We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, food & friends”

Georges Mediterranean King St Wharf
Ranked #423 of 5,832 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Georges Mediterranean Bar & Grill on King Street Wharf is Sydney's ultimate waterfront dining venue with views over Darling Harbour,offering delicious Greek Mediterranean cuisine.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, food & friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

It may not be the Mediterranean, but it's as good as you could find DownUnder! There are many restaurants along the King St Wharf facing Darling Harbour, but before the end of Friday rush we stopped in for drinks and nibbles and were greeted by friendly staff (including Fast Eddie - and yes it's because of his service!) The weather was great but if it weren't the cover was good. The time of day (from 3pm to just after 5pm) meant only the left overs from lunch were wandering around (but not at Georges). The nibbles were lovely and can't complain about the price since friends paid. But with the view of the harbour, the quality food and the friends (from USA), there wasn't much more you could ask for. Except maybe a bit easer way to join their loyalty program, but Fast Eddie said he would look into that for us.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    74
    39
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Faultless!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Bought a voucher on Living Social. It was well worth it. I could not fault anything. The food, service and location were perfect. Began with cocktails and a selection of nuts and olives. This was followed by a delicious eggplant dip, spinach and feta triangles and whiting wrapped in vine leaves. The highlight was the slow roasted lamb for the main. The lamb was delicious and melted in your mouth. I highly recommend this restaurant. The deal was extremely generous: $79 for what would normally have cost $150.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth1960_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not good value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

See my picture of the barramundi fish of the day. Fish measured 5x5 cm and they gave me the tail end of the fish. With 10 small pieces of chips. $31.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had a great dinner there. Went there as I got a living social voucher for 7 dish feast. The food was amazing! We had a selection of freshly roasted nuts, mixed marinated olives, eggplant dip served with sourdough, feta and spinach pastry, organic lamb kofta with feta, mint and parsley and a rocket and radicchio salad. All these before our Barramundi main!

When we first arrived, there was an event going on at the outside area of the restaurant which I thought was going to make it really noisy, However we were seated near the corner (next to the mirror walls) and it noise level weren't too bad.

Would recommend this place again and would definitely be visiting it again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edwinkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location, good food, service interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Right on King St, this is a very busy location. This is the only place in this area that I ate so I can't compare w others in area, which i'd also presume are catered toward tourists. we found the food pretty good and high quality. lots of food. wine list is lacking. place was not full and day was hot. when seated outside, girl said she had to check w mgr whether we could me moved inside. server was kind of cocky and uncomfortable. i'd be ok eating there again, but won't seek it out

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank PENNsational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Georges Mediterranean King St Wharf also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Georges Mediterranean King St Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing