We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always terrible”
Review of Buon Gusto

Buon Gusto
Reserve with
Buon Gusto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,281 of 5,836 Restaurants in Sydney
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Authentic Italian style & feel with a menu fusion of both traditional and contemporary ideas. A local atmosphere where service is the most important companion to the quality ingredients used in order to ensure Buon Gusto is a warming and memorable experience, time & time again.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always terrible”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Only bad memories. Never again. Food well below average. Service bad. Never never again. Should be removed from trip advisor

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndreyVVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice find”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Must have driven past buon gusto 100 times and kept promising myself to dine.
Glad i did we took our 3 year old and we all had great time enjoyed the italian greetings and my veal parmigana was very tasty.
Could give the free cold appetizer a miss. Pasta and tiramisu along with house red brought back memories of staying in half pension in torino.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic food, great atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very nice pasta and ossobuco. They have two signature desserts, Crespelle and Tiramisu, both of which are worth trying. They have recently started offering pizzas as well, which I find decent at best.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anggiarto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Atmospheric, welcoming and cosy”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Buon Gusto in Abercrombie Street had always fascinated me as I drove past. There are pot planters on the front windowsills with flowers spilling over the sides and a large painting on the side of the corner building. A little bit of Italy on the corner at the roundabout near the Carriageworks markets.

On a chilly Saturday night a group of us decided to warm ourselves with some hearty Italian food and a bottle or two of red at Buon Gustos. The service is friendly and prompt. A platter of tastie nibbles is bought to the table with a smile...artichoke hearts, olives, gnocci balls...the specials for the night were numerous and sounded delicious, and of course there is a good garlic bread.

We had the whitebait (lovely), Osso Bucco (a very generous, hearty plateful was served), spaghetti bolognaise (a bit disappointing, nothing you can't do at home with a little more zip), vegetarian canelloni (delicate and delicious, plenty of it!) and mussels which were truly wonderful. It's healthy, plentiful, warming food in a rustic, old fashioned atmosphere. We enjoyed the merriment of the other diners; large Italian families celebrating birthdays (just join in with the singing when the cake comes out), and couples dining over a bottle of red. It is fully licenced or you can BYO.

If you want a relaxing, no pressure dinner with plenty of authentic, homemade food that fills you up and tastes pretty good, give Buon Gusto a go. We'll be going back to enjoy the food and genuine family-feel hospitality.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loufinnegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nothing changed”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have been going to this place for more than 20 years and very little has changed . Except that one of the original waiters now owns the place . The rest STILL work there . The food is great , not overly fancy but good Italian with lots of daily specials . I had the crab on Saturday & it was fantasic . Byo or licenced it is excellent value .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buon Gusto also viewed

Darlington, Scenic Rim
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Buon Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing