We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Little Hoytie but Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Glass Brasserie

Glass Brasserie
Ranked #50 of 5,339 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $165
Cuisines: Australian, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Wollongong
Level Contributor
256 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A Little Hoytie but Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The waiters were a little hoytie but we ignored this because the food was so good. The atmosphere was warm and inviting. The servings were a little on the small side but exquisite - the gnocchi was sensational!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glassbrasserie, Owner at Glass Brasserie, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Jennie W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent dining experience.

We appreciate your contructive feedback regarding our staff and portion sizes, and are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaurant and our ever-popular gnocchi dish.

All the best and we hope to host you back at glass in the near future.

Best regards,
Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    197
    63
    40
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gelston Park
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were given this dinner as a gift to celebrate our wedding anniversary and what a gift it was!!
From the moment we entered until the moment we left everything was sensational. The service was efficient, professional and friendly and the food was out of this world! We chose the degustation menu and were not disappointed. From the spicy carrot soup to the sinful dessert 7 courses later we experienced some of the most beautiful food we have ever tasted. Wine by the glass with an extensive wine list is a great touch. Having dined at quite a few celeb chef's restaurants this is by far the best. Luke you should be proud of yourself and your staff!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glassbrasserie, Owner at Glass Brasserie, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Christine D,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent dining experience.

I am very proud of my staff and my flagship restaurant- and it is truly wonderful to hear that you and your partner had such a memorable evening. Our degustation menu is a delicious showcase of fresh, local, seasonal produce and I am glad that you enjoyed every course!

All the best and we hope to offer you many more exemplar dining experiences at glass brasserie in the near future.

Best regards,
Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Double Baked Gruyère Cheese Souffle - To Die For”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

And that was just the entree!

This whole experience was sensational. The flavours of entree, the lamb cutlet mains, the truffle mash and our liquid dessert of a chocolate cocktail.

Delicious & Sophisticated.

Would love to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AaronJonesCIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glassbrasserie, Owner at Glass Brasserie, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear aj_fitnesscoach,

Thank you for sharing your recent meal with us at glass brasserie.

We are delighted to learn that you had a "sensational" experience and that you particularly enjoyed our Gruyère souffle.

I will be sure to pass on your praise to our team and we hope to see you back at glass soon.

Best regards,
Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went to dinner here tonight with two friends visiting from Europe. We had the zuchini flowers for appetizer. Delicious. I had the gnocchi. I am vegetarian, and the menu had several veggie choices, although only one large dish (the gnocchi). It was amazing. Possibly the best gnocchi I've ever had. Absolutely perfect. Very delicate flavor. It came with a small amount of asparagus. My friends had the duck and the scotch steak, which they liked very much also. For dessert, I had the caramel parfait. The best. Overall, the food was amazing, and the service was very good too. We had wine, and the sommelier came to give us some advice about the wine, and they let us taste several to see which we liked best. The place is expensive, and the portions are on the small side (I'm American, though, so take that with a grain of salt), but I highly recommend this place. Very very good food and service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank v10l3t1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glassbrasserie, Owner at Glass Brasserie, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear v10l3t1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent dining experience at glass brasserie.

It is great to hear that you and your overseas guests had a memorable dinner and especially wonderful to learn that as a vegetarian you were satisfied with out menu offering. I will be sure to pass on your praise to our kitchen and floor staff.

All the best and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you back at glass again in the near future.

Best regards,
Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing food- cannot wait to come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

The food, service, cocktails and atmosphere was incredible! I can't wait to come back!
I am still thinking about the gnocchi- so good! I had the special- the 350g waygu which was one of the best steaks I've ever had. My husband kept ranting about the kingfish sashimi as he thinks it was the best he has had!
I would consider coming to Sydney just to eat here! Wish there was one in Perth!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glassbrasserie, Owner at Glass Brasserie, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Charlie C,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to hear that you had an exemplar dining experience at glass recently and I will be sure to pass on your praise regarding food, service, cocktails and atmosphere to our floor and kitchen staff.

We look forward to hosting you back at glass in the near future.

Best regards,
Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glass Brasserie also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Glass Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing