We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired, but service was good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lawson Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Motor Inn facilities were tired, need updating. A bit 80s in terms of decor. In room breakfast was reasonable. Service was friendly and professional. Large bathroom but overall the room had seen better days, in my view.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benallarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 327 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Our second visit to this motel and we only discovered it through Trip advisor recommendations.
Beautiful clean large rooms, friendly staff, I was able to heat up a good meal in the microwave as I had stayed in an apartment the night before and cooked extra steaks for this night. In fact we were returnng from Melbourne via the Great Ocean Road and my husband insisted we come north via Wagga Wagga so as we could stay here once more. We will be back.
PS I notice someone thought they were overpriced - book direct and the deal is good so give the booking agencies a big miss.

Room Tip: Any room is ideal - just book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I only stayed here one night but I found the reception staff very welcoming and very helpful. I had just a standard room overlooking the street but had a quiet night's sleep on a very good bed (firm mattress). The room and bathroom were both large and spotlessly clean but the kitchenette only had a microwave (no oven or cooktop). The shower was extra large and the bathroom had quality toiletries. There were a few nice extra touches such as providing decaf instant coffee sachets as well as regular. Also, while there was no wi fi, there was a free in-room cable broadband connection for laptops. There are a few peculiarities at the Lawson - signs suggesting you limit your shower time (in case the hot water runs out), toasters only available on request (if the in-room smoke detector goes off you share/pay for the fire brigade call out) and no meals except room service breakfast. The motel's location is a little way away from Wagga's CBD but right on the Murrumbidgee River (a very pleasant morning walk or jog). Finally, if you want a good, cheap meal, the Carvery Buffet at the RSL Club is excellent and drink prices are also very reasonable. The RSL also has free wi fi if you need it and a courtesy bus to pick you up and drop you back at the motel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marduk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have to agree with all of the other reviews - this place is superb. The rooms are large, the bathroom enormous and clean, the bed beautiful and plenty of car parks, location to town is great and at a decent price. I'm glad I booked my colleagues in as we all enjoyed our stay. We were upstairs which was quiet, even in the room close to the road. The staff were very helpful and directed us to close by restaurants. Lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed here due to reading Trip Advisor ratings and it seems to live up to the ratings.

Over priced but beautiful rooms, modern with clean linen and towels, foxtel, Internet & good breakfasts! The water is hot as the rooms use a room by room hot water service & there is plenty of off street parking!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoT1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights here in early September for our Son's march out parade. His girlfriend also booked a room too. Her room was upstairs above the reception and our room was on the ground floor with a little outdoor area and garden. We weren't disappointed.

After staying in adequate accommodation on the journey to Wagga, it was great to get here and find that the room was really large and comfortable and clean. The bathroom was positively huge and the kitchen area nicely appointed. The room oozed oldie worldly charm. There was plenty of space which ended up being a great advantage as the weather wasn't the best over our stay, and we were able to entertain family in the room and patio area during the day.

The shared laundry outside our room proved to be a hit too, as we needed to do a load while we were there. The cost of this service is free to paying guests.

We found that we were within walking distance to town and this meant that the car got a rest.

We found the staff were very helpful and polite.

The only negatives I can think of were that it would have been nicer to have a little more privacy between the patios on the ground floor. The trellis just wasn't enough. Also, I found I couldn't sleep too well, not from the bed point of view (that was very comfy), but from the fact it was so noisy. I could hear most of what was going on in the rooms on either side of me, which didn't help when one couple came in after a session at the pub and another couple came in really late and got romantic!
Having said that, I still think this motel was a good choice. We enjoyed our stay very much and would return if visiting Wagga Wagga again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank fluffyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the Lawson for only one night on our way to northern N.S.W. We hadn’t booked and it was recommended to us by the visitor’s information service as it was meeting all our requirements. The high standards of the Motel were immediately evident by the cheerful receptionist who was most informative about the available accommodation options and facilities. We chose a room on the first floor overlooking the river which was quite large, very well fitted out with a magnificent, large bathroom and a kitchenette. Although not in the middle of town it was within walking distance and very close to many shops and restaurants. And something of a rarity these days, free broadband internet access in the room. All these justify its number one ranking amongst the Hotels in town with Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: First floor rooms with river view are worth considering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geodali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wagga Wagga hotels
0.5 mi away
International Hotel
International Hotel
#2 of 32 in Wagga Wagga
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Wagga Wagga
Mercure Wagga Wagga
#3 of 32 in Wagga Wagga
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Prince of Wales
Comfort Inn Prince of Wales
#12 of 32 in Wagga Wagga
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Houston Wagga
The Houston Wagga
#1 of 32 in Wagga Wagga
232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest Wagga Wagga
Quest Wagga Wagga
#6 of 32 in Wagga Wagga
329 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn Carriage House
Quality Inn Carriage House
#14 of 32 in Wagga Wagga
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lawson Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawson Motor Inn

Address: 117-121 Tarcutta St, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wagga Wagga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Price Range: $97 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawson Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-Award winning Motel situated on the banks of the Murrumbidgee River in Central Wagga Wagga. The Lawson has 40 high quality spacious suites. All suites have KITCHENETTES with full size fridge, microwave, toaster, tea/coffee making facilities and cutlery & crockery. FREE WI-FI & Foxtel Channels. Plentiful off-street parking. 2 x guest laundries available FREE of charge. For guest dining needs, we have a chargeback arrangement with the following restaurants: Baylis Street Bistro, Cache Store of Food, Crust Gourmet Pizza Bar, Hog's Breath Café, Il Corso, Indian Tavern Tandoori Restaurant, La Porchetta's, Magpie's Nest & Royal Garden Restaurant. Only 5 mins walk to the Civic Theatre, The National Art Glass Gallery, Farmers Markets and the main shopping centres. Only 15 mins drive to the Airport, Charles Sturt University, Kapooka & Forest Hill Military bases, and all Wagga Industrial areas. Direct access to the riverside walking/jogging track along the Murrumbidgee River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Lawson Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing