We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again....still an excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lawson Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Back again....still an excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We travel quite regularly to Wagga and as a result, we have tried most hotels in town and so far, only one has rated a return visit - in fact many return visits - and that is The Lawson.
The rooms are spacious and meticulously clean. The bathrooms are large with a very generous shower with great water pressure. There is plenty of room in the bathroom for two people.
The beds are comfy and the sheets are always crisp and fresh.
The kitchenette with a microwave and a full size fridge is very convenient. And for those complaining about the short time without weekend room service breakfast - there is a plethora of cafe's nearby in town that serve breakfast.
It's not fair to rate the hotel based on a temporary staffing problem, that has since been resolved.
I have always found the staff unerringly cheerful and pleasant and willing to go out of their way to please.
The Lawson is by far our favourite hotel in Wagga Wagga and in my opinion, the best place to stay. We will see you again soon : ))

Room Tip: The ground floor courtyard suites are my favourite. Quiet with a sliding door that opens onto a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear wanderingbear.

Thanks for your review and for your support about our short-term staffing issue with our weekend kitchen.

We appreciate your staying with us and we look forward to serving you when next in town.

All of our staff very much appreciate your comments on the results of their hard work.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    87
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
137
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Girraween
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel last time I stay is from 08-09 of march it's beautiful big bedroom and the best is the bathroom very nice I cnt wait to book in and come back again.thanks to Leanne who's very hospitable

Maria Cristina Hilton-smith

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maria Cristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Hi Maria and thanks for your review.

We look forward to serving you again on your next visit and we will all work hard to ensure that you are fully satisfied.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Their website offered the option of room service breakfast every morning, and that statement was repeated when we booked through wotif. But on arrival on a Friday afternoon, a notice on the reception counter stated that room service breakfast was not available over weekends. At the time of writing this review their website still offers daily room service breakfast.

Our River View Queen Suite had a really lovely view from the balcony. The suite had a well sized kitchenette, including a notice saying not to burn food. But there was no toaster.

Otherwise, it was a good choice. The place was beautifully clean and quiet and the staff very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyH051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Penny H051. Thanks for your review.

The retirement of our chef was the 1st time in the life of our Motel that we were caught without being able to find a replacement who is suitably qualified and offers the quality that we require.

That has now been solved and we apologise for the lack of breakfast when you stayed over that weekend.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed for two nights( Friday and Saturday) to attend a wedding and booked well in advance a queen river view room.

On checking in, we were advised that no facility existed to provide advertised in room breakfasts due to staff shortages - thus our options were to go to a café or provide our own, which we did as it was our intention to leave early the Sunday morning.

Before even entering our room, we were surprised by the number of signs that were to advise guests of various aspects of the motels functioning ability - these all ended in an exclamation mark!

After closing(!) the door to the entrance foyer before lugging our bags up the stairs, we ventured into our clean and spacious but very dark room with a pleasant aspect with river glimpses.

More signs advised us of the financial perils of smoking in our room, the water restrictions meaning 4 minute showers, while another sign advised us that we would run out of hot water if we went much longer anyway.

The bed was comfortable and the complimentary wifi was accessed after ringing reception for a password - no sign in sight for that!

Our major disappointment was the next afternoon, as we were preparing to attend the wedding, and after wondering when our room would be serviced as we had been out all morning, was a very loud(!) knock on the door from the cleaning staff asking if we wanted our room serviced.
A request to do this in 45 minutes when we would have left after showering etc was answered with a curt sorry, not possible.
No alternative was offered when I ventured to suggest that we had been out all morning and that we had expected this would have been done earlier.
We did advise the receptionist of this disappointing attitude as we left for the wedding and passed the cleaning staff sitting at the motel entrance smoking. No signs about this!

Awkwardly, she asked the cleaning staff waiting to go home, in our presence and was advised that they were not allocated any more time to do the cleaning, but she did promise to mention it to the manager who would address the issue on our departure - this did not happen.

So we left after our two night stay considering that as guests we were there to make life as easy as possible for the motel staff and management, which was surprising as previous Tripadvisor reviews ( mainly one night stays it seems) suggested that we had chosen a very good establishment.

Our experience suggested otherwise, especially a two night stay involving a weekend. As a Tripadvisor Top Contributor with 24 accommodation reviews sadly this was my lowest ever scoring.

Room Tip: If you have a bad back ask for a downstairs room - no lifts or assistance offered for upstairs rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Auswalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thanks for your review. We have taken your response very seriously and have reviewed all aspects in detail with all staff and management.

I also personally checked all of the points that you have made and comment on the following:

It is unfortunate that your room was cleaned late in the sequence during your visit and it has always been our policy to clean rooms early for any guests that request a specific time.

We do apologise, as was advised to you and all guests on check-in at the time, for breakfasts being unavailable during your visit. That is the 1st time that has ever occurred at The Lawson and was caused by our cook having retired and no replacement being available after concerted advertising

You say that there are numerous signs which all end in an exclamation mark. That is just not true and the only notice to guests that ended in an ! is one which refers to guests please closing a door in a common area after use.

There is, indeed, a sign which mentions a suggestion of 4 minute showers due to water restrictions but there is also mention that each of our rooms have the feature of an individual 80 litre hot water system that will permit up to 15 minutes of hot water use before reheating. Individual systems and the attendant lack of pressure or temperature fluctuations in our rooms has always been appreciated by our guests until now.

Many non-smoking guests appreciate that we actively discourage smoking in our rooms and we cannot understand how you could possibly expect any Motel to notify Wi-Fi passwords openly in rooms. We are certain that our approach to both of these items is standard motel practice.

We note your mention of no lift and no assistance offered. We must also let you know that we do have a lift and our staff have often assisted guests who need it to carry their bags.

I have checked the Riverview rooms since your note and must take exception to your final room tip. We are located right on the banks of the Murrumbidgee with access for all guests to a council walking track between our fence and the river. We have never experienced any problem with any noise from walkers on the riverside walking track, nor have we ever received a complaint from any guests before your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place we came across. We had wonderful service when I rang before hand. It continued when we arrived and for the entire visit. I asked for a ice bucket. Even in the heat with every one asking the same thing. Nothing was a problem. Huge room Queen size bed. Very comfortable. Air cond. which was great when we had 35 c . Lovely huge bathroom and shower. All up to date and modern. We had a room facing the river with furniture outside. Too hot to sit out there. But lovely to sit out in the early Am. Also enjoyed the free laundry . Buy powder or BYO. Would definitely recommend and if in the area would definitely be back.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thanks Monica S. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us and hope to have a chance to see you again when you are next in the Riverina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Extremely spacious and well furnished rooms in a lovely building. We only stayed for one night in a one bedroom suite with kitchenette but were very comfortable indeed. It is an easy walk to town and the river is close by. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We very much appreciate your review, Skye C, and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when you are in the Wagga area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nice, big room overlooking the river with a big balcony. The kitchen was fantastic and well equipped, including a big fridge, bathroom was huge and everything was clean. Beds were very comfortable and it was quiet even though it was New Yeas Eve.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheppaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Sheppaussie. Thanks for your review. We appreciate and value your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wagga Wagga hotels
0.5 mi away
International Hotel
International Hotel
#3 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Houston Wagga
The Houston Wagga
#1 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Wagga Wagga
Mercure Wagga Wagga
#4 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quest Wagga Wagga
Quest Wagga Wagga
#8 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bolton on the Park Hotel
Bolton on the Park Hotel
#15 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Charles Sturt Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawson Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawson Motor Inn

Property: The Lawson Motor Inn
Address: 117-121 Tarcutta Street, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wagga Wagga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawson Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****Wagga's Multi-Award Winning 4 STAR Motel on the banks of the Murrumbidgee River in the CBD**** FREE Wi-Fi and FREE FOXTEL (Movies & Sports) Channels in all suites. The Lawson Motor Inn has 40 high quality, larger than normal suites. All suites have kitchenettes with full size fridge, microwave, toaster, cutlery & crockery and tea/coffee making facilities. For guests dining needs, we have a chargeback arrangement with the following wonderful restaurants: Bahn Thai Baylis Street Bistro Cache - Store of Food Crust Gourmet Pizza Bar Hogs Breath Café Il Corso Italian Restaurant Indian Tavern Tandoori Restaurant La Porchetta Pizza Restaurant Magpies Nest Restaurant Montezuma's and Royal Garden Restaurant Plentiful off-street parking. 2 X Guest Laundries available FREE of charge. The Lawson is located in Central Wagga! Only 5 minutes walk to the Civic Theatre, the National Art Glass Gallery, Farmers Markets and the main shopping centres. Only a 15 minute drive to the Wagga Wagga airport, Charles Sturt University, Kapooka and Forest Hill military bases, the Livestock Marketing Centre and all Wagga Industrial areas. Situated on the banks of the Murrumbidgee River with direct access to the riverside walking/jogging track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lawson Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing