We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try and find some dust in this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lawson Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lawson Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Try and find some dust in this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Wagga and Junee and stayed here for two nights. I booked the executive room with an upstairs room overlooking the Murrumbidgee River. I booked this room because of the balcony and because of the reviews. We weren't disappointed, the front desk was friendly and enthusiastic. The room was so clean and that I went in search of dust..... and couldn't find any. The cleanliness of this place included the balcony, where you would think you would find dust, cobwebs, stains on the glass or at least dirt on the railing. No, not a spot in site. Have to stay the upstairs room overlooking the walking track is beautiful and we were lucky enough to get a rain/thunder and lightening show on one night. Absolutely great large room, kitchenette is a perfect size and the bathroom was gigantic. Would stay here any time. Smokers, there are ashtrays on the balcony! Oh the Inn has it's own access tot he walking track from the back of the garden, very handy and makes you feel safe. Location is perfect.

Room Tip: We were in room 37 - and as much as I would not complain, you will get a different/better view if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AVMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    86
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
136
18
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a really great place to stay. I love the great attitude at the front desk. Rooms are spacious,clean, comfy and well equipped as well as spacious. At the price which is very reasonable....hard to beat. Shame it does not have a restaurant and no pool!! You can organise a breakfast pack at the front desk. This usually does it for me. Good location and easy to get to the pub or one of Wagga's great restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joep1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had to do a quick trip to Wagga. Reviewed on Trip Advisor and booked. Very friendly, quick check in. Room was spacious and it was all very clean including the bathroom (my pet hate is mouldy smelly bathrooms). Well located near the town and the Wiradjuri walk on the river. Next time though would ask for an upstairs room which would have a nice view of the river and trees. Only down side was the decor of the room which for my liking was more suited to my parents, but hey, if thats all that I can complain about ................................ Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for at the back of the complex and upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Havensgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I read up on Wagga Wagga accommodation via Tripadvisor prior to my stay. I saw the rave reviews of a place called the Lawson Motor Inn and decided to give it a go, based on the positive reviews received. We booked a ground floor King Garden suite which was for two adults and one child.
.
Upon arrival we were attended to by very courteous and helpful staff and then when we arrived to our room... I felt like Julie Andrews in that scene where she spins around on top of a mountain in The Sound of Music ...yep, crazy but true. I just couldn't believe how big the room was, and that was just for starters.
.
This is my advice to you: if you like your accommodation to be incredibly spacious, spotlessly clean, wonderfully comfortable and whisper quiet, all at a very reasonable cost, then the Lawson Motor Inn is the place to go.

Room Tip: If you're looking to dine out, ask at reception about the 12 different restaurants in town which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank huzahuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We always stay here when we visit Wagga. The rooms are spacious as are the bathrooms. Our room had a very reasonably sized kitchenette. Queen sized bed and pillows were comfortable. There was also a lounge in our room plus a table chairs and a desk. We just couldn't have asked for more.
The motel is located in a central area of Wagga and adjacent to a magical walk along the river bank. The night we arrrived we had problems with the airconditioning and were quickly changed to another room. The staff were friendly and helpful.
We will continue to stay here when visiting Wagga

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrandera
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Only one complaint, the bed in our room was very hard, apparently there are rooms with softer beds, so if like us, you can't sleep on a hard bed, remember to ask. Other than this we were very happy with our stay, We had a Queen room, the room was over size as was the bathroom and shower. There was a large fridge and TV in the room and the air con was quiet. The lady at check in and out was very friendly. We will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjrnarrandera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We decided to stay here based on the Tripadvisor reviews and we're very pleased we did. For a start, the staff were friendly, warm and helpful. We had a choice, downstairs King bed or upstairs Queen. We took the upstairs Queen room and were very pleased with it- from the balcony were great views along the river. Next morning, the way the sun hit the river was amazing!

The room was otherwise good, clean to a fault and very comfortable. It was surprisingly spacious with some rudimentary cooking things, like a microwave oven and kitchen sink. Good size bathroom with nice amenities. There is no restaurant, pool or other facility on-site. So it was a bit like a 4 star room on a 3 1/2 star property. They do have room service breakfast and, although we did not order it, the prices for the cooked breakfast were astoundingly reasonable.

If you drop in to get a price for a room, ask them to price match the internet price. That way, you'll get the room a little cheaper. If you are looking for comfortable accommodation in Wagga, this is a nice place you should seriously consider. We would definately return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxwellSmart86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wagga Wagga hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Wagga Wagga
Mercure Wagga Wagga
#4 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.5 mi away
International Hotel
International Hotel
#3 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Houston Wagga
The Houston Wagga
#1 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bolton on the Park Hotel
Bolton on the Park Hotel
#15 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest Wagga Wagga
Quest Wagga Wagga
#7 of 30 in Wagga Wagga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Charles Sturt Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawson Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawson Motor Inn

Property: The Lawson Motor Inn
Address: 117-121 Tarcutta Street, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wagga Wagga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawson Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****Wagga's Multi-Award Winning 4 STAR Motel on the banks of the Murrumbidgee River in the CBD**** FREE Wi-Fi and FREE FOXTEL (Movies & Sports) Channels in all suites. The Lawson Motor Inn has 40 high quality, larger than normal suites. All suites have kitchenettes with full size fridge, microwave, toaster, cutlery & crockery and tea/coffee making facilities. For guests dining needs, we have a chargeback arrangement with the following wonderful restaurants: Bahn Thai Baylis Street Bistro Cache - Store of Food Crust Gourmet Pizza Bar Hogs Breath Café Il Corso Italian Restaurant Indian Tavern Tandoori Restaurant La Porchetta Pizza Restaurant Magpies Nest Restaurant Montezuma's and Royal Garden Restaurant Plentiful off-street parking. 2 X Guest Laundries available FREE of charge. The Lawson is located in Central Wagga! Only 5 minutes walk to the Civic Theatre, the National Art Glass Gallery, Farmers Markets and the main shopping centres. Only a 15 minute drive to the Wagga Wagga airport, Charles Sturt University, Kapooka and Forest Hill military bases, the Livestock Marketing Centre and all Wagga Industrial areas. Situated on the banks of the Murrumbidgee River with direct access to the riverside walking/jogging track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Lawson Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing