We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Superb!!! A Wagga Wagga must for food lovers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magpies Nest Restaurant

Magpies Nest Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 151 Restaurants in Wagga Wagga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $42
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Simply Superb!!! A Wagga Wagga must for food lovers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have visited this great restaurant several times over the years and never been dissapointed.. Our latest visit in a group of 10 over a business dinner. It was simply another great evening.
Fantastic views , excellent food and service. Our group were all super impressed with the meals.
Whenever I stay in Wagga....I always find time to come back and enjoy this great place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joep1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    45
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This restaurant has great views over Wagga Wagga in the early evening when you can enjoy finger food outside on the terrace. We went with a club group of 72 and had a pleasant evening. Mail meals were either chicken or lamb. The food was nicely presented, especially the desert, and the service was good.The choice of wines available on that evening were mostly were their own. Overall, this restaurant is consistently good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What a place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I came here recently as a private little birthday present to myself and splurged.

I ordered a bread, the duck and a tasting plate for dessert. I was very impressed with the bread, and the duck and the tasting plate was good but not exceptional. The service was very good as well. I felt looked after and well attended to.

The location of the restaurant is exceptional and has a really lovely atmosphere to it.

Price is OK. It charges just under fine dining prices but I have to say the value is well placed. Reasonable for what the restaurant offers.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Perry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to dine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a restuarant that has been developed in an old stone barn, just on the edge of town.
The character is unique, and the surrounds are beautifully rustic.
Inside the atmoshere that the owners have created is beautiful. At night the far lights of the city make a great backdrop to fine dining.
And fine dining it is.
A great experience and one not to be missed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We went to this restaurant in May 2012, for my partner's birthday dinner.

The food was - let's say - just alright. Nothing great, nothing bad.

We both had steak, a plate of dips for the entree and passed on dessert. The food was cooked well, service was a bit slow.

I wouldn't be rushing back here. I think there are many other restaurants in Wagga Wagga for around the same price. (i.e. Thyme Out at the Manor)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magpies Nest Restaurant also viewed

Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
 
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
 

Been to Magpies Nest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing