We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Ranked #89 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

So glad we found this place! It's just up the road from the bridge walk and after completing the walk in a storm I needed a pint and good food - enjoyed both at the Australian! This is a bar of real character a lot of the victorian character has been preserved - the bar and the lady's were great! This place is not posh - but who needs posh when proper food and ale are on offer - if you love pizza this is a special treat -enjoy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 320 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Australian Heritage Hotel was one of the places I was researching for kangaroo meat earlier prior to my trip. I decided to put it in the back of my mind at the time as the main food offered are pizza's. Little to my surprise when we were walking around the Rocks area, there it was.

How perfect I thought. My partner and I both wanted to eat lunch after a long morning sight seeing. We ordered the pepper kangaroo pizza and the selection of dips. The local beer I decided to have was the Fat Yak, while my partner ordered his usual Guinness.

The selection of dips included a spicy bush tomato, hummus & baba ganoush with turkish bread. The bread was nicely toasted and fluffy. Out of the dips, I liked the spicy bush tomato and the baba ganoush. The bush tomato dip wasn't really spicy but more on the sweet side. The baba ganoush had a nice garlic flavor that stayed with me all day.

The pepper kangaroo pizza was pleasing. The kangaroo meat was slightly spicy and it was tender. The pizza crust was crisp and not to doughy.

The only thing that threw me off was that you have to pay for everything (food and beer) after you order it at the bar. But I guess that's the way it goes, as this place is really a pub.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Marc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

first time stay for me, very comfortable and lovely old worldly rooms, the parlour room is just like being at yr nans house, just beautiful, continental brekkie and also complimentary yoghurt, juice and fruit during the day, also bottled drinking water in yr room, i will return to this gorgeous old aussie pub. keep in mind very steep stairs to walk up to rooms

Room Tip: stay on top floor, as the pub downstairs can get a bit noisy, although it closes at 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barefoottourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This place was always busy when we stopped in. There serve a huge variety of beer and they have some very interesting pizzas, We stopped in twice for the Coat of Arms pizza (half Kangaroo and half Emu). The pizzas were great and the outdoor seating was always a plus. Just be aware that right around prime lunch and dinner times it will be difficult to get a table.

This is near the bridge climb so it makes a perfect stop for a beverage AFTER the climb to relax and eat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TravelinKenChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is one of the oldest in Australia and is in The Rocks part of Sydney where the original settlement was founded. It is central and within easy walking distance of all the main attractions. My wife and I found it comfortable, clean, and good value, with good food and beer. It specializes in pizzas, and beer from a micro-brewery. We ate in early evening as it became packed with customers every night both inside and out while we were there. I am a real ale connoisseur and latched onto a dark porter like ale which was excellent, and I only found out when singing its praises on leaving, that it was in fact a dark lager.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing East away from the midday and afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OAPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Australian Heritage hotel is located within walking distance of most of the sites in the Rocks. Our room was nice enough and the bathrooms were OK. The room was clean and there wasn't any noise from the bar. The staff always showed up when called. We didn't have any problems there. They do have very steep stairs so beware of that. The breakfast was enough not fancy. Met great people in the breakfast room which was also nice and sunny quite pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neko100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed for one night, was a little alarmed when we first arrived at the not very welcoming tiny reception at the bottom of steep narrow stairs and the lack of staff but shouldn't have worried. The rooms are individually decorated & comfortable, all bathrooms are shared but there are plenty of them so it is not a problem. Lounge area is pleasant. As the rooms are above the bar it is noisy until closing time but if you enjoy a laid back atmosphere and some nostalgia and a complete change from modern chain hotels I would recommend.

Room Tip: You will be charged a refundable key deposit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twowheelheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#55 of 186 in Sydney
954 reviews
The Rocks
The Mercantile Hotel
The Mercantile Hotel
#112 of 186 in Sydney
252 reviews
Hotel Challis
#56 of 186 in Sydney
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kings Cross
The Bayswater Sydney
The Bayswater Sydney
#83 of 186 in Sydney
1,123 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#33 of 186 in Sydney
241 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#70 of 186 in Sydney
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Australian Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australian Heritage Hotel

Address: 100 Cumberland St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $117 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Australian Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation features charming antique decorated bedrooms with room types to suit all guests. Rooms consist of Single, Double and Queen beds with shared bathroom facilities. There is also a Family Suite available with two double beds, private dining room and bathroom. All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and access to the common room with a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel is also a short stroll to the Rocks shopping outlets, Circular Quay ferry terminal, train station, Museum of Contemporary Art, Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Australian Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing