We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded all expectations Thank You”
Review of Glass Brasserie

Glass Brasserie
Ranked #81 of 5,891 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $165
Cuisines: French, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations Thank You”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Wow what an amazing experience ! Can not fault anything, was wonderful.

Organised my husbands 40th birthday dinner at Glass for 20 guests,

Menu
we chose the set menu (3 courses with Cheese boards at the end of the meal) and the standard drinks package.
4 great choices for each course and the cheese boards had 5 diverse choices of cheese. The wine selections were lovely and bottled James Boag for beer.

Food
5 stars, was faultless. All 20 of us had 3 great meals and there was a lot of food being passed around the tables, with everyone insisting you had to try theirs as it was the best!
I had the Tuna Sashmi - sweet and tender, covered in fresh ginger.
Gnocchi - pillows of goodness, was perfectly seasoned, the last bite was as good as the first.
Creme Brûlée - Huge and perfect .

Service
From the first call, all the staff couldn't do enough to accommodate every request and query, ensuring that we had the best night.
Special thanks to Nicole, Therese ( you are amazing and a pleasure to coordinate with) and Robert our waiter, friendly and professional.
They also set aside part of the wine bar for our guests, which we had for an hour before dinner, it was a great place to wait and nice to have a chat before dinner.

Just can not rate this restaurant highly enough, can not wait to go back from a more intimate dinner with my husband.

Thank you again to all at Glass, you were part of creating a beautiful memory for my husbands birthday, that we will not forget.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellingshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glassbrasserie, Owner at Glass Brasserie, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Travellingshu,

Thank you for choosing glass brasserie to celebrate your husband's 40th birthday and it is truly wonderful to learn that you, your husband and your guests all had such a memorable dining experience.

We are very humbled by your praise of our food and service- and we can only hope to continue maintaining to offer this level of experience to all our guests.

All the best and we look forward to hosting you and your husband back at glass again soon.

Best regards,
Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    260
    81
    48
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Noisy, ordinary and grossly overpriced”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Had a late dinner there on sunday evening. Rushed because they close at 930(!). Very noisy. Very very overpriced - one entree, one main, a small bottle of mineral water, one glass of very ordinary red wine, and one beer set us back $116! The small bottle of mineral water was $16 - thee sell for about $2 in Coles. I don't mind paying for good ingredients, skilled cooking and professional service but where's the value add in unscrewing the cap? To add insult to insult to injury the cold entree was terribly salty and unpleasant, and the main course (pasta) was lukewarm and pretty tasteless. What a ripoff!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Went there for breakfast, ending up checking out of the hotel”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Probably one of the worst hotels breakfast experiences i have had anywhere. The service was abysmal - the manageress tried to get things back on track but it was all too late..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Food good but tempo too fast”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had just taken a sip of our aperitifs when our first courses were served.No chance to enjoy our sparkling wines Felt too rushed.Wines we had ordered to accompany our entrees came after the food was served.The same happened with our mains.Little coordination between wine orders and arrival of food. Fantastic starter of omelette with crab meat -highly recommended - but a large portion for a starter. Main course of lamb was also large .Two large thick pink lamb cutlets perfectly cooked but rather let down by a sauce that had been sitting too long and had crusted over.
Very,very busy.High level of noise with unnecessary background music.
Felt the restaurant needed tighter management.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good & as expected”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Luckily we had a booth. Food was as expected and the wine great. No real surprises. The wait staff got a bit confused probably because it was a busy night and there are a number of them assigned to our group of tables. Bit of communication required.

Helpful?
Thank Anova26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glassbrasserie, Owner at Glass Brasserie, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Anova26,

Thank you for your review and I am glad to hear you had a pleasant dining experience.

Your understanding of the staff confusions is greatly appreciated and we hope to offer you a more professional service and meal at glass again soon.

Best regards,
Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Brasserie also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Glass Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing