We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Australian Heritage Hotel
Ranked #86 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

If you can put up with the noise then this is the place to stay great location Pizzas are the best Little Creatures Beer fantastic

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnings8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    135
    38
    20
    15
See reviews for
39
112
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We found this hotel while searching for a restaurant and during our trip stayed there 2 times while passing sydney. The rooms are not ensuite, but lovely and old fashioned furnished. There are plenty of bathrooms though so you will always manage to find an empty one to use. The common room is lovely old style victorian furnished, with chess, complimentary congnac and cherry, and apples. Very good place to meet people, free wifi during the day, small breakfast (tea, coffee, juices and cornflakes provided) books and magazines. Nice bar and restaurant downstairs, great to hang out in the evenings, a lot of young people. Quite noise on weekends (also weekend the price is a little higher), nice staff and we were able to store bags there for a week (until we were flying back from our trip). great location directly on the rocks, at the bridge. Definitely a cosmopolitan, young and meet-people place to be, for city explorers, great pub/food lovers. We ll be back for sure.
Ps roomservice available. Staff brought restaurant food up to the room, or to the common room!

Room Tip: rooms seem quite similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The name says it all. We came wanting a homely place to stay near the beautiful harbour and The Aussie more than delivered. Nice, clean old fashioned rooms and a great breakfast to wake up to. Generous offering of toast, apples, yoghurt, tea & coffee all included. And for dinner I highly recommend the fantastic pub downstairs. The largest selection of Australian beers i have seen (over 100), and the BEST pub pizza in Sydney. Much more cosy then an anonymous hotel. Many thanks to the friendly staff!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel_r08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2011

It is hard to find traditional pub accomodation in the city these days. The kind of pub where the publican used to sleep upstairs. This is it. A great location in the heart of the city with everything within walking distance. The rooms are decent in size and the shared facilities are clean and well kept. As can be expected, a bit of noise on the weekends but a midnight closing time for the pub downstairs is more than acceptable and part of the package. If you want 5 star, there are plenty of options in the city. If you want to stay above the pub, then this is it.

Great pizza downstairs as well!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgle2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We came to stay at the Aussie Hotel for a weekend after a recommendation from some friends who had stayed there earlier this year. The hotel is very much a part of Aussie History and the character, authentic and charming attributes may not be for everyone but it ticked all our boxes. The rooms are a reasonable size, clean and tidy with shared facilities, a number of bathrooms and only 9 rooms so no long waits etc. The real positives; the location right in the heart of the Rocks area, great pub downstairs with a fantastic selection of beers and amazing pizzas, along with all of the staff being extremely welcoming and the little things like complimentary breakfast, the fresh apples, the sherry and port for a nightcap add to make this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bek1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We were so pleased to find this little hidden gem in The Rocks. Centrally located to everywhere and within walking distance, we didnt use public transport at all!
The hotel is historic which adds to the quiant and rustic charm in the accommodation area. Wonderful character which reminds me of staying at my grandmothers house.
Definitely value for money! We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watkinsdoesaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed 2 out of the 4 nights booked and then left disgusted. I was tired of seeing dried faeces on the toilet bowl in one of the shared bathroom and realised the dead cockroach on the floor would never be removed. I did clean the toilet myself on the first day as it was full of surprises. Our room was not cleaned during our stay. The noise from the pub started at 11am and stopped at midnight - no soundproofing of the rooms. This is an extremely poor choice for a budget stay. I would not recommend this hotel under any circumstance if you respect your sanity.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smartchoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#38 of 178 in Sydney
902 reviews
The Rocks
The Mercantile Hotel
The Mercantile Hotel
#107 of 178 in Sydney
215 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 178 in Sydney
2,343 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Australian Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australian Heritage Hotel

Property: The Australian Heritage Hotel
Address: 100 Cumberland St | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Australian Heritage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The accommodation features charming antique decorated bedrooms with room types to suit all guests. Rooms consist of Single, Double and Queen beds with shared bathroom facilities. There is also a Family Suite available with two double beds, private dining room and bathroom. All guests receive complimentary continental breakfast and access to the common room with a TV and tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel is also a short stroll to the Rocks shopping outlets, Circular Quay ferry terminal, train station, Museum of Contemporary Art, Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Australian Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing