We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Sydney... One not to miss.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pelican

Le Pelican
Reserve with
Le Pelican is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #208 of 5,350 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
2 reviews
“Best in Sydney... One not to miss.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming here since it opened more than 7 years ago. It is always a pleasure, always more than we anticipate and always satisfying. Jeff and Ally are the best of hosts. The food is always stunning. Wine list excellent. Feels like we are back in Paris.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    35
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
122 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cozy, pleasant French Bistro offering good French wine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

A small, cozy, pleasant French-style bistro that is good for either just a glass of wine or proper eating. The staff is very friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MiKuSing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We discovered Le Pelican by accident as we dived into the restaurant randomly as it started raining heavily. Once in, we knew instantly that we had found something special. Wonderful service and food that made you want to stay there for the next sitting. The fig soufflé was amazing. I want to go back to Sydney just to eat here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jas0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This restaaurant is quite small, but delicious! Perfect spot is you wanna good service and meals! The starter was little bit queer, but the main was fantastic! Can recommend for casual dining.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A delightful NYE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had the pleasure of dining at Le Pelican on New Years' Eve and couldn't have been happier with the ambience, the food and the friendly service. The goat's curd, red pepper sorbet and Serrano crisp not only looked quite striking but was also a wonderful blend of texture and flavour. The Christmas pudding souffle, served with Armangac ice cream, was a standout. Can't wait to visit again. Many thanks for the experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tmg123Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pelican also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Le Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing