We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well prepared food without the hefty price tag.”

Pony Dining The Rocks
Ranked #99 of 5,944 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $14 - $52
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Description: Widely regarded as the pioneers of the wood-fire grill in Sydney, Pony offers an honest flavour driven menu showcasing Australian produce and a carefully crafted boutique selection of wines with a cheeky cocktail list. Core to the brand is a signature Argentinean wood fire grill and a contemporary modern Australian menu featuring the finest cuts of meat, freshest seafood and an array of shared and larger plates.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well prepared food without the hefty price tag.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed it here, it's a great location and the food is fresh. I thought the steaks were really well priced compared to rockpool and the quality was fantastic. Only downer was the vegetarian selection so I wouldn't take the wife, but great place for to take clients.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    294
    94
    47
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Excellent group meal service”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

From starters to enders this was "11" in my books. We had a table of picky people and everyone was pleased. In particular, the slow roasted brisket is probably the best beef I have ever eaten in a long life. Highly recommended. The valerossa wine suggested by the waiter (and I can't remember the vintner at the moment) was an excellent pairing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveltode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Australian/Japanese food and... MEAT”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Meat in its perfect state. Delicious meals.
Inventive cuisine that draws upon Japanese traditions and Australian amazing products.
Creative desserts as well - we had the cheesecake (in a very innovative way), the Chocolate Crème Brulee - amazing - and the Apple pie - delicious as well.

The decorum is also beautiful and cosy. Wooden walls, bottles of wine everywhere, warm atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Myrtillelamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Ok this is the Rocks and we are well aware of tourist prices, however...Not good value for the portions. My salmon was plain, undercooked and about 2 times the size of my husbands lamb portion (as was my daughters steak!).
Wine pourings were all over the place, two glasses perhaps 1/2 the normal pour and one at least 1/4...when we mentioned this the waiter couldn't care less.....will not recommend to travellers or anyone for that matter!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank japcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A long wait”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate at Pony with some colleagues and after waiting 45 minutes for our table and a couple of bottles of wine we were seated. No offer of covering the cost of even one bottle was forthcoming. Service was not too bad but given that we were eating quite late, perhaps they weren't run off their feet. Most of us ordered steak and all were happy with their meals. Not sure that it is a place that I would return, although the antics at the karaoke that we could see in the pub across the lane was quite entertaining.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cathe_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pony Dining The Rocks also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Pony Dining The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing