and so far, only one has rated a return visit - in fact many return visits - and that is The Lawson.
The rooms are spacious and meticulously clean. The bathrooms are large with a very generous shower with great water pressure. There is plenty of room in the bathroom for two people.
The beds are comfy and the sheets are always crisp and fresh.
The kitchenette with a microwave and a full size fridge is very convenient. And for those complaining about the short time without weekend room service breakfast - there is a plethora of cafe's nearby in town that serve breakfast.
It's not fair to rate the hotel based on a temporary staffing problem, that has since been resolved.
I have always found the staff unerringly cheerful and pleasant and willing to go out of their way to please.
The Lawson is by far our favourite hotel in Wagga Wagga and in my opinion, the best place to stay. We will see you again soon : ))

Room Tip: The ground floor courtyard suites are my favourite. Quiet with a sliding door that opens onto a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear wanderingbear.

Thanks for your review and for your support about our short-term staffing issue with our weekend kitchen.

We appreciate your staying with us and we look forward to serving you when next in town.

All of our staff very much appreciate your comments on the results of their hard work.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wagga Wagga hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Wagga Wagga
Mercure Wagga Wagga
#4 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.5 mi away
International Hotel
International Hotel
#3 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Houston Wagga
The Houston Wagga
#1 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton on the Park Hotel
Bolton on the Park Hotel
#15 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest Wagga Wagga
Quest Wagga Wagga
#7 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Charles Sturt Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawson Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawson Motor Inn

Property: The Lawson Motor Inn
Address: 117-121 Tarcutta Street, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wagga Wagga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawson Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****Wagga's Multi-Award Winning 4 STAR Motel on the banks of the Murrumbidgee River in the CBD**** FREE Wi-Fi and FREE FOXTEL (Movies & Sports) Channels in all suites. The Lawson Motor Inn has 40 high quality, larger than normal suites. All suites have kitchenettes with full size fridge, microwave, toaster, cutlery & crockery and tea/coffee making facilities. For guests dining needs, we have a chargeback arrangement with the following wonderful restaurants: Bahn Thai Baylis Street Bistro Cache - Store of Food Crust Gourmet Pizza Bar Hogs Breath Café Il Corso Italian Restaurant Indian Tavern Tandoori Restaurant La Porchetta Pizza Restaurant Magpies Nest Restaurant Montezuma's and Royal Garden Restaurant Plentiful off-street parking. 2 X Guest Laundries available FREE of charge. The Lawson is located in Central Wagga! Only 5 minutes walk to the Civic Theatre, the National Art Glass Gallery, Farmers Markets and the main shopping centres. Only a 15 minute drive to the Wagga Wagga airport, Charles Sturt University, Kapooka and Forest Hill military bases, the Livestock Marketing Centre and all Wagga Industrial areas. Situated on the banks of the Murrumbidgee River with direct access to the riverside walking/jogging track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Lawson Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing