We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Authentic Greek food,great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Athenian Greek Restaurant

Athenian Greek Restaurant
Ranked #328 of 5,644 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Well established as the finest Greek Restaurant in Sydney, The Athenian is located in an elegant heritage building on the walk to Martin Place. Offering traditional and modern mediterranean cuisine, slow baked roast lamb as their signature dish. Providing a customised menu catering for vegetarians and any specific dietary requirements.The Athenian is a classic and elegant venue with exceptional service and superb food at reasonable prices. With the love and dedication of a family owned and managed restaurant and forty years of hosting weddings and special events, this is one venue worth consideration. What makes the Athenian unique is their flexibility in catering to budgets as little as $41.50 per person for three courses without compromising on quality. Seating for up to 220 guests.
Sydney
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek food,great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We recently had dinner at the Athenian restaurant after not dining here for a while and the food was consistent with our expectations.
It's a traditional greek menu and the food doesn't disappoint. The food is tasty,well priced and the portions very generous.We started with a number of entrees,dips,Greek salad,grilled haloumi and all were delicious. For mains we had the lamb,grilled octopus,veal and moussaka.
The mains were very large portions so would suggest if you share a number of entrees like we did perhaps also sharing the mains.
Service was good and we didn't feel rushed to leave even though the restaurant was busy.
Especially loved the mint Turkish delight they served after the meal,a great way to end a great meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Weeksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    67
    17
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Authentic, Great Restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family and I recently dined at the Athenian on a Friday night before going to visit the Vivid Lights at Circular Quay. The service was fantastic, we were seated fast and offered our first round of drinks promptly. Food was great, very authentic, tasted like a traditional Greek, home-cooked meal. Very impressive after not having Greek food for a long time. The only downfall we received our mains half way through eating our entrees. Although the restaurant was fairly busy we felt like we were being rushed and would have much preferred the opporunity to finish our entrees and have a break before starting on our mains. My parents having dined at the Athenian previously said this had never happened to them before. Despite this I would be happy to return again, also having had entrees and mains for 5 as well as alot of alcohol, the overall price was very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Have been to the Athenian a number of times for functions and for lunch and dinner. They have never let us down. The food is authentic Greek at its best. The banquet is ideal for groups and you get a taste of a variety of dishes and salad. Try it and you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marmoura11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
562 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“should be a five * review, but............”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

With another couple we visited the Athenian, Barrack Street (there is also one in York St), for lunch.

This review should have been a 5 * review, however.....................................

Really beautiful old building, previously Commonwealth Bank chambers, (if you go downstairs to the restrooms you will see the huge bank vault) and subsequently Cricket Club, interior beautifully restored with attention to detail and quality. Large and ornate Corinthian columns dominate the main restaurant area really setting the ambiance.

Extensive Greek menu - very reasonably priced. We settled for the white bait and taramasalata entrees, and we all had the Athenian Special ($22.50) as mains - which is essentially a tasting plate with melt in your mouth lamb shanks as the dish hero.

The food was excellent, the atmosphere excellent, service was also excellent - a really excellent lunch experience - except -> when paying the account - with credit card - the waiter (rather abrupt Asian guy) said ...."would you like to add a TIP?"

In my opinion = a tip is generally something that you offer as a reward for above and beyond service (in Australia) NOT something that you are asked to provide (even if the service was excellent) - this request left us with a bad taste in our mouths.

Would we return? Yes - however, if we were unfortunate enough to encounter the same waiter the answer to his request (which came as a bit of a surprise) - would be in the negative. The same level of service, normally - may have attracted a monetary reward.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We heard of this restaurant and wanted to try it out. Did not disappoint. We had the Lamb shanks and cottage potatoes, moussaka and cabbage rolls in lemon and egg sauce. All super. The lamb shanks fell off the bone. We also ordered some calamari for sides, and the tzarziki yogurt dip with bread and lapped that up too. Desserts were some cherry gelato, and of course baklava with ice cream. The baklava was not that great with a very tough base. Tougher than others you get from Lakemba...
Service was quick and food wholesome on a cold night. Location wise it is convenient for weekend or business people staying around Menzies, Wynyard Travel Lodge, The Carrington, Four Seasons, Westin at Martin Place who are looking for something that is not hotel food related... Car parking wise we found a great spot right in front of Menzies Hotel for $3 an hour on street parking after 6pm. The meter only takes coins. Better than the $30 flat rates in parking stations. All up around $140 for 3 including drinks.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MIPAGRPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athenian Greek Restaurant also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Athenian Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing