We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational”
Review of Thai Tha Hai

Thai Tha Hai
Ranked #1,660 of 5,836 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sensational”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Restaurant is not the prettiest I've been to but it is certainly one of the best. Really fresh food cooked well and served by wife & daughter who were warm and friendly. Moderate cost for truly good food. What more could you want?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank donnaandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    18
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food and really reasonable prices”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

all very nice - very good staff and really authentic Thai food - the prawn filo starter was amazing and very well served

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank symeon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Run, don't walk, to Thai Tha Hai!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I rarely am blown away by a restaurant. Normally, if it's acceptable (rather than unacceptable), I'm happy. So when I walked out of Thai Tha Hai, I was on cloud 9. The food is fresh, creative and amazing. For example, their fresh spring rolls are not made with rice paper - they are almost like a pancake (but not quite) and filled with pumpkin and tofu and other delights, topped with raisins and a semi-sweet sauce. All of the food was notable and especially delicious. The dessert -- black sticky rice with homemade coconut ice cream - this was probably the best dessert I've had in years. I'm just visiting the Chippendale area but I'll be back before I leave!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank everglades_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Thai food and consistent taste”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I have been eating at Thai Tha Hai for past 4.5 years and the food quality is always consistent. Plus they are the only restaurant I have found who make a vegetarian massaman curry :).

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jujuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A honest local Thai Restaurant.”
Reviewed November 14, 2010

My wife and myself needed to find somewhere to eat, near the Seymour Centre, as we were going to watch a production there. We had 45 minutes to spare, so the pressure was on. We found this little gem just around the corner from the Seymour Centre. We ordered a main each, and a starter. All our food was wonderfully fresh and tasty, with loads of fresh herb flavours. Dinner was done and we were out of there with 10 minutes to spare. The bill was $44 and some change, but we were more than happy to leave $50 as we were really greatful for the swift service and tasty meal. I wish more Thai places were like this. We loved it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tekweni_Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Tha Hai also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Thai Tha Hai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing